Kaby Lake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics] - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Kaby Lake Overclocking Guide [With Statistics]

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 01:21 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,401
Rep: 417 (Unique: 271)

Something funny happened to me today. Running 7600k on z170 Asus Hero.

 

At 100.9 bclk x 52 core mult everything looked normal.

At 101.0 bclk x 52 core temps go up 40C. The same applies to 100 x 53, so it's not the bclk. 

I've never seen anything like this before. In the picture below it was 100.8 bclk on the left, forgot to take picture of 100.9.

 

BoredErica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 01:53 AM
Overclocked
 
scracy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 2,003
Rep: 116 (Unique: 83)
I didn't know kaby-lake has a quad channnel memory controller?

ROG Maximus X Formula, Intel Core [email protected]/4.8Ghz Cache 1.344V (OCCT Load) (OCCT Stable), Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition [email protected], EVGA GTX1070 SLI, Samsung 960 Pro x2 (Raid 0) (O/S), Samsung 850 Pro x4 (Raid 0) (Data)
ROG THOR 850W PSU, EK Custom Loop 2x PE-360 Radiators, Corsair ML120 Pro Fans, Phanteks Evolv X, Creative Soundblaster Z, Woo Audio WA7D, Sennheiser HD660S, ROG PG279Q 2560x1440 165Hz IPS Monitor, Windows 10 Pro Build 1809.
scracy is offline  
post #13 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 02:04 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,401
Rep: 417 (Unique: 271)
Quote:
Originally Posted by scracy View Post

I didn't know kaby-lake has a quad channnel memory controller?

Did I say it did? I don't recall saying that. I believe it still dual channel.

BoredErica is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 02:07 AM
Overclocked
 
scracy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Cyberspace
Posts: 2,003
Rep: 116 (Unique: 83)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

Did I say it did? I don't recall saying that. I believe it still dual channel.
Maybe i read your opening post wrong...my bad

ROG Maximus X Formula, Intel Core [email protected]/4.8Ghz Cache 1.344V (OCCT Load) (OCCT Stable), Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG Edition [email protected], EVGA GTX1070 SLI, Samsung 960 Pro x2 (Raid 0) (O/S), Samsung 850 Pro x4 (Raid 0) (Data)
ROG THOR 850W PSU, EK Custom Loop 2x PE-360 Radiators, Corsair ML120 Pro Fans, Phanteks Evolv X, Creative Soundblaster Z, Woo Audio WA7D, Sennheiser HD660S, ROG PG279Q 2560x1440 165Hz IPS Monitor, Windows 10 Pro Build 1809.
scracy is offline  
post #15 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 02:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
misoonigiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 732
Rep: 55 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

Something funny happened to me today. Running 7600k on z170 Asus Hero.

At 100.9 bclk x 52 core mult everything looked normal.
At 101.0 bclk x 52 core temps go up 40C. The same applies to 100 x 53, so it's not the bclk. 


I've never seen anything like this before. In the picture below it was 100.8 bclk on the left, forgot to take picture of 100.9.
VTT, VCCPrim_1.0 and especially CPU PLLs OC seemed to have jumped up

miso-o
(10 items)
CPU
6700k
Motherboard
Z170 Hero
GPU
980Ti Classy
RAM
TridentZ 8GB x2
Hard Drive
850 Evo 250GB
Power Supply
X-750
Cooling
D15S
Case
730T
Operating System
Win10 x64
Monitor
PG348Q
▲ hide details ▲
misoonigiri is offline  
post #16 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
M'aiq the Liar
 
BoredErica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bay Area, California, USA
Posts: 7,401
Rep: 417 (Unique: 271)
Quote:
Originally Posted by misoonigiri View Post


VTT, VCCPrim_1.0 and especially CPU PLLs OC seemed to have jumped up

Right, I will look at that stuff tomorrow.

