i7 7800K @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V, looking to allow it to cool down on idle. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i7 7800K @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V, looking to allow it to cool down on idle.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
i7 7800K @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V, looking to allow it to cool down on idle.

Hey!

My setup is as follows:

MSI z370

i7 7800k @ 5.0Ghz + 1.34V

GTX 1080 Ti @ 2000Mhz, 11800Mhz mem, 11gb, 352bit

16GB Ram DDR4 @ 3000Mhz

250GB SSD + 1TB HDD

PSU: Super Flower Leader II Gold 650W

You can see what I'm seeing here (same interface, same MOBO, same CPU):

The problem I'm having right now is:

My PC is always running at 5.0Ghz and 1.34V, no matter what. The idle temps are ~37C with an Aurlaflow 240 Water Cooler. This is quite high, but on the other hand, there's no need for the processor to run this high / hot / fast for no reason.

So I messed with some settings:

1) EIST on.

2) C-States on.

3) C-States Level: Auto

4) Enchanced Turbo: On.

I repeat, my voltage is manually set, with everything else being on auto.

Now for the weird part:

I made sure that both "Balanced" and "High Performance" have the very same settings in the UI. Yet, when I enabled "Balanced", it allows the CPU to down-clock, but not the voltage.

But they're the same.

What should I do here? Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers.
dandelionworker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 11:53 AM
Not New to OCN
 
100cotton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 1,735
Rep: 92 (Unique: 86)
A manually set voltage won't change at all. Set the voltage to offset mode in the BIOS and adjust the offset + or - as needed to get the same voltage you found through manual settings while under load.

My System
(19 items)
CPU
i7 5820k - 4.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI X99S Sli Plus
GPU
PNY GTX 1080
RAM
G.Skill 4x4GB DDR4 3000Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB x2 - Raid 1
Power Supply
Corsair HX750
Cooling
EKWB A240G
Case
Cooler Master 690 ii Advanced
Operating System
Win7 x64
Monitor
DELL S2716DG 27"
Monitor
Asus VH226H 21.5"
Monitor
Asus VH226H 21.5"
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Core RGB
Audio
Gamecon 780 Headset
Audio
Corsair SP2500 2.1
Other
Mount It! Triple Monitor Stand
Other
Rosewill RNX-N150PCe Wireless Card
▲ hide details ▲


100cotton is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 100cotton View Post
A manually set voltage won't change at all. Set the voltage to offset mode in the BIOS and adjust the offset + or - as needed to get the same voltage you found through manual settings while under load.
What offset am I looking at, having found that it works well @1.34V?

Also, another issue, when I set the minimum CPU utilisation in the power plan, it allows me to down-clock (so it doesn't stay at 5.0Ghz anymore), but it doesn't pick up on the fact that it needs to utilize 100% of the power and stays stuck at 12% in Cinebench or any other test. Any ideas?

^ Fixed: Created a new, identical plan and used that. It seems that the default plans REALLY have some defaults. Now it stays at ~1-2Ghz, whenever and it goes to 5.0Ghz + 100% utilization when it needs to.
dandelionworker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 12:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mtbiker033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,025
Rep: 375 (Unique: 336)
what you could do is put it on offset mode, auto voltage, go into windows with cpu-z & hwinfo put a typical load on (realbench) whatever you use and see what the voltage goes to. then +/- on the offset voltage to take it to where you want it to go. example, if offset auto makes your v-core 1.376 and you want 1.34 you would do like -30 or -40 whatever works for you.

12 Pack
(16 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
GPU
1080ti FE
RAM
GSkill Sniper X
Hard Drive
WD Black M.2
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Dimas Tech Easy V3
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Ultimate
Mouse
Mionix NAOS 7000
CPU
R5 2600
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Gaming K4
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
Samsung 970EVO M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860EVO
Optical Drive
LG DVD burner
Power Supply
Corsair TX850
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Silverstone Raven RV02
Operating System
Win10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung PX2370
Keyboard
Saitek cyborg
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix
▲ hide details ▲
mtbiker033 is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mtbiker033 View Post
what you could do is put it on offset mode, auto voltage, go into windows with cpu-z & hwinfo put a typical load on (realbench) whatever you use and see what the voltage goes to. then +/- on the offset voltage to take it to where you want it to go. example, if offset auto makes your v-core 1.376 and you want 1.34 you would do like -30 or -40 whatever works for you.
Oooh, that makes sense!

