Broadwell-E thread - Page 225 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Broadwell-E thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2241 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xarot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,182
Rep: 45 (Unique: 42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post

Depends on the level of stability also. Cache instability can manifest in a lot of ways depend on the point of failure. Not excluding fatal exceptions

It was the cache afterall. 4 hours RB is stable at 3.5 GHz using same voltage.

I am a bit hesitant to OC my 6950X beyond 4.2 GHz which seems to be stable at around 1.25~1.26V. Too much money to lose there. redface.gif I'm going to get the ITP later on, but still.

i9-7980XE / Asus Rampage VI Extreme / Corsair Dominator Platinum 64 GB 3200 MHz CL16-18-18/ Asus Strix 1080TI SLI / Intel 750 NVME / Samsung 1TB / Corsair AX1500i / Phanteks Enthoo Primo / Asus PG279Q
xarot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2242 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-08-2016, 11:58 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
Silent Scone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 11,365
Rep: 402 (Unique: 225)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xarot View Post

It was the cache afterall. 4 hours RB is stable at 3.5 GHz using same voltage.

I am a bit hesitant to OC my 6950X beyond 4.2 GHz which seems to be stable at around 1.25~1.26V. Too much money to lose there. redface.gif I'm going to get the ITP later on, but still.

Things can get tricky beyond 3.5 if not supplying enough voltage or if cooling is inadequate. No real need to push this far anyway.
Silent Scone is offline  
post #2243 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 01:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
VinnieM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRK11 View Post

How did you manage 4.4GHz on your 6850K? I'm running 4.3GHz on 1.22V , but 4.4GHz always crashes ( I can get few stable minutes at 1.30V)

I'm not running 4.4 on ALL cores. In fact, I have my best core running on 4.5 at 1.355V, while the rest of the cores either run at 4.4 or 4.3GHz. And when using adaptive (or offset) voltages, cores running at a lower multiplier run at a lower voltage (VID).
After I couldn't manage 4.4 on all cores and found out one core needs more than 1.36 to stabilize it, I started experimenting with different multipliers on different cores. So my best core (5) needs a lower voltage for 4.5 than the worst core for 4.4! Somehow it looks like the cores with a higher default VID are the best overclockers.
One advantage with the latest Windows 10 feature update (1607) is that single threaded tasks are now automatically assigned to the best core, so they are running at 4.5GHz.

VinnieM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2244 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sununis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Hi, I have read this forum a while and now i have registered user smile.gif (sorry my english is not so good)

My problem is this:

I have 6800k and asus strix x99. I have exactly same settings than video below but processor 4,2 Ghz

My problem is that i can hit 4,1 ghz with no less than 1.275v. and 4,2 ghz no less than 1.35 v. I have test it with RealBench 2.43 (one hour Duration) if i put less voltage, it goes BSOD. My cooler is arctic liquid freezer 240. Temperature with 4,2ghz and 1.35v. are between 60 - 70 C with RealBench one hour stress tess. Is it safe to use 1.35v 24/7 ? Is there something to do with this or do i just have very poor processor? frown.gif

Here is picture when im testing RealBench stresstest



Is my VCCIO too high?

sununis is offline  
post #2245 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 05:01 AM
OC...D
 
Jpmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 26,521
Rep: 1282 (Unique: 565)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BRK11 View Post

Deluxe II
clear cmos, enter bios, set the multiplier and turbo voltage to the total volage needed. Set LLC to 5 and VCCIN to 1.92V. Leave SVID on Auto. Set VRM Fault to disabled, and Efficiency to high performance. Leave everything else on Defaults... still behaving as before?
Quote:
Originally Posted by sununis View Post

Hi, I have read this forum a while and now i have registered user smile.gif (sorry my english is not so good)

My problem is this:

I have 6800k and asus strix x99. I have exactly same settings than video below but processor 4,2 Ghz

My problem is that i can hit 4,1 ghz with no less than 1.275v. and 4,2 ghz no less than 1.35 v. I have test it with RealBench 2.43 (one hour Duration) if i put less voltage, it goes BSOD. My cooler is arctic liquid freezer 240. Temperature with 4,2ghz and 1.35v. are between 60 - 70 C with RealBench one hour stress tess. Is it safe to use 1.35v 24/7 ? Is there something to do with this or do i just have very poor processor? frown.gif

Here is picture when im testing RealBench stresstest



Is my VCCIO too high?

I think so. Set this to 1.05 or 1.08 in bios.