 

For now I just hope I didn't harm anything (I thought I ran it stressing at 5.25 today...) Although honestly, yesterday from waking up to check on stress testing, the entire day has been a blur. I have a hard time recalling what frequencies I even tested, thankfully I wrote most of it down in a txt file... Will have to get a grip. :D

 

Okay, can I pass 5.2ghz now pls.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scracy View Post


Maybe i read your opening post wrong...my bad

I said the enthusiast platform has quad channel memory controller, meaning not Kaby Lake (which is mainstream). Maybe that was the line you were reading (2nd spoiler).

BoredErica is offline  
post #17 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 05:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ParanoidZoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 36
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

It would be, yes. But I'm not sure if I want to do that. The requirements were set with no avx offset in mind. If somebody made an offset it would allow them to pass an overclock that I do not consider to be stable.

What if it's like this: I currently own a chip that can do 5.1GHz on Realbench for 8 hrs (don't have a picture for this one since I was recently RAM overclocking and corrupted Windows and my last backup didn't have this screenshot) and Prime 26.6 for 9 hours (voltages aren't showing I apologise). However, if I want to be fully rock solid stable with something like Prime95 28.10 Blend or IBT with 80% memory use, I have to downclock to 4.9GHz (achieved with AVX offset). Furthermore, even with AVX offset my average clock in HWiNFO64 with Realbench at load is still closer to my non-AVX offset frequency at 5,075MHz. It is still considered functionally stable under your guidelines to be charted, but if or when I need the extra 100% stability, I can use the offset to help me achieve that goal. So, is it still not stable then?

ParanoidZoid is offline  
post #18 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 01:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
TomcatV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Reno
Posts: 1,061
Rep: 170 (Unique: 126)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkwizzie View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanoidZoid View Post

Would it be possible to add another column in the GDoc to address the ability to set an AVX Multiplier offset for these Kaby Lake CPUs?
It would be, yes. But I'm not sure if I want to do that. The requirements were set with no avx offset in mind. If somebody made an offset it would allow them to pass an overclock that I do not consider to be stable.

+R for your concise AVX/Cache clock explanations AND continuing your fine overclocking guides! thumb.gif ... BUT I have to disagree with NOT expanding the Benchmark to include the AVX bios downclock category! It is quite the improvement in the new Z270 bios' and makes complete sense, and Top-Overclockers agree! I know it's a Pi? But these offsets are even being included in top overclocker profiles like der8auer and popular Asus OC profiles, Raja is heavily promoting it in THIS thread etc etc ... just saying you will eventually want to do it, so might as well get started on it now as IMHO it will be a never ending request redface.gif
TomcatV is offline  
post #19 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 05:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
happycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I wanted a stable everyday OC. With [email protected] I was getting acceptable temps during stress testing, average high 70's with the occasional spike to the low 80's.

Username: happycat
CPU Model: i7 7700k
Base Clock: 100
Core Multiplier: 49
Core Frequency: 4.9
Cache Frequency: 4.5
Vcore in UEFI: 1.3
Vcore: 1.284
FCLK: 1
Cooling Solution: Noctua NH-D15
Stability Test: Realbench 8hrs

Batch Number: Malaysia L641G188
Ram Speed: 3200 16-18-18-38
VCCIO: Auto
VCCSA: Auto
Ram Voltage: 1.35
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z170XP-SLI
LLC Setting: High
Misc Comments: Speed Step and all C States enabled


happycat is offline  
post #20 of 5012 (permalink) Old 01-22-2017, 07:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
done12many2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Virginia
Posts: 784
Rep: 75 (Unique: 41)
Out of general curiosity, why do the stability requirements differ between the Skylake thread and the Kaby Lake thread?

It seems that stability requirements have doubled for Kaby Lake in some test with all test requiring longer runs across the board. Would this not skew statistics and more importantly average clock speeds reported when comparing the two families?


Skylake stability requirements


Kaby Lake stability requirements

done12many2 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off