Skylake Non-K Overclock on ES? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Skylake Non-K Overclock on ES?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 05:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tcoppock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 378
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
I can see my package temps with my asrock a-tuner software.
Tcoppock is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 11:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
BertoM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
This CPU looks like it should be great when paired with a mobo that has an external clock gen!
BertoM is offline  
post #23 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 172
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Well I'm dumb. So the reason why XTU wasn't starting was because of the user account controls that were in place when I started the app. Guess it wasn't letting it run since it was an outside source, but now it seems to be working properly.


https://snag.gy/SEQB1O.jpg

Seems like AVX instructions are working fine. Also package temps and core temps all read fine in XTU.

so..... I can BLCK overclock this CPU with no compromises it seems. I do still need to test the integrated GPU, and also see how hard I can push this but otherwise... this is sounding like an incredible deal. HOWEVER. I can't seem to touch any of the controls on XTU, no BLCK overclocking there but it lets me change voltages and whatnot.

The app asus gives for overclocking seems to work though, so i'll play with that.

hiemal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 03:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tcoppock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 378
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Integrated gpu will cease to function around 103-105 bclk
Tcoppock is offline  
post #25 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 172
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)



Are you sure about that? wink.gif



so..... Integrated GPU works. AVX instructions work. Temp readouts work. No issues with speedstep or C states.... Isn't that pretty much everything that's wrong with BLCK overclocking on non k CPU's?....

hiemal is offline  
post #26 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 04:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tcoppock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 378
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
Tcoppock is offline  
post #27 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 05:42 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 172
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Well color me confused.

I'm trying to change the core voltage up more so I can get more OC headroom. Okay, cool. It registers in the BIOS and on Asus's OCing utility as increased.

However, based off of what CPUID is telling me the VID to the core is actually staying around 1.1 volts, no matter how much I change the voltage elsewhere. Changing load line calibration doesn't seem to affect it either.

Now that would make one think that the voltage changes aren't actually changing anything, but the temperature increases corresponding to the voltage increase, so there's obviously more voltage going in.

Now why this is an issue is because I can't seem to load into windows above 140 BLCK, using a dedicated GPU. I get a blue screen, error 0x000009C if I remember right. I've tried increasing the voltage more but it doesn't solve the issue.



Any ideas what's happening?

hiemal is offline  
post #28 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 05:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tcoppock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 378
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
What board are u using? Second are u using cpu-z to see ur voltage?
Tcoppock is offline  
post #29 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-13-2016, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 172
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Z170-K Asus. I was using both cpuid and asus's ocing utility, comparing the voltages between the two.

hiemal is offline  
post #30 of 1441 (permalink) Old 05-14-2016, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 172
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Ok! Good news, got it working properly again. I guess the PLL wasn't happy with the voltage it was receiving.

So. Upped it quite a bit now got it to 160 BLCK, but I have serious stability issues any higher. I think the motherboard clock gen is at its limits at this point.




Pics for proof!!

So I'm just under a stock i7-6700 now. Cool.

hiemal is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off