Intel Skulltrail D5400XS Bios Mod - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Intel Skulltrail D5400XS Bios Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 07:46 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
Intel Skulltrail D5400XS Bios Mod

Hi, I was wondering can someone help my mod my bios to enable VT-X, SSE4.1 and other features that are not able in the bios. I'm currently running (2) Xeon X5492 on an Intel D5400XS MB. The Bios can be found here.

"https://downloadcenter.intel.com/en/download/17948/BIOS-Update-XS54010J-86A" any help is appreciated.
terianx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 08:04 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
I checked on alot of sites and most of them claim that intel bios or actually ami bios but are compressed and signed by intel. Their bios file ends with .BIO extension. I tried using checkup7 suggested on one of the sites and it detected my cpu as pentium 3 and stated that i have the latest microcode revision.
terianx is offline  
post #3 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-05-2018, 09:19 PM
B10S TInk3r
HelpDatBIOS
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 437
Sorry, I tried and am unable to find proper tools or methods to safely edit this kind of BIOS like we'd normally do when editing a BIOS.
The BIOS can be dumped with Phoenixtool to look around at all the files contained inside, but what you see around the net is mostly correct.
Intel BIOS are compressed and encrypted with a signed file, so even if we edit you wouldn't be able to flash
Some things can be changed, but not a lot, with the tool mentioned below

Also, Intel Integrator Toolkit will allow you to change some settings, but none exactly regarding what you mention.
I used version 4.0.3.280, but versions 5.0.3.568 and 5.0.4.575 will open it as well by running an older version they contain internally
I can enable VT & VT-d, but it looks like both are settings that are already currently visible to you and that you can enable if you want, correct?


I did find this, that only when certain CPU's are used the VT-D/VT-x will then show up in BIOS automatically (QX9775 + e5450, probably others too but those are the ones they seemed to confirm after testing)
https://www.bios-mods.com/forum/arch...d-21770-3.html

* Edit 1 - Most issues, CPU related are probably corrected by now in newer microcodes. All the microcodes in this BIOS are 2007-2009, your CPUID 1067A has 2015 microcodes available.
I'm trying to find a way to update them for you, normal methods of course do not apply here because Intel hates it's customers

If you had a USB Flash programmer, you can easily dump (backup) your currently flashed BIOS and the modify and reprogram.
This board has socketed BIOS, so no soldering required for that type of programming or recovery etc.
That is the only way I know to easily update the CPU microcodes for this BIOS, all of the stock ones have updated 2010-2015 microcodes.

*Edit 2 -
I think I can update your microcodes! But, you will need a flash programmer, because I don't think you will be able to flash edited file.
It's best to get one now anyway for recovery purposes in case you need in the future, they only cost usually $3-6

This is older BIOS, so maybe Intel not as strict on flashing back then, you can try once I finish editing and see how it goes.
I will add file here w/ more info soon as I'm done

*Edit 3 - Here is modified BIOS, with latest Intel CPU microcodes. I am unsure if you can flash this with normal Intel methods, after mod I am unable to open in Intel tool mentioned above.
But I do not have matching ITK file for this specific "rebuild" like I did have for original file which allowed the tool to open the BIOS. Original and modified BIOS open exactly the same now in EUFITool
A few mods versions before this final one I'm linking that did not happen, I had to try a few ways before finding proper method to where it opened properly and matching same as the original.
Please flash at your own risk, it is untested and I suggest having a CH341A USB programmer before flashing, in case you need to recover.
I suggest getting one of those anyway, because it's really the best way to redo this, and may be the only way you can actually use/ flash (ie program with CH341A) this onto a BIOS chip no matter what.
I'm sure the Intel signature and encryption security stuff will stop normal Intel tools from flashing with this file.

Old left - New on right



http://www.filedropper.com/mod-updat...ltrail-xs1353p
Number of microcodes differ due to Intel combining some of the 10676 platforms in newer microcodes. Old BIOS had 0+4 separately, now in newer microcodes 0,4,7 are all in one.
Due to that one less, and how this BIOS duplicates microcodes in two volumes, it looks like two less but it's all the same only now up to date.

