The GIGABYTE Z97X Overclocking Guide - Page 4 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

The GIGABYTE Z97X Overclocking Guide

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 07:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MaKe OuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 281
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Ran x264 overnight set to 20 loops. Woke up to a fail. This was my first evening stability testing on this z97 board. all previous testing done on a z87 board. Same chip. Interestingly, I always bsod when failing stability test on z87. typically code 101. But, on this z97 board there is no bsod. I think it just reboots and has a window that states that Windows has recovered from some failure. Not a big deal, but does anyone know why this is?

So I need to look over my notes on my previous z87 stability search as I thought for sure I found stability at the x44 cpu multi. I frickin failed to be stable on this z97 board with a x43 multi at 1.34 Vcore setting which goes to 1.35 something volts under load. The uncore was locked at x35 multi and 1.203V. The VRIN was set to 2.2 volts and increased the same as Vcore did under load. Temps were good around 72C hottest core. I am just bummed that I cannot easily pass x264 overnight at x43 yet.

Any ideas?


MaKe OuT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 07:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Sin0822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McLean, Virginia
Posts: 13,266
Rep: 2037 (Unique: 1171)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaKe OuT View Post

Ran x264 overnight set to 20 loops. Woke up to a fail. This was my first evening stability testing on this z97 board. all previous testing done on a z87 board. Same chip. Interestingly, I always bsod when failing stability test on z87. typically code 101. But, on this z97 board there is no bsod. I think it just reboots and has a window that states that Windows has recovered from some failure. Not a big deal, but does anyone know why this is?

So I need to look over my notes on my previous z87 stability search as I thought for sure I found stability at the x44 cpu multi. I frickin failed to be stable on this z97 board with a x43 multi at 1.34 Vcore setting which goes to 1.35 something volts under load. The uncore was locked at x35 multi and 1.203V. The VRIN was set to 2.2 volts and increased the same as Vcore did under load. Temps were good around 72C hottest core. I am just bummed that I cannot easily pass x264 overnight at x43 yet.

Any ideas?
just copy the settings over from the Z87, was your Z87 a GBT? if it was just copy them over.

Sin0822 is offline  
post #33 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 07:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MaKe OuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 281
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sin0822 View Post

just copy the settings over from the Z87, was your Z87 a GBT? if it was just copy them over.
that's the problem. it was an Asus M6 Hero. I am trying to get used to the GB bios still as I am still familiar with Asus only. So far (very limited time on the board) I have failed to match the stability I had on the Hero. I am confident that it is simply that I need to change some settings. I just need to figure out what those are.biggrin.gif


MaKe OuT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 03:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
marrawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 65
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
You are awesome, Sin! Thank you! let's see if I can overcome the 4.6 wall on my 4770K!

marrawi is offline  
post #35 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 08:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
marrawi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 65
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marrawi View Post

You are awesome, Sin! Thank you! let's see if I can overcome the 4.6 wall on my 4770K!

That's a negative, couldn't go beyond 4.6Ghz. Here are the settings I tried:

CPU Clock Ratio: 47x
XMP: Enable and Disabled
Uncore Ratio: Auto and 40x
C1E: Disable
C6/C7: Disable
CPU Thermal Monitor: Disable
C3: Disable
EIST: Disable
Voltage:
CPU VRIN Loadline Calibration: Extreme
CPU Phase Control: Extreme Performance
VRIN Override: 2.0 - 2.2v
VCore: 1.375v - 1.43v
Ring Voltage: 1.115v - 1.2v


Went back to stable 4.6 settings:

CPU Clock Ratio: 46x
XMP: Enable @ 2400Mhz
Uncore Ratio: 40x
C1E: Disable
C6/C7: Disable
CPU Thermal Monitor: Auto
C3: Disable
EIST: Disable
Voltage:
CPU VRIN Loadline Calibration: Extreme
CPU Phase Control: Auto
VRIN Override: 1.9v
VCore: 1.375v
Ring Voltage: 1.115v


Any suggestion is appreciated smile.gif

marrawi is offline  
post #36 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-30-2014, 09:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cyro999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 10,755
Rep: 537 (Unique: 329)
Quote:
Originally Posted by marrawi View Post

That's a negative, couldn't go beyond 4.6Ghz. Here are the settings I tried:

CPU Clock Ratio: 47x
XMP: Enable and Disabled
Uncore Ratio: Auto and 40x
C1E: Disable
C6/C7: Disable
CPU Thermal Monitor: Disable
C3: Disable
EIST: Disable
Voltage:
CPU VRIN Loadline Calibration: Extreme
CPU Phase Control: Extreme Performance
VRIN Override: 2.0 - 2.2v
VCore: 1.375v - 1.43v
Ring Voltage: 1.115v - 1.2v


