Dell Precision T3500 Gaming upgrades? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Dell Precision T3500 Gaming upgrades?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-28-2017, 11:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gmoore6550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I bought a Dell Precision T3500 for hopefully gaming it has the Xeon w3520 and 8 gbs of ram currently, i will be getting the max of 24gbs of ram in the future, but my question is what are the best upgrades for this computer for gaming,

Thanks in adavance
gmoore6550 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-04-2017, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,240
Rep: 18 (Unique: 17)
Hi, I don't think your see any vast improvements or any difference going to 24gb of ram, I would say 16 maximum for gaming is plentiful. In terms of performance what graphics card are you using? I'm sure there is where your see the biggest increase, and possibly an SSD as well will help with loading times.

Currently Playing PC: PUBG / Killing Floor 2 / Football Manager 2018 / Counter-Strike: GO

Home Desktop - ThermalTake Versa N27 Case - AMD Ryzen 1600X - 16gb Corsair DDR4 2666mhz Ram - Nvidia GTX 770 - 120GB SSD/240GB SSD/3x1TB HDD - OCZ 700w PSU
Laptop - Lenovo X230 - Intel i5 3320m / 8gb DDR3 Ram 1600mhz / Intel HD4000 / 128GB mSata SSD / 500GB Hard Drive / Windows 10 Professional / 12.5" Display
Rebellion88 is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-06-2017, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gmoore6550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I all ready have an ssd but its only a 256gb,
The graphics card is the Dell Nvidia GeForce GTX 745 GTX745 4GB GDDR3 PCIe Video Graphics Card TC2P0.
Would the Intel Xeon W3670 3.2GHz Six Core be a decent improvement? (Over the stock 4 core 2.XXghz processor)?
gmoore6550 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-06-2017, 09:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bit_reaper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Finland
Posts: 6,238
Rep: 439 (Unique: 336)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gmoore6550 View Post

I all ready have an ssd but its only a 256gb,
The graphics card is the Dell Nvidia GeForce GTX 745 GTX745 4GB GDDR3 PCIe Video Graphics Card TC2P0.
Would the Intel Xeon W3670 3.2GHz Six Core be a decent improvement? (Over the stock 4 core 2.XXghz processor)?

Not an bad upgraded but in therms of gaming the GPU is by far the thing that is holding you back the most.

Issue is that Dell does not use standard ATX PSU's and even their 800W PSU's do not have that much power for the PCI-E aux power cords (there power is meant for dual socket setups).

So your challenge will be to find something with decent speed while saying withing a limited power restrictions.

Perhaps something like an GTX 1060 would work.

The XFX 4890 post 2 year reference cooler fan bearing service
NZXT Tempest Community
[Worklog] NZXT Tempest eats a 360 rad (hopefully)
Quote:
Originally Posted by adjas go_quote.gif

you under-estimate the power of e-peen, you'll whither and waiver to it's power, and finally succumb.
Bow to e-peen and buy.
Bit_reaper is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-17-2017, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gmoore6550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
have you heard of that xeon processor being sluggish or jumpy when gaming? The Xeon w3670?
gmoore6550 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-28-2017, 05:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
imodfrenzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Sorry to kinda necro post but anyway,

I have a Dell T3500 with:
Xeon x5650 6 Core 12threads 2.66ghz
22gb ram(I can go to 48gb, maybe even higher since the RAM Controller is on the CPU, the RAM limit is 228gigs)
GTX 960
EVGA 500W 80B PSU

The PSU is a standard ATX psu, I threw my EVGA in no problem. I just needed to remove the motherboard to do so since Dell wires the CPU cable beneath the motherboard. This isn't a hard or overwhelming task, just remove the cooling fans, then the motherboard screws(and whatever else holds it down). Install the PSU then the Motherboard.


Above is me using the EVGA PSU, beware the CPU pin is a 8 pin so you'll need a better PSU than your average case one. Corsair and EVGA are what I trust, but if it has a 8 pin and you trust it, go for it.

The X5650 is probably the best budget CPU for the money. You'll get way more performance with it. Every game I play loves it. Mine was 30$ and benchmarks very similar to current i7 4000-6000 series processors(certain, but I forget which) and like I mentioned, removes the 24gb barrier allowing you 8gb sticks or higher possibly. Also make sure you have the copper heatsink revision for your CPU. Temperatures will be way higher with the old version(or at least that is reported). The heatsink is model U016f.

RAM was an absolute nightmare for me(ended up buying and returning ram twice, and I'm still stuck at 22gb). Buffered RAM is not liked by the T3500. Higher rank memory is also disliked(ex. 2Rx8), pretty sure 2Rx4 is the best way to go. But my tests aren't finished yet.

The GTX 1050 doesn't use external power(it does depend on the manufacture), so you could just run it off the native Dell PSU I believe. Even at most the 1050 would just need a 6 pin, which a Dell T3500 PSU has(if not molex to 6 pin works)




Here's a finished picture above:)

Hope this helps!
imodfrenzy is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 04-30-2017, 06:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
gmoore6550's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 54
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
ok thanks ill take that into consideration
gmoore6550 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 05-04-2018, 09:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I just recently installed an X5690 Xeon in my T3500. So from what your saying is that I could go to 48 or 96 gbs of ddr3 without any issue?
CyberWolf2077 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-31-2020, 02:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Good advice

did u have any special steps when installing the 5690 cpu
sargep1 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off