How To : Overclocking Dual Xeon Dell Precision T7500 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How To : Overclocking Dual Xeon Dell Precision T7500

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-27-2018, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
I came across something that might be of interest to you. I heard about a couple of unlocked 4 core Xeons W3570,W3580 which are single CPU. But I was finding rumors that the 2xCPU equals were unlocked also. W5580,W5590. I did find a confirmation of this at CPUZ. At the top of the chart no less is a 42X133 OC of the W5580.
http://valid.x86.fr/top-cpu/496e7465...332e323047487a
I've seen these for as little as $20 ea.
The Throttlestop method allows overclocking these easily. AFAIK no one has tried a 2xCPU OC with it. But it does support 12 threads in the readouts so 2xCPU w/o HT should be "possible". Unfortunately these CPUs only allow control of current/power limits ( TPL/TDC/TDP). They seem to allow OC only up to the Intel max. VID. A VRM hardmod will probably be needed to get beyond that. Here's a thread I started at TPU to create a resource for this OC method.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...op-pcs.235975/
If you try this could you share your experience there, good or bad is still useful. The developer of TS participates there.
Posting at userbenchmark.com documents the relative performance gains vs. other T7500s.
http://www.userbenchmark.com/System/...ion-T7500/4566
Even with the VID limit W3680 has gone 4.266 GHz at userbenchmark.com.
BTW HWBOT has 2xCPU overclocks in it's charts. EVGA Classified SR2 is the aftermarket 2xCPU OC motherboard. So there are comparables out there.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1

Last edited by Retrorockit; 02-27-2018 at 06:41 AM.
Retrorockit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-27-2018, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Quote: Originally Posted by Retrorockit View Post
I came across something that might be of interest to you. I heard about a couple of unlocked 4 core Xeons W3570,W3580 which are single CPU. But I was finding rumors that the 2xCPU equals were unlocked also. W5580,W5590. I did find a confirmation of this at CPUZ. At the top of the chart no less is a 42X133 OC of the W5580.
http://valid.x86.fr/top-cpu/496e7465...332e323047487a
I've seen these for as little as $20 ea.
The Throttlestop method allows overclocking these easily. AFAIK no one has tried a 2xCPU OC with it. But it does support 12 threads in the readouts so 2xCPU w/o HT should be "possible". Unfortunately these CPUs only allow control of current/power limits ( TPL/TDC/TDP). They seem to allow OC only up to the Intel max. VID. A VRM hardmod will probably be needed to get beyond that. Here's a thread I started at TPU to create a resource for this OC method.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...op-pcs.235975/
If you try this could you share your experience there, good or bad is still useful. The developer of TS participates there.
Posting at userbenchmark.com documents the relative performance gains vs. other T7500s.
http://www.userbenchmark.com/System/...ion-T7500/4566
Even with the VID limit W3680 has gone 4.266 GHz at userbenchmark.com.
BTW HWBOT has 2xCPU overclocks in it's charts. EVGA Classified SR2 is the aftermarket 2xCPU OC motherboard. So there are comparables out there.
Thanks man yeah I think it would be cool to have 2x X5690 but they cost like $350 for a pair when my Dual X5675 was $84

It would be neat to get some Quad Cores up to 4Ghz for gaming... Because I'm CPU Core Clock Limited

$50 x5650 x2 = 3129mhz max 95w x 2 = 190w
$84 x5675 x2 = 3563mhz max 95w x 2 = 190w
$128 x5680 x2 = 3672mhz max 130w x 2 = 260w
$350 x5690 x2 = 3808mhz max 130w x 2 = 260w
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1504.multi.108.single.dual.xeon.x5675.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	134.3 KB
ID:	96833  


Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore
chris89 is offline  
post #13 of 34 (permalink) Old 02-27-2018, 09:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
Those weren't the expensive 6 cores. The numbers I gave were the very inexpensive unlocked Nehalem Xeons. 2x4 core ,16 thread .
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Intel-Xeon-...236?rmvSB=true

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-22-2018, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
Someone tested the W5590 and it wasn't unlocked. It seems they W5580 probably isn't unlocked either. I did find one at CPUZ that was running 42x133fsb. Not sure how that happened. I did see reports of unlocked ES versions. But no confirmation of that. The W5580 is scheduled to be tested soon. I'll let you know how that turns out.
http://valid.x86.fr/81teia

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #15 of 34 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 01:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
I've abandoned the T7400 because someone is buying them all up locally. All I have is a bare MB and some big heatsinks FN654. I've moved on to the T3500 X58 system, and now it looks like T5500 MB swap is going to be useful. I started a TPU thread on overclocking unlocked CPUs on locked BIOS computers and the Dell T3500 has become the favorite there. There are some photos there you might like.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...9SIAB0Z5UE1934
We even investigated some evidence of X5580 being unlocked, but it didn't pan out. A pair of X5687 would be pretty cool.