ASUS Z370/Z390 Motherboard Support Thread, Coffee Lake OC Guide
GPUs For Sale
X299
(27 items)
x99
(18 items)
Z370
(19 items)
CPU
7980XE
CPU
7740X
CPU
9900X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage VI Apex
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus G9
Motherboard
Rampage VI Extreme Omega
GPU
2x Nvidia Titan V
GPU
GTX 1080
GPU
2 2080Ti FE / EK Vector Blocks
RAM
G. Skill 2x(2x8GB) 3600c15 @4000c16
RAM
Team Group
RAM
Two 4x8GB GS 3600c16 kits @ 4000c16
Hard Drive
INtel Optane 900P
Hard Drive
2x256 Plextor Raid 0
Hard Drive
WD Raptor
Hard Drive
Samsung Sm 961
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
EVGA 850 G3
Cooling
Aquacomputer GiGant 1680 (4x420)
Cooling
Koolance EXC-800
Case
Microcool Banchetto 101 (Alu)
Case
Corsair 570X
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
ROG Swift
Keyboard
Ducky
Mouse
Spatha
CPU
6950X
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage V Extreme-10
GPU
Titan Xp
GPU
Titan Xp
RAM
G Skill 8x8GB 3200c14 @3400c13
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Optical Drive
ASUS BR/DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Cooling
2x360 Aq Copper Rads
Cooling
Aquaero 6
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U (9-fan mora)
Cooling
Ek Full Cover MB waterblock
Case
CaseLabs Mercury S8
Operating System
Win 10 Pro
Operating System
Win 7 Pro
Monitor
AGON 32 inch
Keyboard
Das Pro
Mouse
Logitech G700
CPU
8700K
CPU
8086K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus X Apex
GPU
GTX 1070Ti FTW2
RAM
2x8 GB G.Skill 4400c19
RAM
G.Skill 3600c16 4x6GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750
Optical Drive
PLextor DVD/CD
Power Supply
Corsair AX1500i
Power Supply
Corsair HX 1200i
Power Supply
Seasonic Titanium 850W
Cooling
360Rad + Chiller
Cooling
Koolance ERM-3K3U
Case
Corasir 570
Operating System
Win 10
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro
Monitor
55" 4K
Keyboard
HyperX Alloy FPS Pro
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival
▲ hide details ▲


Jpmboy is offline  
post #2246 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 06:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fidelity21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 136
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by djgar View Post

If you have adaptive offset to Auto then the max will be what you set in turbo. At least it does for my 6900K.

Edit: You do have strap set to 100, right?

This is not entirely true as you cannot override the VID. Mine goes to 1.298v regardless of what u set turbo to until I realized that I was fighting against my VID setting that's hidden and locked by Intel. In the end it was a good thing because my system was not stable as I had originally thought after several hours of benchmark testing and stress testing. I'm now at 1.310v and very stable with 4.3ghz. I wanted to leave things alone but now I'm reading that the VCCIO value should not be left at auto as mine is 1.256 V… Seems I need to keep doing more research. Temps are fine and things are stable, so what harm can come from leaving VCCIO to auto and letting it run 1.256v?

Also, just for clarification, there is a VCCIO CPU (auto is 1.256v) setting and a VCCIO PCH (auto is 1.050v) sitting in the bios.

Right now, I'm:
VCCIO: 1.256v
VCCSA:.1.248v
PCH Core: 1.050v
CPU Cache: 1.153v
CPU Core: 1.311v (1.310v in BIOS)

Fidelity21 is offline  
post #2247 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 07:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
vibraslap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 132
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
Bring VCCIO down to 1.05 and VCCSA down to 1.0 and see if you are still stable.

If this causes instability(doubtful) I would adjust VCCSA within a range of 0.95-1.1 and VCCIO between 1.05 and 1.1 and see what works. Those seem to be pretty standard ranges for these voltages across the overclock's I've seen on here and from my own experience on these chips.

The other voltages you listed all seem fine. The other I would look at to make sure it is not on auto is VCCIN. I think for most people 1.92 has been sufficient but It can range from 1.9-1.95 depending on your overclock.

