Broadwell-E thread - Page 5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Broadwell-E thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #41 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 08:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ZXMustang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 224
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by done12many2 View Post

Yes Sir. No doubt that this score would have been a little better with cache/memory tweaks, but the cache on this chip just doesn't want to be messed with.

I really want the 6950x to replace my 5960x, but if this 6800k is an indication of the single core performance of Broadwell-E, the 6950x won't work for me especially at the expected max OC of 4.3GHz or lower. While it would be noticeably faster in maximized multi threaded applications, I enjoy single threaded performance almost equally.

Anyways, I have a couple of 1080s showing up tomorrow so that might offset my slight Broadwell-E depression. biggrin.gif

Are you using a board with the OC socket? I have a gigabyte UD3P board with the OC socket, and my 5820k will only let me OC the cache when the OC switch is on. Otherwise mine wouldnt either. With it on, the cache on my 5820k sits pretty at 4.0ghz.
ZXMustang is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #42 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 08:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
done12many2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 784
Rep: 75 (Unique: 41)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXMustang View Post

Are you using a board with the OC socket? I have a gigabyte UD3P board with the OC socket, and my 5820k will only let me OC the cache when the OC switch is on. Otherwise mine wouldnt either. With it on, the cache on my 5820k sits pretty at 4.0ghz.

I am. Asus x99 Deluxe/3.1. Same board lets me take my 5960x cache 1:1 up to 4.7. I do have to use a good amount of cache voltage to get it up there, but it does it.

With the 6800k, the cache starts acting up before you even get it to 3.9.

done12many2 is offline  
post #43 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ctepp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 72
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I love how newegg says they are out of 6850ks but remain willing to sell combo packs with a 6850k, mobo, and ram. Got to love the free market. #PriceGougingByAnotherName
ctepp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #44 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 10:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,174
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhenzjhen View Post

Just got one biggrin.gif http://img.hwbot.org/u38005/image_id_1645816.jpeg

11.26.2015 says the date thumb.gif

CPU
Xeon X5690 3.46GHz
Motherboard
Asrock X58 Extreme
GPU
EVGA GeForce GT 210
RAM
Muskin
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Hard Drive
OCZ Vertex2 SSD
Hard Drive
8 x Samsung 1Tb F3
Power Supply
2009 Seasonic X650w Gold
Cooling
Megahalems
Case
ABS Black Pearl
Operating System
Windows 10 64 Professional
Monitor
Asus VG278H
Keyboard
Steelseries 6Gv2 Cherry MX Reds
Mouse
MS Sidewinder X3
▲ hide details ▲
OCmember is offline  
post #45 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 10:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dhenzjhen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: SJ, Cali
Posts: 4,066
Rep: 169 (Unique: 124)
Quote:
Originally Posted by OCmember View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dhenzjhen View Post

Just got one biggrin.gif http://img.hwbot.org/u38005/image_id_1645816.jpeg

11.26.2015 says the date thumb.gif


Just the OS date, but actually benched BW-E last 5/3/16 smile.gif



dhenzjhen is offline  
post #46 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 12:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tistou77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: France
Posts: 1,772
Rep: 18 (Unique: 15)
They are so bad than that the Broadwell-E ?
Not possible to exceed 4ghz for the Cache ?

Sorry for my english
tistou's config
(19 items)
CPU
i9 7980x
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080ti XC Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Royal @4000 C16
Hard Drive
M2 Intel Optane 905P
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO Plus
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 1000W
Cooling
Alphacool VPP755 x2
Cooling
Mod Pump Bitspower
Cooling
Mod Pump Ek Waterblock
Cooling
Ek Velocity
Cooling
Waterblock EVGA Hydro Copper XC
Cooling
MORA 3 9x120 (x2)
Case
Lian Li A77FA
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Dell U2417H
Keyboard
Logitech Illuminated K740
Mouse
Logitech MX Revolution
Audio
Asus Xonar Phoebus
▲ hide details ▲
tistou77 is offline  
post #47 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 07:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
iggy097's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 48
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I pulled the trigger on the 6800k with the Asus Rog Strix X99 Gaming and 32GB of TridentZ Ram. Going to put the Asus Rog Strix 1080 GPU in it when it comes out.
I produce and edit videos for a living and game on the side so my machine is constantly running - I render around 20-25 videos a week.
I'm hoping to get the chip OC nicely - I ran all the benchmarks on my current system to see how much the increase will be - hopefully it's alot as it's hard going from one platform to the next.
Current rig is a 2600k OC to 4.4 , Asrock P67 Extreme4 Gen3, and 32 GB of Ripjaws DDR3, with 2x GTX 770s.

The damn build bug got me again. I waited a good 4-5 years. I even swapped up my 2- 27" QX2710 monitors for the Dell 34 Ultra Wide.
The wife is gone for a month - when she gets home I have to convince her that all I did was switch out the case!

Now I have to sell the old rig!
iggy097 is offline  
post #48 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 08:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Snaaaake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
what thermal paste did you use?

i saw this but it's complicated https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-tim-indigo-xtreme-intel-2011-3
Snaaaake is offline  
post #49 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 08:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rt123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 3,453
Rep: 278 (Unique: 125)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZXMustang View Post

Are you using a board with the OC socket? I have a gigabyte UD3P board with the OC socket, and my 5820k will only let me OC the cache when the OC switch is on. Otherwise mine wouldnt either. With it on, the cache on my 5820k sits pretty at 4.0ghz.

OC socket doesn't work on BW-E.

Say thank you Intel.


rt123 is offline  
post #50 of 8097 (permalink) Old 06-01-2016, 08:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
greg1184's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 693
Rep: 13 (Unique: 13)
Perhaps after a bios update or two bw-e performance will improve?

AMD Ryzen 3950x 4.4ghz; MSI MEG ACE X570; G.Skill TridentZ Neo 3800mhz 14-16-16-36-1T; Sabrent 1TB Rocket NVMe 4.0 Gen4; Western Digital Blue 500gb; Samsung Evo 500gb;
Cooling: EK Velocity CPU Block, EK Quantum Vector GPU block, AlphaCool UT60 420 radiator, XSPC EX 360 Radiator, EK and Bitspower fittings, XSPC D5 Reservoir/Pump, Koolance UV orange coolant
GPU: Nvidia RTX 2080 Ti; Thermaltake View 71; Keyboard: Logitech G818; Mouse: Logitech G502; PSU: Seasonic PRIME 1300 Platinum
greg1184 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off