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1
Retrorockit is offline  
post #16 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-18-2018, 10:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi. this is the only thread anywhere on the internet overclocking a t7500. a few questions:
I have a t7500 on the way as a system upgrade, where i will be relegating my current system as s steambox.
anyway, to the questions:
1) What pci sata cards did you use, and did you have to disable the old ones in the bios?
2) which processors do you have?
3) is that chip on the t3500? I couldn't find it but it may be hidden under a card.
4) does fsb have to be ran on every boot manually?

If i can get this thing to overclock like this, it will affect which processors i buy for it.
Thanks for your time.
lordorwell is offline  
post #17 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-19-2018, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Retrorockit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: South Florida
Posts: 614
Rep: 28 (Unique: 13)
It's true this is probably the only T7500 overclocking thread. But you mentioned the T3500 which is a piece of cake to overclock.
I will leave overclocking the T7500 to the OP here. But will share what I know otherwise.
Here's a link to a locked BIOS overclocking method. T3500 is popular there, and various LGA1366 CPUs are discussed. Since it requires unlocked CPUs dual CPU machines aren't supported except QX9775 systems.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...op-pcs.235975/
And the Dell Workstation Owners Club.
https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/t...s-club.243124/
Regarding question 1. You might look into SAS cards also. It's a SCSI format and is full duplex unlike SATA.
Question 2. The fastest dual CPU is the Westemere EP 4C/8T X5687 3.6GHZ 3.86 turbo. ( there are some 4.4GHz dual cores, but scary expensive ES chips.)
Question 3. Multiplier OC on unlocked CPUs is the way to go for single CPU workstations.
Question 4. I'll leave that to the OP here. But I will suggest studying the RAM speed characteristics and RAM types supported on that chipset.
A. RAM speed is determined by the memory controller on the CPU and it varies.
B. RAM speed also changes with number of modules per channel. 1 per is fastest.
C. RDIMMs can be used in the dual CPU machines, but not the T3500. They're very inexpensive compared to UDIMMs. They also come in larger capacities.
5. FWIW the T5500 MB interchanges with the T3500. Dual CPU support (on a riser like the T7500) RDIMMs can save enough to pay for the MB swap.
6. If your doing an FSB overclock on LGA1366 you should study The X58 Xeon Club because you will be changing RAM speed, and QPI link timings. You also won't have much control over these settings in the locked BIOS. If you can figure out where your OC is going to take you maybe you can buy some RAM that supports the needed speeds.
https://www.overclock.net/forum/8-int...xeon-club.html
7. There is an unlocked dual CPU LGA1366 MB. The EVGA Classified SR2. It's a rare and expensive piece, but it will get you where you want to go.
http://valid.x86.fr/dfvbji The Voltage looks a little funky on that one, so here's another.
http://valid.x86.fr/c9qx12

Dell Dimension E520 [email protected]
Delta GFB1212VHG, 8GB DDR2-800
R9-285 ITX 2GB DDR5, 240GB SSD
http://valid.x86.fr/l2j5p1

Last edited by Retrorockit; 05-19-2018 at 07:17 AM.
Retrorockit is offline  
post #18 of 34 (permalink) Old 05-21-2018, 02:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
chris89's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,521
Rep: 84 (Unique: 62)
Yeah man sorry

Dell Precision T7500 : Dual Xeon X5675 @ 3.536Ghz X 24 Threads : 48 Gigabytes : Cinebench R15 : 1505 : AMD R9 390X 8GB @ 1173Mhz 1350mv 57599 Power Limit @ 1250Mhz memory error free on tight timings / since 1500mhz+ had errors galore

Last edited by chris89; 08-06-2018 at 11:14 AM.
chris89 is offline  
post #19 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-05-2018, 05:11 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Has anyone made any more headway on this? Got a t7500 with dual x5677/rx480, moved all my storage onto pcie. I can get my baseclock up to 135.7 reliably and 136.3 when im lucky. Noticed that with any change it all my multiplier only goes to x27 during benching. Is this a power issue or a dram problem you think?
MrLongbow is offline  
post #20 of 34 (permalink) Old 08-05-2018, 05:15 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I hopefully have a source for either pc3-12800 or pc3-14XXX, going to try putting some higher binned memory in and see if I get anything more out of it, will report back. Im running hynix pc3 10600 cl11 1.5v currently I believe.
MrLongbow is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off