Broadwell-E thread - Page 784 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Broadwell-E thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7831 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 02:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
KCDC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1,014
Rep: 27 (Unique: 23)
I'm still holding onto my 6900k and strix x99 board for a render node. The cpu doesn't get above 4.4 without going past 1.4v, so I may take advantage of my tuning plan warranty and send it in, maybe get a better chip. Or might be a worse chip...

Or sell it and get a 9900k, but then I wouldn't be able to add two GPUs at x16. That said, I don't think GPU rendering really saturates GPU lanes, so x8 might be fine. Decisions

ZMT watercool setup -- Phanteks Enthoo Elite -- hwlabs gtr 420 x 2 -- -- xspc tx360 crossflow -- noctua A14 PWM x9 -- 9900x -- x299 TUF Mk1
Corsair Hydro X XC9 -- 64gb 3200 tridentZ Royal CL14 -- AX1500i -- 2x 7600p on hyper m.2 VROC 4TB -- EK ZMT Tubing -- Ek Fittings -- dual Aorus Waterforce xtreme 2080ti -- asus PG279UZ monitors x3 7680x1440 surround
Bertha5.5
(21 items)
CPU
9900x
Motherboard
X2399 TUF Mk1
GPU
Aorus 2080ti Waterforce Xtreme
GPU
Aorus 2080ti Waterforce Xtreme
RAM
TridentZ Royal 3200 CL14
Hard Drive
VROC 7600P x2
Power Supply
Ax1500i
Cooling
HWL GTR 420 x2
Cooling
XSPC TX360 Crossflow
Cooling
EK ZMT 10/16
Cooling
Corsair XC9
Cooling
Corsair XD5
Cooling
EK 10/16 Fittings
Cooling
Noctua A14 PWM x9
Cooling
Noctua NF-P12 PWM redux x3
Case
Enthoo Elite
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64
Monitor
Asus PG279QZ x3
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Corsair Nightsword
Mousepad
Corsair MM800
▲ hide details ▲
KCDC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7832 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-19-2019, 02:43 PM
Wandering & Wondering
 
djgar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: NYC
Posts: 2,490
Rep: 64 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by KCDC View Post
I'm still holding onto my 6900k and strix x99 board for a render node. The cpu doesn't get above 4.4 without going past 1.4v, so I may take advantage of my tuning plan warranty and send it in, maybe get a better chip. Or might be a worse chip...

Or sell it and get a 9900k, but then I wouldn't be able to add two GPUs at x16. That said, I don't think GPU rendering really saturates GPU lanes, so x8 might be fine. Decisions
Same CPU and MB here. I'm OC'd to 4600 but I don't stress it much nowadays .

Strix X99 Gaming, 6900K @4.600GHz, 32GB (4x8) G Skill F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR, XSPC Raystorm 2x RX360 L-Cooler
24x7: 100 Strap adptv: 46 mult, 100 BCLK, 3.6GHz 36x NB, [email protected] 14-14-13-32-1T, 1.41v DRAM,
vcore 1.395 turbo, vcache [email protected] offset, vccsa [email protected] offset, vccin 1.8, vccio 1.05, LLC +6
BIOS 2101, Win 10 Pro x64 1903
djgar is offline  
post #7833 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 05:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wonderin17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ukraine, Odesa
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
Need help in understanding adaptive voltage.

I have my cpu oc'ed, and now I guess i should (?) adjust adaptive voltage.

When I change voltage to adaptive in bios, the VCCSA field disappears and there's only SA Offset left.
How should I adjust it so I'll get the value I want?

And should I overall use adaptive voltage as a must?
wonderin17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7834 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 142
Rep: 15 (Unique: 11)
Adaptive voltage is neat if you want additional power-savings in idle, but it's in no way a must.

