Intel Pentium G3258 Performance and Owners Club NOW with GTX 970 - Page 103 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Intel Pentium G3258 Performance and Owners Club NOW with GTX 970

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TopicClocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6,179
Rep: 305 (Unique: 194)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overclocker.Monster View Post

What happened with LOL (league of the fake promises) that how it should be renamed sadsmiley.gif

Ahaha I'm sorry, my card died recently so I'm unable to test it, unless you want to see performance results with a 5770?

The same goes for CSGO, someone's been asking me about that and I feel kinda bad LOL.
TopicClocker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 03:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iRUSH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,052
Rep: 214 (Unique: 154)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopicClocker View Post

Ahaha I'm sorry, my card died recently so I'm unable to test it, unless you want to see performance results with a 5770?

The same goes for CSGO, someone's been asking me about that and I feel kinda bad LOL.

That sucks about your gpu. Was it the 760?

GSGO with the G3258 does just as good as any Intel chip out there. Whoever wants that benchmark can take my word for it if they want. It's perfect for source engine games, including Titanfall.

I have used nearly every CPU from Sandy Bridge on and Phenom II on. I have also used most GPU's from 2011 on, from low, mid and high. I've built 100's of rigs over the years. Most for fun and some for side work. If you have any questions and want an unbiased opinion, please feel free to PM me.
iRUSH is offline  
post #1023 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
TopicClocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 6,179
Rep: 305 (Unique: 194)
Quote:
Originally Posted by iRUSH View Post

That sucks about your gpu. Was it the 760?

GSGO with the G3258 does just as good as any Intel chip out there. Whoever wants that benchmark can take my word for it if they want. It's perfect for source engine games, including Titanfall.

Yeah it was, it's been discontinued from where I got it from though, so they're giving me a refund thankfully, I think I'll put that to the 800 series which are seemingly around the corner.
It's a shame, I've never had a card die on me ever.

I can try and do a couple of tests on a build with a Phenom II X4 965 @4GHz with a R9 280 in games like Battlefield 4 and Star Citizen when I get the time, I know someone who has a setup like that.
TopicClocker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1024 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 04:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Overclocker.Monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mendoza, Argentina
Posts: 630
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopicClocker View Post

Ahaha I'm sorry, my card died recently so I'm unable to test it, unless you want to see performance results with a 5770?

The same goes for CSGO, someone's been asking me about that and I feel kinda bad LOL.


I didn't know that lol... ok I'll forgive u just this time xD.

Just save it and get 860 tii

Overclocker.Monster is offline  
post #1025 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-26-2014, 07:28 PM
 
JR88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 307
With all that said still the Haswell/ivy dual cores are underrated as hell, being like gaming and most application's are still being so single threaded/ 1/2 core utilization etc......they can do plenty of damage especially high OC....just no benefit/useless for more cores when they are not in need

hell my first gen running on 2 with HT on at 4.4-4.5ghz runs pretty damn good like that xD
JR88 is offline  
post #1026 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 03:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dxt55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Great thread TopicClocker! I'm coming from a Phenom II x4 B25 @ 3.4Ghz myself (unlocked Deneb-core Athlon II x3).

I picked up 2 G3258 combos with B85 chipset motherboards, a Gigabyte GA-B85M-DS3H and MSI B85M-P33 v2. Both boards cap the core voltage at 1.2v (which it goes to on AUTO when I overclock). And both cap my 1600Mhz memory at 1400Mhz, even with XMP profile enabled - probably a limitation of the B85 chipset.

I can hit 4.3Ghz on both with uncore at 4Ghz (it is what the Gigabyte caps Uncore at on AUTO, so I manually set it to that on the MSI board). Reading this thread, it seems I have a shot at going higher if I raise the ring voltage (or lowering uncore ratio?). Ring voltage on my Gigabyte is at 1.075v (Auto) according to CPU-Z. I'll have to read through this thread more thoroughly to see what the highest people have been able to get at 1.2v (i.e. whether I should bother trying for higher).

