Intel Core i7-6800K Overclocking troubles - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Intel Core i7-6800K Overclocking troubles

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 04:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Hello, everyone!
I have just built my first PC, and I wanted to overclock the CPU, but so far no luck.
I am a complete newbie when it comes to overclocking and I have no idea what I'm doing, I mostly followed youtube videos and online tutorials.
I tried to overclock the i7 6800K to 4.2Ghz and 1.3 voltage, it run stable for 5-6 hours but as soon I started playing overwatch it went blue screen.
The second time I tried to use the settings from this YouTube video: https://youtu.be/ZZEl21JpXSo 4.2 Ghz and 1.299 voltage and other custom settings, no luck this time also.
I tried at 4.1 Ghz and 1.225voltage and still no luck, 4.2Ghz and 1.35 and it was the same story, looks like I got the CPU from a bad bin or I totally have no idea what I am doing.

My Specs are:

CPU: Intel Core i7-6800K
MOBO: MSI X99A GAMING 7
COOLING: NZXT Kraken X62
RAM: DDR4 Corsair VENGEANCE LED 32GB (4x8) 2666MHz
GPU: MSI GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
SSD: Samsung 960 PRO 512GB
HDD: WD Black 2Tb
PSU: Corsair RM850i
and a Dark Base Pro 900 Case from be quiet! (if that matters).

I really hope that someone will be able to help me.
I did few benchmarks but that told me nothing
And I did a stress test using Prime95 and all it told me that there was a fatal error but not why or I just can't understand what it want's.


I kindly ask for your help!
Thanks.
Varcan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 05:25 AM
Overclocked
 
HeadlessKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,848
Rep: 326 (Unique: 248)
Welcome to OCN.

First I advice to run the RAM at stock settings with no XMP enabled and keep the cache at stock and start step by step.
Start the core from 4 GHz (100x40) and put CPU Voltage at 1.2.

If you got BSOD 0x124 or system frooze that usually means you need more Vcore, (try to not go above 1.40V). If that didn't work it means you either reached a wall or your CPU needs more VCCIN/VRIN/ Input Voltage (Max 1.95). The usual BSOD if the VCCIN is too low is 0x101. You might also want to adjust Vdroop to increase stability (Please note this can reduce the life span of the CPU if aggressive level has been selected).

I advice using Asus Realbench and/or custom x264 for stress testing.

RealBench
http://dlcdnmkt.asus.com/rog/RealBench_v2.54RC1.zip?_ga=1.198386863.1687831461.1490305449

Custom x264 stress test.
https://mega.nz/#!ywAFDQQQ!hEQCeRXDKpHoeRYEaspux3ZA9Smx6tp8h0leb7ZHdJo

Desktop
(19 items)
Laptop
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960X @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4) DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 950 PRO NVMe 512GB
Hard Drive
WD BLACK 6TB 256MB CACHE (WD6003FZBX)
Hard Drive
WD GOLD 2TB 128MB CACHE (WD2005FBYZ)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Monitor
Sony XBR43X800D 43" 4K TV
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spark + Razer Turret
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum + Razer Turret
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX II
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ @ 2.60 GHz
Motherboard
Asus G751JY
GPU
Asus GTX 980M 4GB
RAM
SK hynix HMT41GS6BFR8A-PB 16GB (2x8) DDR3L-1600
Hard Drive
SanDisk SD7SB3Q128G1002
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB
Optical Drive
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GUC0N
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
LG Philips LP173WF4-SPD1 + G-SYNC @ 75 Hz
Audio
Realtek ALC668
▲ hide details ▲


HeadlessKnight is offline  
post #3 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Thank you for your fast response!

The RAM that I have is 2666 MHz but my MOBO stock settings are 2133 MHz, should I change it to my RAM frequency or keep it as the MOBO suggest?
I did not enable XMP.
Varcan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 08:37 AM
Overclocked
 
HeadlessKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,848
Rep: 326 (Unique: 248)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varcan View Post

Thank you for your fast response!

The RAM that I have is 2666 MHz but my MOBO stock settings are 2133 MHz, should I change it to my RAM frequency or keep it as the MOBO suggest?
I did not enable XMP.

Keep it at 2133 MHz atm to rule out the reason behind BSOD.

We need as less variables as possible to get things under control.

I suggest to start the core from 4 GHz and stress test with realbench/ x264 and conservative vcore setting like 1.2 Vcore and 1.8 Vccin.

