Skylake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics] - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Skylake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 03:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Intel does not recommend to go over 1.45v... is that because of the temperatures or any other reason?

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 03:37 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,998
Rep: 363 (Unique: 260)
Buy an unbinned one. I don't know why someone would pay the crazy extra for a binned chip.
Here Skylake is in shops everywhere, if you don't like it you can return it within 2 weeks no questions asked. Hell you could bin a few yourself for the cost of shipping or walking to a shop. Of course the shops wouldn't like you much probably but it's doable.

The x264 test? I downloaded the test from your mega link and rewrote the batch files to what I like so they behave more sensibly and have more options. Did that a year ago, it's easier to run them over and over, setup a shortcut with parameters and that's it. Logs don't get lost on a crash, etc. Just add/replace the new batch files. You can update the x264 binary with the latest released from web. That's how I do it. You still need the original video file etc. from your pack. I've only shared the batch files in the post as text so I don't have to keep a track of some file sharing going dead like they often like to.
Added x265 for fun not long ago. And you can combine the two in one folder, I have it that way. Just place the batch files side by side in the same folder. Add HandbrakeCLI to the binaries and that should be it.
Code:
SET Version=2.05
REM Updated by JackCY 07/05/2015
REM Based on Darkwizzie's and Angelotti's script.
So yeah based on that, the computation itself should be the same, it's just the stuff around such as user input handling and log output are modified and to me more user friendly. Supports infinitely running loop, etc. should be noted in the changes
Quote:
Updated things as far as I can remember:

x264 version is printed by the exe itself and when someone updates their x264 exe it will show the correct version
revised configuration and CLI
POPD instead of "cd.."
names are defined as variables, easy to change at one place
all options listed for priority except realtime that should rather not be used
results are generated on the fly, continuously and are not lost when test crashes due to bad OC
results show loop start time and one can find how long it ran before a crash, equal to command line output
crashed logs are deleted on a new start and not appended to
parametrized options, easy to create predefined configs with shortcuts and batches using the optional parameters
added help for parameters -h, --help
infinity now works instead of a number of loops as well
fixed loop counter when running infinite test
v2.04 cosmetic polish of code nothing more, default values used if you hit enter when asked for config values


Meaning one can also input a very high number of loops or infinity, keep it running and then stop it as desired and not lose the results.
Of course unfinished results are temporarily stored in the test folder.

Prime95 supports profiles too, haven't seen that shared anywhere so I summed it up and posted it.

eXposee: DC does on average 4.6GHz around 1.3V. It's always a lottery. You go as high as you want, of course higher voltage can break down the CPU, it's not the overall temperature of the package that will kill it.

I don't know where you've seen Intel recommendation. But even stock voltages on Skylake seem to be all over the place or read wrong in the software. My bet is that Intel is pushing the voltages to the limit to get better clocks on stock as to match up the DC performance, because otherwise nearly no one would buy newer but slower CPUs. The performance boost is what, again only around 5% over DC at stock clocks. Lets do that math shall we? DC 4.4GHz is 100%, SL is 105%, so to match the DC performance you need SL to run... wait for it... 4.4*100/105=... moment of silence... 4.2GHz. There you go, exactly what Intel is clocking them at stock. Sure SL is nice, we will see how well the changes do, how mobo manufactures do with the voltage control back in their hands and how well the lower node clocks. Also SL consumes more power than DC despite being on a smaller node, funny ain't it? Well they are pushing all they can out of it IMHO so they can match the DC.

I would have to check the reviews again but that's the way it seemed to me. SL more power hungry and as expected only 5% faster. Sometimes DC faster than SL. BW was a step back compared to DC due to lack of clocks and the gain otherwise couldn't match DC. Now with SL the boost in IPC is big enough to compensate for the clock loss. But that's about it. Make a DC and SL system, do a blind test and the person wouldn't know a difference to tell them apart based on application performance. Upgrading from Sandy is probably worth it, from Ivy might not be. From HW/DC no way.

I do like the boost SL i5 has gotten though. Would I tell a difference compared to my DC 4.5GHz i5... no way.
JackCY is offline  
post #13 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
soapbox187's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 7
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXposee View Post

Im really dissapointed of my new 6700k.

I cant get it stable @4,6ghz with a vcore set to 1.4v... tried different levels of llc and so on and so on.
My old 3770k from 2012 was i running @ 4.7ghz @ same voltage as this cpu.