Let's see.
dandelionworker is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by mtbiker033 View Post
what you could do is put it on offset mode, auto voltage, go into windows with cpu-z & hwinfo put a typical load on (realbench) whatever you use and see what the voltage goes to. then +/- on the offset voltage to take it to where you want it to go. example, if offset auto makes your v-core 1.376 and you want 1.34 you would do like -30 or -40 whatever works for you.

http://prntscr.com/j63wx4


Hey, so I tried a few settings, but so far, everything BSOD's. The "Auto" feature takes the processor to 1.4V right off the bat, then after a few seconds of idle on these settings, it crashes.

My default VID seems to be 1.280V: http://prntscr.com/j63yct
dandelionworker is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
littledonny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,452
Rep: 71 (Unique: 64)
I looked into doing this. I have a Corsair PSU that allows me to monitor input and output wattage (and thus efficiency) over time. When I let the CPU clock down at idle (with Auto voltage) the output wattage barely decreased at all - less than 10% at idle, which came out to be about a 12W improvement.

I never tried offset because I don't have confidence that I can find a configuration that is notably better than my current one. I'm not interested in tuning all the various C-states to try to shave idle watts on a system that only pulls 100W at idle as it is - and most of that seems to be due to the GPU.

I should also note I don't care how hot my CPU gets at idle as long as it doesn't spin fans up needlessly.

littledonny is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-16-2018, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mtbiker033's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8,025
Rep: 375 (Unique: 336)
Quote: Originally Posted by dandelionworker View Post
http://prntscr.com/j63wx4


Hey, so I tried a few settings, but so far, everything BSOD's. The "Auto" feature takes the processor to 1.4V right off the bat, then after a few seconds of idle on these settings, it crashes.

My default VID seems to be 1.280V: http://prntscr.com/j63yct
looking at your pic, you had a (-) offset of 10mV seems like that should have worked if auto went to 1.4, seems like it should have come out to 1.39v and you could have worked it down 10mV at a time. doing it this way worked fine for me in my case with an 8700k. I'm also an an asrock board so different platforms and different mobo manufacturers. I would try to find a thread for the motherboard you have and ask some questions in there.

edit* your thread title says 7800k but I see a Z370 motherboard so I think you meant 8700k. See if you can find a thread for your motherboard and see if anyone else had luck with offset volt settings.

12 Pack
(16 items)
CPU
8700k
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
GPU
1080ti FE
RAM
GSkill Sniper X
Hard Drive
WD Black M.2
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Dimas Tech Easy V3
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift
Keyboard
Das Keyboard Ultimate
Mouse
Mionix NAOS 7000
CPU
R5 2600
Motherboard
Asrock X470 Gaming K4
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
GPU
eVGA GTX 780 FTW Dual
RAM
Patriot Viper
Hard Drive
Samsung 970EVO M.2
Hard Drive
Samsung 860EVO
Optical Drive
LG DVD burner
Power Supply
Corsair TX850
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Silverstone Raven RV02
Operating System
Win10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung PX2370
Keyboard
Saitek cyborg
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mousepad
Mionix
▲ hide details ▲
mtbiker033 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2018, 10:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
killdano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Go into windows power settings and set it from performance to balanced. Now you will see frequency scaling.

i7 [email protected] 5.1ghz / GTX 1070 OC'd with MSI ABurner
killdano is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-17-2018, 10:52 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 10
Rep: 0
subscribed, this seems like a very interesting thread
equyst is offline  
Reply

Tags
5.0 , 8700k , c-state , voltage

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off