As always, make one change at a time and ensure stability along each step of the way to make the source of any problems that may arise more apparent.

vibraslap is offline  
post #2248 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 08:33 AM
Wandering & Wondering
 
djgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,482
Rep: 64 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sununis View Post

Hi, I have read this forum a while and now i have registered user smile.gif (sorry my english is not so good)

My problem is this:

I have 6800k and asus strix x99. I have exactly same settings than video below but processor 4,2 Ghz Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

My problem is that i can hit 4,1 ghz with no less than 1.275v. and 4,2 ghz no less than 1.35 v. I have test it with RealBench 2.43 (one hour Duration) if i put less voltage, it goes BSOD. My cooler is arctic liquid freezer 240. Temperature with 4,2ghz and 1.35v. are between 60 - 70 C with RealBench one hour stress tess. Is it safe to use 1.35v 24/7 ? Is there something to do with this or do i just have very poor processor? frown.gif

Here is picture when im testing RealBench stresstest Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

Is my VCCIO too high?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post


I think so. Set this to 1.05 or 1.08 in bios.

Also, his vccin (VRM in Aida) is 1.77 - looks way too low, no?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fidelity21 View Post

This is not entirely true as you cannot override the VID. Mine goes to 1.298v regardless of what u set turbo to until I realized that I was fighting against my VID setting that's hidden and locked by Intel. In the end it was a good thing because my system was not stable as I had originally thought after several hours of benchmark testing and stress testing. I'm now at 1.310v and very stable with 4.3ghz. I wanted to leave things alone but now I'm reading that the VCCIO value should not be left at auto as mine is 1.256 V… Seems I need to keep doing more research. Temps are fine and things are stable, so what harm can come from leaving VCCIO to auto and letting it run 1.256v?

Also, just for clarification, there is a VCCIO CPU (auto is 1.256v) setting and a VCCIO PCH (auto is 1.050v) sitting in the bios.

Right now, I'm:
VCCIO: 1.256v
VCCSA:.1.248v
PCH Core: 1.050v
CPU Cache: 1.153v
CPU Core: 1.311v (1.310v in BIOS)

I can only attest to my system's behavior. In adaptive mode with offset on Auto and Turbo = 1.4 my idle vcore is 0.79 and ramps up to 1.4 steady at 100% with vid fluctuating slightly around 1.4. And yes, vccio @ 1.256 is way high. Try 1.05 and move up if unstable. At my voltages close to the edge of disaster I'm using 1.15

But I'm using offset mode @ strap 125 now due to bclk / cache / dimm frequency frequency alignments.

Strix X99 Gaming, 6900K @4.600GHz, 32GB (4x8) G Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR, XSPC Raystorm 2x RX360 L-Cooler
24x7: 100 Strap adptv: 46 mult, 100 BCLK, 3.6GHz 36x NB, [email protected] 14-14-13-32-1T, 1.41v DRAM,
vcore 1.395 turbo, vcache [email protected] offset, vccsa [email protected] offset, vccin 1.8, vccio 1.05, LLC +6
BIOS 2101, Win 10 Pro x64 1903
djgar is offline  
post #2249 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 08:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sununis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jpmboy View Post

clear cmos, enter bios, set the multiplier and turbo voltage to the total volage needed. Set LLC to 5 and VCCIN to 1.92V. Leave SVID on Auto. Set VRM Fault to disabled, and Efficiency to high performance. Leave everything else on Defaults... still behaving as before?
I think so. Set this to 1.05 or 1.08 in bios.

Im not sure if i can clear cmos. Im not expert :/ I restored settings (f5) and, put 4,2 ghz and 1.3v., LLC 5 and VCCIN to 1.92 When i start Realbench, in one minute BSOD

After this i load my earlier settings and i lowered VCCIO. Im not sure what to do now? Maybe i have real poor processor!


sununis is offline  
post #2250 of 8031 (permalink) Old 08-09-2016, 09:02 AM
Wandering & Wondering
 
djgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,482
Rep: 64 (Unique: 44)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sununis View Post

Im not sure if i can clear cmos. Im not expert :/ I restored settings (f5) and, put 4,2 ghz and 1.3v., LLC 5 and VCCIN to 1.92 When i start Realbench, in one minute BSOD

After this i load my earlier settings and i lowered VCCIO. Im not sure what to do now? Maybe i have real poor processor!
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)

What's your cache speed and voltage? You should fill out a system description.

Strix X99 Gaming, 6900K @4.600GHz, 32GB (4x8) G Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR, XSPC Raystorm 2x RX360 L-Cooler
24x7: 100 Strap adptv: 46 mult, 100 BCLK, 3.6GHz 36x NB, [email protected] 14-14-13-32-1T, 1.41v DRAM,
vcore 1.395 turbo, vcache [email protected] offset, vccsa [email protected] offset, vccin 1.8, vccio 1.05, LLC +6
BIOS 2101, Win 10 Pro x64 1903
djgar is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off