Have any of you found you have to raise timings on your memory for higher overclocks, even though the memory's running at a fixed speed?

I disabled EIST/C1E, as there was no difference in idle power draw with it enabled or disabled. EIST/C1E was really adjusting only the CPU ratio, as adaptive voltage is disabled on both boards when overclocking, which I read in another thread is a non-Z chipset limitation.

Is the C7 state supported by the G3258? Both of my B85 boards only have BIOS settings for C1E/C3/C6.
dxt55 is offline  
post #1027 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 03:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dxt55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernieyee View Post

Quick question here..

I have my G3258 stable at 4.5GHz and 1.275v.

However, I hate how it's constantly sitting at max voltage.

What's the proper way of setting 1.275v as the max voltage and have it normally downclock the voltage at idle? Adaptive?
If you're on a Z chipset motherboard, make sure EIST or C1E is enabled. And if EIST is enabled, that you're on "Balanced" Windows power profile. If you're overclocking with a non-Z chipset motherboard like me, then you're pretty much stuck with it at fixed voltage when overclocking. It'd have to be at stock for voltage to drop during idle (in fact, if I set "adaptive voltage" on my MSI B85 board, it simply runs my G3258 at stock speed - so my core voltage at idle drops, but it only goes up to 3.2Ghz despite the CPU ratio being set at 43).

I hated that too at first, but then I read you're just as well off leaving it at max voltage with Haswell CPUs and letting the C-states do their thing. I get 21W idle power draw (as measured at the wall with my Kill-A-Watt) with my G3258 @ 4.3Ghz 1.2v along with 2x4GB RAM and an old Kingston 96GB SSD. I'll have to check again, but I'm almost sure idle power draw was the same or only 1W less when I had it on stock with the voltage dropping at idle. So to me, it seemed a pointless endeavor to have dynamic frequency/voltage as C6 state is what's giving me the power savings.
dxt55 is offline  
post #1028 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 05:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tp4tissue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,345
Rep: 50 (Unique: 43)
Keep EIST

Disable all C states.. you don't need them... AND C1E messes up your SSD performance by quite a bit.
tp4tissue is offline  
post #1029 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 05:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aziraphale05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 13
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TopicClocker View Post

But if you can return it and try again I'd say go for it, In my opinion 4.2GHz+ is the clock speed you want to get the best out of this chip, if you can get 4.3GHz that would be nice, but it does seem to take quite some volts to get there for your chip as you said.

Woah boy, it did not like 1.2v for ring. It was not stable in windows at all and BSOD'd pretty quick. I backed it down to 1.8 and the same thing while just updating D3 launcher (not even in game). At this point, I worried the RAM might be a bit funky so I ran MemTest86 all night and it came back clean so that's at least one less component I have to worry about. Given where it's at, I may play the return game. I backed it down to 4.2Ghz this morning with all the same settings from when I was at 4.3Ghz just to see if I get some stability.

Biggest problem now is the AC is on the fritz in my house and it's going to be 90*F today. Not an ideal day for testing.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iRUSH View Post

TopicClocker is correct. I have bought my CPU at Microcenter. In fact, I've never bought new anywhere else. They're return policy says 15 days on CPU's but I've brought them back on day 30 without hassle.

Thanks, I may give it a try. Did you have to say anything specific or "just wasn't what I was looking for."
Aziraphale05 is offline  
post #1030 of 4590 (permalink) Old 08-27-2014, 05:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
abctoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 242
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
I came from a dead phenom 2 too as well, it was a 3ghz tricore, in alot of cpu bound tasks my g3258 is twice as fast, so super happy!

Your BSOD shouldnt be caused by vring, mine is at 1.2v its perfectly safe. try to find your bsod bugcheck code and you can better diagnose whats causing it, most likely you need more vcore.
abctoz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off