Desktop
(19 items)
Laptop
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960X @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4) DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 950 PRO NVMe 512GB
Hard Drive
WD BLACK 6TB 256MB CACHE (WD6003FZBX)
Hard Drive
WD GOLD 2TB 128MB CACHE (WD2005FBYZ)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Monitor
Sony XBR43X800D 43" 4K TV
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spark + Razer Turret
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum + Razer Turret
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX II
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ @ 2.60 GHz
Motherboard
Asus G751JY
GPU
Asus GTX 980M 4GB
RAM
SK hynix HMT41GS6BFR8A-PB 16GB (2x8) DDR3L-1600
Hard Drive
SanDisk SD7SB3Q128G1002
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB
Optical Drive
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GUC0N
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
LG Philips LP173WF4-SPD1 + G-SYNC @ 75 Hz
Audio
Realtek ALC668
▲ hide details ▲


HeadlessKnight is offline  
post #5 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 08:43 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,012
Rep: 339 (Unique: 240)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varcan View Post

Good summary, look up an OC guide or use common sense. Don't use values found somewhere on the net, that's just plain stupid if you do not know what you're doing.

You can find guides on OCN, AVC and HEVC stress tester is in my signature, the AVC/H264 has been used on OCN for validating overclocks for years.

If I were you, I would return the 6800K + mobo + liquid cooler + 4x8 RAM and get an R7 1700 + AM4 B350 mobo + 2x16 RAM, just my 2 cents.
JackCY is offline  
post #6 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post

Good summary, look up an OC guide or use common sense. Don't use values found somewhere on the net, that's just plain stupid if you do not know what you're doing.

You can find guides on OCN, AVC and HEVC stress tester is in my signature, the AVC/H264 has been used on OCN for validating overclocks for years.

If I were you, I would return the 6800K + mobo + liquid cooler + 4x8 RAM and get an R7 1700 + AM4 B350 mobo + 2x16 RAM, just my 2 cents.

Can't really return it, got the PC for my job, all was bought by my employer.
Varcan is offline  
post #7 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadlessKnight View Post

Keep it at 2133 MHz atm to rule out the reason behind BSOD.

We need as less variables as possible to get things under control.

I suggest to start the core from 4 GHz and stress test with realbench/ x264 and conservative vcore setting like 1.2 Vcore and 1.8 Vccin.

Will try that and post the results.
Thank you!
Varcan is offline  
post #8 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadlessKnight View Post


I advice using Asus Realbench and/or custom x264 for stress testing.

RealBench
http://dlcdnmkt.asus.com/rog/RealBench_v2.54RC1.zip?_ga=1.198386863.1687831461.1490305449

I was able to download the RealBench, but the file is corrupted.
Varcan is offline  
post #9 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 09:27 AM
Overclocked
 
HeadlessKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,848
Rep: 326 (Unique: 248)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Varcan View Post

I was able to download the RealBench, but the file is corrupted.

Sorry. Broken link...

Download it from here :

https://rog.asus.com/rog-pro/realbench-v2-leaderboard/

Also since that is a work PC please note sometimes unstable overclock or getting BSODs can corrupt system files.

Desktop
(19 items)
Laptop
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-5960X @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Extreme/U3.1
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
GPU
Zotac RTX 2080 Ti AMP Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4x4) DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 850 PRO 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG 950 PRO NVMe 512GB
Hard Drive
WD BLACK 6TB 256MB CACHE (WD6003FZBX)
Hard Drive
WD GOLD 2TB 128MB CACHE (WD2005FBYZ)
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G3
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X62
Case
Corsair Graphite 760T Black
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator X27
Monitor
Sony XBR43X800D 43" 4K TV
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion Spark + Razer Turret
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum + Razer Turret
Mouse
Razer Goliathus
Audio
Asus Xonar Essence STX II
CPU
Intel Core i7-4720HQ @ 2.60 GHz
Motherboard
Asus G751JY
GPU
Asus GTX 980M 4GB
RAM
SK hynix HMT41GS6BFR8A-PB 16GB (2x8) DDR3L-1600
Hard Drive
SanDisk SD7SB3Q128G1002
Hard Drive
HGST Travelstar 7K1000 1TB
Optical Drive
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GUC0N
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64-bit
Monitor
LG Philips LP173WF4-SPD1 + G-SYNC @ 75 Hz
Audio
Realtek ALC668
▲ hide details ▲


HeadlessKnight is offline  
post #10 of 73 (permalink) Old 03-24-2017, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Varcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadlessKnight View Post

Keep it at 2133 MHz atm to rule out the reason behind BSOD.

We need as less variables as possible to get things under control.

I suggest to start the core from 4 GHz and stress test with realbench/ x264 and conservative vcore setting like 1.2 Vcore and 1.8 Vccin.

So, I used those settings and the PC would go straight to BSOD, the BIOS was freezing and couple of times the PC would not even boot, something here is not right,
maybe I have fried something when I was using settings from the internet. I really have no idea what the hell I am suppose to do and what settings to change.
I managed to restore to optimal settings and after few tries the PC booted up, I am getting worried.

This are the settings that i used, following your directions:|



Thank you.
Varcan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off