Skylake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics] - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Skylake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:42 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

Buy an unbinned one. I don't know why someone would pay the crazy extra for a binned chip.
Here Skylake is in shops everywhere, if you don't like it you can return it within 2 weeks no questions asked. Hell you could bin a few yourself for the cost of shipping or walking to a shop. Of course the shops wouldn't like you much probably but it's doable.
 

I am CPU bottlenecked for many things though. I bought a 980ti from 7970ghz when I wasn't even GPU bottlenecked on Skyrim. In order to maintain logical consistency, I should be buying a binned chip.

 

Hell, starting up Skyrim is CPU bottlenecked. So is starting up CCleaner with CCenhancer. I'm also getting intermittent stutters in Skyrim now I've applied 4k textures everywhere, and that's probably either CPU or IO bottlenecked.

 

Granted, even in a CPU benchmark, the extra 200mhz won't really make a difference.

Quote:
The x264 test? I downloaded the test from your mega link and rewrote the batch files to what I like so they behave more sensibly and have more options. Did that a year ago, it's easier to run them over and over, setup a shortcut with parameters and that's it. Logs don't get lost on a crash, etc. Just add/replace the new batch files. You can update the x264 binary with the latest released from web. That's how I do it. You still need the original video file etc. from your pack. I've only shared the batch files in the post as text so I don't have to keep a track of some file sharing going dead like they often like to.
Added x265 for fun not long ago. And you can combine the two in one folder, I have it that way. Just place the batch files side by side in the same folder. Add HandbrakeCLI to the binaries and that should be it.
Code:
SET Version=2.05
REM Updated by JackCY 07/05/2015
REM Based on Darkwizzie's and Angelotti's script.
So yeah based on that, the computation itself should be the same, it's just the stuff around such as user input handling and log output are modified and to me more user friendly. Supports infinitely running loop, etc. should be noted in the changes
Prime95 supports profiles too, haven't seen that shared anywhere so I summed it up and posted it.
 

Your link to the x264 binaries brings up two possible downloads. I'm assuming the top one is 10b and the bottom one is 8b and is the one I'm supposed to use? I've tested both and I've found the bottom one to cause 2C higher temps. 

 

I'm working on the update right now. Thanks for your work, jackyCY.

 

On an unrelated note, I'm considering doing stess test stress testing. As in, I get an overclock that is not fully stable. Then I run the stress test 5 runs. Each run is a run until it crashes. That way, I can put an estimate on how well a test finds instabilities.

 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0eff View Post

I've been playing games at 4.8GHz with my 6700K using an override voltage of 1.47, which looks more like 1.488 to 1.5 in CPUz. If 1.45 really is the max that is recommended then I wonder how long my chip will last until degradation becomes apparent...
Too bad I can't really test this. Degrading chips on purpose aside (which I can afford), the test would take a long time. And if I say "degraded at 1.5v after half a year of 24/7 Chess work", how does that even translate to gaming loads where a person is gaming just for a few hours at a time? :thinking:
BoredErica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 04:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post


So it says that the removal of FIVR means there probably isn't an input voltage setting? Would you mind testing what voltages increase when LLC is set to minumum vs max under load?

Yes i will post back when i get any time to test. I think maybe today! smile.gif

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
post #23 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 05:23 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,998
Rep: 363 (Unique: 260)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0eff View Post

Well right now there's no Skylake overclocking guide out there at all, apart from some generic increase voltage until stable guides. So that would be something to make your thread unique.
*cough* since like 90s, OCing is all the same. Adjust voltages and clocks. That's it. No more HW changes possible, and they were doing the same thing too XD I don't know why people need a guide for increasing and decreasing a few parameters biggrin.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z0eff View Post

I've been playing games at 4.8GHz with my 6700K using an override voltage of 1.47, which looks more like 1.488 to 1.5 in CPUz. If 1.45 really is the max that is recommended then I wonder how long my chip will last until degradation becomes apparent...
I wonder what do you cool the CPU with?
With a full load from x264 that thing must be cooking and running linpack a suicide without a delid and water cooling or sub zero.

Or are the Skylake chips that might actually have a worse TIM again than DC somehow magically running lower temps while consuming more power?
I don't get it.
1.4V+ that's nuts.

DC is cooking above 1.3V and even the difference between 1.23V and 1.28V is 5C, pretty much equal to the change of 0.05V on my air cooler and regular load, games, encoding.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

I'm working on the update right now. Thanks for your work, jackyCY.

On an unrelated note, I'm considering doing stess test stress testing. As in, I get an overclock that is not fully stable. Then I run the stress test 5 runs. Each run is a run until it crashes. That way, I can put an estimate on how well a test finds instabilities.

You want the 8bit version, at least that's what you guys used for your original test. Sure you could swap out for 10b probably, the parameters should be the same but there is no gain in that I think for stress testing.
Handbrake x264 maybe also x265 works well for crashing unstable OC. At least that's what got mine after a year, didn't recheck with the x264 test if it would also fail. But you're on that now. So have fun.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

You want the 8bit version, at least that's what you guys used for your original test. Sure you could swap out for 10b probably, the parameters should be the same but there is no gain in that I think for stress testing.
Handbrake x264 maybe also x265 works well for crashing unstable OC. At least that's what got mine after a year, didn't recheck with the x264 test if it would also fail. But you're on that now. So have fun.

4 threads got me 65C (yeah, D14 is on low RPM atm). 

 

16 threads of Angelotti's x264: 67.6C

16 threads of JackCY's exe + updated files: 67.98C

Looks like there's no regression. Tested chess for giggles and got 63-64C. I'll update the link in the thread shortly.