For VCCSA you will have to see where its default value ranges at, then add the offset on top of that. You could read out the default value with HWiNFO and monitor accordingly.
Usually default is ~0.9V.
AndiWandi is offline  
post #7835 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 06:50 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8,084
Rep: 91 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by AndiWandi View Post
Adaptive voltage is neat if you want additional power-savings in idle, but it's in no way a must.

For VCCSA you will have to see where its default value ranges at, then add the offset on top of that. You could read out the default value with HWiNFO and monitor accordingly.
Usually default is ~0.9V.
Hi,
Yeah you'd have to go back several pages to see voltages used mostly on auto
https://www.overclock.net/forum/27830206-post7756.html

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is online now  
post #7836 of 8060 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 07:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wonderin17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Ukraine, Odesa
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by AndiWandi View Post
Adaptive voltage is neat if you want additional power-savings in idle, but it's in no way a must.

For VCCSA you will have to see where its default value ranges at, then add the offset on top of that. You could read out the default value with HWiNFO and monitor accordingly.
Usually default is ~0.9V.
Well, if manual vcore does no harm to cpu, I guess I'll stick with it
wonderin17 is offline  
post #7837 of 8060 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 05:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,181
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
I haven't seen much regarding Broadwell-E longevity at various voltage levels, not anything more reliable than one off anecdotes anyway.

I did deliberately try to kill one of my worst clocking 6800Ks with excessive cache and VCCU (I mined XMR on it for two months with 1.45v cache and +500mV VCCU), but it proved amazingly durable. It was a very low leakage sample though (high stock VID and stayed relatively cool even at high volts).

Conservatively, I'd think 1.2v cache and +100mV VCCU would probably safe 24/7, even under protracted heavy use. For the more adventurous 1.3v cache and as much as +250mV VCCU might be acceptable. Again though, I haven't had enough samples nor done enough testing over a long enough period of time for any of that to be taken as gospel.

When you say +100mv for Vccu what is that in real absolute terms or values? Reason I ask is I can’t tell if my board is over volting it or not..


Thanks

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #7838 of 8060 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 10:17 PM
Iconoclast
 
Blameless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 30,086
Rep: 3135 (Unique: 1869)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
When you say +100mv for Vccu what is that in real absolute terms or values? Reason I ask is I can’t tell if my board is over volting it or not..
I've only seen VccU listed as an offset. The default is zero. If you think your board might be overvolting it on auto, manually set a very low offset (+ or - a single millivolt, for example) and see if any instability is introduced. If so, gradually increase the offset until issues abate.

...rightful liberty is unobstructed action according to our will within limits drawn around us by the equal rights of others. I do not add 'within the limits of the law,' because law is often but the tyrant's will, and always so when it violates the right of an individual. -- Thomas Jefferson
Blameless is offline  
post #7839 of 8060 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 06:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,181
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by Blameless View Post
I've only seen VccU listed as an offset. The default is zero. If you think your board might be overvolting it on auto, manually set a very low offset (+ or - a single millivolt, for example) and see if any instability is introduced. If so, gradually increase the offset until issues abate.
On my MSI X99A board it doesn't display what the current values are but on the info sidebar to the right it says the default is 1.0v. Anyhow it lets you dial it in either with an offset or directly though setting offset mode also makes SA voltage control an offset which its a direct 1.2 volts as of now. I suppose I'll have to change that to 0.200 to get 1.2 volts for SA. Not sure if I'll mess with Vccu as it feels stable right now. Running 3200mhz Corsair Dominators with XMP on without a hiccup. Thanks.

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #7840 of 8060 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 06:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,036
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Wondering if someone could help me understand whats happening. I have a RVE10, I've had it since very shortly after launch, a month ago one of my USB3 ports died on the board and now just 2 days ago one of my sata ports died. I have booted with bios defaults just incase it was something I messed up in bios and it didn't fix the issue so it seems clear my board is slowly dying. My question is, is this just hardware failing? Or is there one of the voltages that could have fried it ?

Lastly if it does completely die, is it worth trying to get my hands on another x99 board to salvage the system or just moving to z390 and a 9900k ?

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off