The temps are not my problem. When im running @ 1.4v im only hitting MAX 79c in one hour Prime95 testing so i could go further if i wanted to.

How much can i increase the vcore before the cpu could take damage? Is it the temperature wich set the limit or is it any maximum vcore?

Hi there, same is true for me.
I cant get 4.6 GHz stable without exceeding 1.4V in Bios settings.
Nontheless i have 4560 Mhz with 190 BLK stable at 1.4 Volts.
Beats my Sandybride @ 4.6 GHz by every aspect.

See specs here:
http://www.sysprofile.de/id190143
soapbox187 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXposee View Post

Im really dissapointed of my new 6700k.

I cant get it stable @4,6ghz with a vcore set to 1.4v... tried different levels of llc and so on and so on.
My old 3770k from 2012 was i running @ 4.7ghz @ same voltage as this cpu.

The temps are not my problem. When im running @ 1.4v im only hitting MAX 79c in one hour Prime95 testing so i could go further if i wanted to.

How much can i increase the vcore before the cpu could take damage? Is it the temperature wich set the limit or is it any maximum vcore?
Intel does not recommend to go over 1.45v... is that because of the temperatures or any other reason?

Hey!

 

Firstly, can you show me where Intel says 1.45v is the max? Asus' guide says the same thing, I suspect Asus just took whatever Intel said.

 

Here's some stuff I found on the internet:

 

This site says that going above 85C makes their CPU unstable no matter the voltage. I'm no so sure about that though.

Following the guy's chart, it's going to take over 1.46v to stabilize.

 

Digitaltrends says:

Quote:
 Asus and Intel documents recommended a maximum of 1.45V

Anandtech:

Quote:
 

Out of the four samples, one engineering sample had 4.7 GHz at 1.4V two engineering samples achieved 4.6 GHz at ~1.4V and the one retail sample had 4.5 GHz at 1.275 volts before declocking when it was running at 4.6 GHz / 1.4 volts.

I have had two different manufacturers (MSI and ASUS) both confirm that internally they are seeing the majority of their samples hit around the 4.6 GHz mark, and it seems to be very consistent. A couple of my fellow reviewers have also been in contact with what they have, with more reports around the 4.6-4.7 GHz mark

So it seems that an average overclock, albeit with a good cooler in nice conditions, is around the 4.6 GHz mark with a great overclock more towards to 4.8 GHz. Note that this is still early in the product lifecycle and BIOSes can still improve.

 

SiliconLottery:

Quote:
 From the few I've played with, we're looking at a 4.5GHz-4.8GHz range of overclocks.

 

Asus guide:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0Bz2VRRbLPrZnMXBnOXRWeVlHcHM/view?pli=1

 

Quote:
 

Good samples can achieve 4.7GHz with around 1.40 Vcore fully stable. The highest voltage we

recommend using is 1.42V with triple-rad water-cooling if running stress tests with AVX2 routines 

(lower if ambient temps are high). Those not concerned with stress testing may wish to use up to 

1.45V for maximum CPU frequency.

 

 

I've looked at Haswell spec sheet from Intel. Thing's like a hundred pages, and all I got was max VID, not telling me much of anything. There isn't even a Skylake spec sheet for the public.

 

I don't have the chip in my hands yet, but these are the things I'd say:

-LLC, if it's like Haswell, only increases input voltage. Raja says that setting LLC on very high puts voltage above what the user sets (which is normal) so that:

Quote:
 This is so the momentary transient voltage does not dip too far below the user set voltage. 

-If you raise voltage by a large amount and see zero improvement in stability, then it's likely input voltage that needs increasing.

-Make sure Uncore (if it's on Skylake) isn't overclocked (manually or automatically) to a very high level. Best to have uncore set low so we don't have to worry about it crashing an otherwise stable overlock

-What Prime95? If v28, stop it and use 27.9. Or, even consider x264 test. The latter will give you more headroom, both in terms of voltage and temps.

-If 1.4 is seen at stock, intuitively I'd think 1.45 is safe, especially for people who only play games. Safety depends a lot on how you use the CPU in the first place. Gaming a few hours is not the same as constant 100% load on the CPU over days which I've done.

-Base clock can be adjusted in a very fine-grain way unlike in the past, maybe that will help.

 

 

I hope I helped in some way, and I'll update as I find more info. 