 

Quote:
 
*cough* since like 90s, OCing is all the same. Adjust voltages and clocks. That's it. No more HW changes possible, and they were doing the same thing too XD I don't know why people need a guide for increasing and decreasing a few parameters biggrin.gif

Hey, with Haswell some folks were trying to run 46/46 core/uncore and that was enough to cause instability. Extra vrin was rarely needed except for 1.4v and up, but it's still there. Then there's the peripheral stuff, like our x264 test, stress test temperature chart, intro showing the specs and changes with new generation (for example, some confusion about what the "x20 PCIE lanes" mean), etc. Somebody must have found it useful.

 

Quote:
 I wonder what do you cool the CPU with?
With a full load from x264 that thing must be cooking and running linpack a suicide without a delid and water cooling or sub zero.

I recall hitting ~90s degrees but below 100C when doing 1.52v on chess I think it was. That's with Haswell and a D14. DC being cooler, Skylake being DC temps. Of course, Prime95 v28 or god forbid Linpack would be insanity. 1.52v at chess is cooler than 1.25v on Linpack. :devil: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

EDIT:

Correction, 4 threads got me 65C. Running more threads does make the stress test hotter. (Even though my CPU doesn't have HT.)

BoredErica is offline  
post #25 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 06:22 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,998
Rep: 363 (Unique: 260)
Yeah most of the OC guides I've seen are mostly a copy of specs, review charts, etc. bundled with more focus on what the parameters mean for those who don't know or can't figure it out.
Personally what I look for in the OC guides are charts of OC results, and OC statistics. What scaling there can be, what are the average clocks for the chips at what voltages. How temperature and wattage raises with volts, etc. comparisons. Stuff I can't or don't wanna be bothered to do just out of curiosity because it's time consuming.

The rest turns into chaos and debate over who's right.
I'm happily running 1.23V VID with 1.65V Vccin but some would argue that it's too low and you should keep it 1.8V+ and so on. I say to each their own, tweak it to what works for you smile.gif

Tweak one at a time, most important first, and that's about it. Same thing for anything I got to OC in the last 20 years.
JackCY is offline  
post #26 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 06:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
stefxyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 263
Rep: 15 (Unique: 11)
CPUs seem to be very different from CPU to CPU. Mine is stable at 4600 MHZ and 1.26 Volts. I have overwritten voltage manually in BIOS.

Here is a pic running Prime95 for 2 hours (I6700k, Asus 170 Deluxe, Corsair H110i GTX). Temps normally around 60 Celsius max peak at 70.

http://abload.de/img/alltagsocstefxyz58s5m.jpg




Ram runs at 2933 MHZ.

Also putting mine on more than 1.4 Volts increases Temps even with the water cooling to 90 Celsius peaks. So looks like chips vary a lot. I am very happy with mine.

Stefan
stefxyz is offline  
post #27 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)

 

Quote:

Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

Yeah most of the OC guides I've seen are mostly a copy of specs, review charts, etc. bundled with more focus on what the parameters mean for those who don't know or can't figure it out.
Personally what I look for in the OC guides are charts of OC results, and OC statistics. What scaling there can be, what are the average clocks for the chips at what voltages. How temperature and wattage raises with volts, etc. comparisons. Stuff I can't or don't wanna be bothered to do just out of curiosity because it's time consuming.

The bolded part is something I can add to the Skylake guide. It wasn't in the Haswell guide, and I now have a tool that measures total system power draw from the socket.

 

BTW:
I've tried your x265 test and I'm seeing slightly lower temperatures compared to x264 with 16 threads. With 16 threads it runs at like 99.9% load average on my 4670k. Is there an option for 64 threads?

 

I've updating both Skylake and Haswell threads with the new version of x264 stress test (it's uploading). Also merged the readmes and did a few things to make it easy to understand how to use, etc.

 

I'm editing the text explaining what our x264 test is. There's some redundancies in my text, etc which I will fix.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stefxyz View Post

CPUs seem to be very different from CPU to CPU. Mine is stable at 4600 MHZ and 1.26 Volts. I have overwritten voltage munually in BIOS.

Here is a pic running Prime95 for 2 hours (I6700k, Asus 170 Deluxe, Corsair H110i GTX). Temps normally around 60 max peak at 70.

http://abload.de/image.php?img=alltagsocstefxyz58s5m.jpg

Ram runs at 2933 MHZ.

Also putting mine on more than 1.4 Volts increases Temps ebven with the wate rcooling to 90 peaks. So looks like chips vary a lot. I am very happy with mine.

Stefan

Your link doesn't work for me.

BoredErica is offline  
post #28 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 07:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0




Now i've been trying some more.

Now im @ ~4,7ghz. 102x46. I've set Vcore to 1.4 and LLC to level 6 of 7. At full load is actual Vcore 1,424 then....

Im going to run this test more now. So far no problems with temperatures or bluescreens! biggrin.gif

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
post #29 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 07:43 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,402
Rep: 418 (Unique: 272)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXposee View Post





Now i've been trying some more.

Now im @ ~4,7ghz. 102x46. I've set Vcore to 1.4 and LLC to level 6 of 7. At full load is actual Vcore 1,424 then....

Im going to run this test more now. So far no problems with temperatures or bluescreens! biggrin.gif

You never listed what version of Prime95 you're using. That can make a big difference.

BoredErica is offline  
post #30 of 11399 (permalink) Old 08-21-2015, 07:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
eXposee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Falun, Sweden
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Sorry! I was using the newest one before.

Now im using v27.9! smile.gif

_______________________________________________________________________________________
eXposee is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off