Went back to stable 4.6 settings:

CPU Clock Ratio: 46x
XMP: Enable @ 2400Mhz
Uncore Ratio: 40x
C1E: Disable
C6/C7: Disable
CPU Thermal Monitor: Auto
C3: Disable
EIST: Disable
Voltage:
CPU VRIN Loadline Calibration: Extreme
CPU Phase Control: Auto
VRIN Override: 1.9v
VCore: 1.375v
Ring Voltage: 1.115v


Any suggestion is appreciated smile.gif

You might just need more vcore. I have to go from like 1.245 bios to 1.375 bios for 4.5 to 4.7. That's adding like 0.06 then 0.07 for 100mhz. If you tried 1.43 in bios already though - that's already [email protected], so i wouldn't suggest going to like 1.47 for 24/7. Probably best staying @46
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaKe OuT View Post

that's the problem. it was an Asus M6 Hero. I am trying to get used to the GB bios still as I am still familiar with Asus only. So far (very limited time on the board) I have failed to match the stability I had on the Hero. I am confident that it is simply that I need to change some settings. I just need to figure out what those are.biggrin.gif

Triple check vcore vs vrin (that you have turbo/extreme llc on vrin, and a good number for it) then add 0.01 vcore

i think some of these haswell boards even vary slightly in the amount of vcore that they give over what you set in the bios - giga seems to be +0.02, but i've seen volts on asus suggesting +0.03 for example (it reads as IA voltage or something in hwinfo)

You might have a bluescreen code recorded that didn't get shown to you, bluescreenview (the program) can show you that. Restart = typically very close to stability

I don't believe in "good enough"~!!

240hz / gsync / low persistence is AWESOME

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gif
Cyro999 is offline  
post #37 of 286 (permalink) Old 05-31-2014, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MaKe OuT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 281
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Yes, the recommended settings at extreme were done per the guide. I have disabled thermal monitor, cstates, eist...for now.
x264 UNstable (bsod 101) at:
cpu: 43
uncore: 35
vcore: 1.34
vrin: 2.20
vring: 1.20

x264 stable at:
cpu: 43
uncore: 35
vcore: 1.36 (only difference vs the above is this parameter)
vrin: 2.20
vring: 1.20

decided to have it fold and see if it crashes. All I am doing on this machine right now is gaming and folding so as long as I am stable there then that is good for me. x264 was good to get me in the ballpark. currently folding and every so many hours I'll drop the voltages to see how low I can get them. Once I find a good number then I'll try to increase the uncore multi.
currently at:
cpu: 43
uncore: 35
vcore: 1.35
vrin: 2.00
vring: 1.20


MaKe OuT is offline  
post #38 of 286 (permalink) Old 06-01-2014, 07:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mandrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Live Oak, FL
Posts: 5,218
Rep: 170 (Unique: 116)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sin0822 View Post

nice haha! Why not try the RAM out now?
OK got the RAM back to 2400. cpu-z still showing low bus speed though, should read just over 100 which would give a full 5 gigglehertz.
Only ran short testing with x264 as this was more to confirm VCCIN of 2.3 was needed.


Maximus VIII Hero/6700K delidded w/CLP @ 4.8/Corsair LPX 4x4GB 2666 OC'd @ 3200/PCS 390X w/EK blockMain Rig specs (Click to show)
White Case Labs SM8 w/dual pedestals-Custom top extension
Rigid acrylic tubing/Dual D5's-MCP35x2
3x480mm-1x240mm Radiators
All psu wiring & sleeving by myself
2xAquaero 5 Pro's w/c - 1xFC8 for light panel & various led's
PowerColor PCS 390X w/EK block
6700K/Maximus VIII Hero/Corsair 4x4GB RAM
Build Logs (Click to show)Validations (Click to show)
mandrix is offline  
post #39 of 286 (permalink) Old 06-10-2014, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sabishiihito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 872
Rep: 67 (Unique: 36)
Testing some BBSE, couldn't tighten the tertiary timings as much as I wanted to (had to set 5s instead of 4s) but only needed 1.8v as a result to pass 32M at 2400 8-10-7 1T.

4770K40x100BCLKSOCFStorm2133C91200MHz8-10-7-24-1TAIDA64BW_zpsa624c1b6.jpg
sabishiihito is offline  
post #40 of 286 (permalink) Old 06-10-2014, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Sin0822's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: McLean, Virginia
Posts: 13,266
Rep: 2037 (Unique: 1171)
yea the tertiary thing is being worked on

sorry let me look over the thread guys, I have been gone for the past week and just moved smile.gif

Sin0822 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off