i7 7800K @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V, looking to allow it to cool down on idle. - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i7 7800K @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V, looking to allow it to cool down on idle.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2018, 02:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
So, I managed everything from utilisation to CPU.

The fix was:

Create a new plan and put minimum CPU utilisation on minimum at 5% and max at 100%. Nothing else matters.

For some reason, it seems the basic plans don't let you do it.

Now, into my BIOS, I have 1.34V @ 5.0 Ghz, no offsets, no nothing.

C-States disabled.
Enchanced Turbo enabled.
EIST enabled.
LLC Mode 4.

I'm stuck as to what I should do now. The voltage mode seems to have many options such as Adaptive + Offset, Offset, Adaptive, etc.

I still don't understand what the offset should be. I saw my CPU pushing 1.4V in CPU-Z at max speeds. Does that mean I need to set an offset of -0.5V? -- I did just that, but the computer would just go BSOD after load, it means it's not getting enough power.

So, my current goal is to have the computer say "Okay, I see that my frequency is lower, so is my utilisation, I will only use as many volts as I need, instead of 1.34V, so this way I'll stay cooler 99% of the time."

Last edited by dandelionworker; 04-17-2018 at 02:57 PM.
dandelionworker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2018, 04:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
littledonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,482
Rep: 75 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by dandelionworker View Post
So, I managed everything from utilisation to CPU.

The fix was:

Create a new plan and put minimum CPU utilisation on minimum at 5% and max at 100%. Nothing else matters.

For some reason, it seems the basic plans don't let you do it.

Now, into my BIOS, I have 1.34V @ 5.0 Ghz, no offsets, no nothing.

C-States disabled.
Enchanced Turbo enabled.
EIST enabled.
LLC Mode 4.

I'm stuck as to what I should do now. The voltage mode seems to have many options such as Adaptive + Offset, Offset, Adaptive, etc.

I still don't understand what the offset should be. I saw my CPU pushing 1.4V in CPU-Z at max speeds. Does that mean I need to set an offset of -0.5V? -- I did just that, but the computer would just go BSOD after load, it means it's not getting enough power.

So, my current goal is to have the computer say "Okay, I see that my frequency is lower, so is my utilisation, I will only use as many volts as I need, instead of 1.34V, so this way I'll stay cooler 99% of the time."
This guy seems to have done it on the Maximus X Hero: https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...and-speedstep/

littledonny is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-22-2018, 01:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mtbiker033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,025
Rep: 375 (Unique: 336)
Quote: Originally Posted by dandelionworker View Post
So, I managed everything from utilisation to CPU.

The fix was:

Create a new plan and put minimum CPU utilisation on minimum at 5% and max at 100%. Nothing else matters.

For some reason, it seems the basic plans don't let you do it.

Now, into my BIOS, I have 1.34V @ 5.0 Ghz, no offsets, no nothing.

C-States disabled.
Enchanced Turbo enabled.
EIST enabled.
LLC Mode 4.

I'm stuck as to what I should do now. The voltage mode seems to have many options such as Adaptive + Offset, Offset, Adaptive, etc.

I still don't understand what the offset should be. I saw my CPU pushing 1.4V in CPU-Z at max speeds. Does that mean I need to set an offset of -0.5V? -- I did just that, but the computer would just go BSOD after load, it means it's not getting enough power.

So, my current goal is to have the computer say "Okay, I see that my frequency is lower, so is my utilisation, I will only use as many volts as I need, instead of 1.34V, so this way I'll stay cooler 99% of the time."
I had an offset OC going with -40 and it was working fine but after a couple of days I noticed that my vcore was higher than it was before...strange same -40 offset...then it was lower than normal so I kept bumping it up, -30, -20, -10 and by that time I knew what I wanted my vcore to be for the benching/stressing I was doing so I went to fixed and it's been solid ever since.

12 Pack
(16 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
GPU
1080ti FE
RAM
GSkill Sniper X
Hard Drive
WD Black M.2
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Dimas Tech Easy V3
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Ultimate
Mouse
Mionix NAOS 7000
CPU
R5 2600
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Gaming K4
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
Samsung 970EVO M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860EVO
Optical Drive
LG DVD burner
Power Supply
Corsair TX850
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Silverstone Raven RV02
Operating System
Win10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung PX2370
Keyboard
Saitek cyborg
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix
▲ hide details ▲
mtbiker033 is offline  
Reply

Tags
5.0 , 8700k , c-state , voltage

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off