BoredErica is offline  
post #15 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Z0eff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 453
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

Ehhh.

My Haswell guide did well so I think I'm set up with too high of an expectation. So far it's not going as well as I would've liked... for example the forum glitch that forced me to push out a half-finished thread to begin with, with a large disclaimer saying 'if you post in here, your post is toast!'. I was also thinking about how the Skylake club is already out with a chart of its own. Although granted, when I did the Haswell guide the official thread for that was long open and Sin had his guide as well. I was one of the earlier people to break out the idea of lowering the uncore and ignoring "1:1" ratio with the core, so that helped a lot. There's not much new this time I fear. This combination of Skylake not being available to me but available to many other people and the a Skylake thread already out with a chart will make it harder for my chart to settle in. But I still think my chart is more complete and it should only get better with time. It's hurting me a lot psychologically to see the availability be 8/31 from SiliconLottery, + more time to bin. I guess I should be more focused on doing well at the task at hand. What can I do with my guide that other people have not?

But I digress (extensively). biggrin.gif

Right. So I am assuming that your test is a modified version of Angelotti's?

EDIT:
I see it definitely is. I'm going to start testing it right now and some other things. I believe I also saw Raja say that Handbrake is one of the hardest tests for Skylake, and I'll have that ready...

Well right now there's no Skylake overclocking guide out there at all, apart from some generic increase voltage until stable guides. So that would be something to make your thread unique.

Z0eff is offline  
post #16 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:16 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0eff View Post


Well right now there's no Skylake overclocking guide out there at all, apart from some generic increase voltage until stable guides. So that would be something to make your thread unique.

The ASUS guide contains more insider information, I hope I can incorporate that, add in: My stress temperature chart updated, a pimped out and easy to use x264 stressing solution, and an extensive overclock charting system like I did with Haswell, hopefully improved in some way... :D

 

I just hope I do a good job. :D 

 

Trying to answer the first question in this thread and I'm all a sudden swamped with things to do and test before my chip even goes into stock.

BoredErica is offline  
post #17 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Thank your input!

Here i found the recommendation.
"That was only possible with the CPU Core Voltage at a whopping 1.43, which is pretty high (Asus and Intel documents recommended a maximum of 1.45V)."

http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/overclocking-intel-core-i7-6700k/

Im @ work right now but is there an option for Input voltage also?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

Hey!

Firstly, can you show me where Intel says 1.45v is the max? Asus' guide says the same thing, I suspect Asus just took whatever Intel said.

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
post #18 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
1.2 is stock voltage for 6700k.

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
post #19 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXposee View Post

Thank your input!

Im @ work right now but is there an option for Input voltage also?

You're welcome.

 

I'd like to highlight the fact that I don't have a Skylake chip yet. I'm assuming that these things are the same from Haswell, which may be a false assumption (since Skylake took out the FIVR). In Haswell, input voltage is VCCIN is Vrin. I just read this from the ASUS guide:

 

Quote:
 

Unlike Haswell, the Skylake architecture does not contain an integrated voltage regulator

for Vcore and other “major” voltage rails (some minor rails are derived internally). The DC 

regulation for each of these rails is supplied by the motherboard rather than having a lone 

1.8VDC (VCCIN) input rail. This change helps reduce on-die heat generation – which has 

benefits for overclocking.  As an added bonus for benchmarking fanatics, this also makes the 

processors more tolerant of low temperatures when being cooled with liquid nitrogen.

So it says that the removal of FIVR means there probably isn't an input voltage setting? Would you mind testing what voltages increase when LLC is set to minumum vs max under load?

 

Quote:
 Here i found the recommendation.
"That was only possible with the CPU Core Voltage at a whopping 1.43, which is pretty high (Asus and Intel documents recommended a maximum of 1.45V)."

http://www.digitaltrends.com/computing/overclocking-intel-core-i7-6700k/

 

I've read that from that very web page. But it doesn't tell me where the data is from (as in, link to source). I see where the ASUS guide says 1.45v, but it'd be cool to see the Intel one. I don't even see an official Skylake spec sheet.

BoredErica is offline  
post #20 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Z0eff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 453
Rep: 11 (Unique: 11)
I've been playing games at 4.8GHz with my 6700K using an override voltage of 1.47, which looks more like 1.488 to 1.5 in CPUz. If 1.45 really is the max that is recommended then I wonder how long my chip will last until degradation becomes apparent...

Z0eff is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off