Last edited by HelpDatBIOS; 06-06-2018 at 03:59 AM.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
Thanks for all the help in modding the bios. You are right, cant flash with intel flash tool. Maybe i have to get the CH341A USB programmer like you said. Do you have to physically remove the bios chip to get it flash with CH341A USB programmer? Anything else i need?
terianx is offline  
post #5 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
I found this programmer "https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LJQVMMI/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_2?smid=A27T6MM00L516M&psc=1"
but my bios chip is a PLCC chip. will it work or do i need an adapter?
this i s my bios chip located here

https://techgage.com/viewimg/?img=/r...e%20Processors

Last edited by terianx; 06-06-2018 at 11:40 AM.
terianx is offline  
post #6 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 12:06 PM
B10S TInk3r
HelpDatBIOS
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 437
You're welcome! I assumed Intel tool would probably give an error and fail, same as the Integrator Toolkit did after editing.
I do not think it's a messed up BIOS causing that either, since it opens the same in UEFITool after doing the same mod a few different ways until I got that right.

With CH341A programmer you will have to (carefully, toothpick or plastic needle etc) remove the chip from it's socket, and yes I'm sorry I forgot to say you'd need an adapter for the PLCC chip too
https://www.ebay.com/itm/272769245430 (select PLCC32 to Dip32) Can get in US, starting for $5.50 - https://www.ebay.com/itm/382072137952

Or get one of these, they work great for many BIOS types and shipping only 2-3 weeks. You would need additional adapter for modern SOP8 soldered on BIOS chips, he has solder type and solderless, if you wanted for later use.
As it is, the programmer can program Dip8 socketed type BIOS like you see on Asus or Asrock, and PLCC32 socketed like your board, without the need for any other adapters.
I've purchased from this seller many different times, always quick shipment (unlike many China sellers). Programmer has saved 100's of boards for me, works great always!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/271313593344

If you message him before paying, he can also possibly include a spare PLCC32 (49LF016C - 16mbit) flash rom chip but you have to ask first to see if he has correct model.
You may be able to find cheaper but probably longer wait on shipment in sep package, I only see a few for more than $8, none from US
You don't have to have a spare, as long as you remember to backup your original BIOS before doing anything and make a copy to stick somewhere safe you wont accidentally edit.

Having a programmer would be best for this, because then you can get a backup and send a copy out for editing, that way the edited BIOS will still have your correct MAC address and serial number in it!
If you get a programmer, don't flash the above BIOS, send me a backup copy of your currently flashed in BIOS, then I'll edit that and send back so your boards info will be correct.
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
post #7 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 01:38 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
Quote: Originally Posted by HelpDatBIOS View Post
You're welcome! I assumed Intel tool would probably give an error and fail, same as the Integrator Toolkit did after editing.
I do not think it's a messed up BIOS causing that either, since it opens the same in UEFITool after doing the same mod a few different ways until I got that right.

With CH341A programmer you will have to (carefully, toothpick or plastic needle etc) remove the chip from it's socket, and yes I'm sorry I forgot to say you'd need an adapter for the PLCC chip too
https://www.ebay.com/itm/272769245430 (select PLCC32 to Dip32) Can get in US, starting for $5.50 - https://www.ebay.com/itm/382072137952

Or get one of these, they work great for many BIOS types and shipping only 2-3 weeks. You would need additional adapter for modern SOP8 soldered on BIOS chips, he has solder type and solderless, if you wanted for later use.
As it is, the programmer can program Dip8 socketed type BIOS like you see on Asus or Asrock, and PLCC32 socketed like your board, without the need for any other adapters.
I've purchased from this seller many different times, always quick shipment (unlike many China sellers). Programmer has saved 100's of boards for me, works great always!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/271313593344

If you message him before paying, he can also possibly include a spare PLCC32 (49LF016C - 16mbit) flash rom chip but you have to ask first to see if he has correct model.
You may be able to find cheaper but probably longer wait on shipment in sep package, I only see a few for more than $8, none from US
You don't have to have a spare, as long as you remember to backup your original BIOS before doing anything and make a copy to stick somewhere safe you wont accidentally edit.

Having a programmer would be best for this, because then you can get a backup and send a copy out for editing, that way the edited BIOS will still have your correct MAC address and serial number in it!
If you get a programmer, don't flash the above BIOS, send me a backup copy of your currently flashed in BIOS, then I'll edit that and send back so your boards info will be correct.
I'm getting this "https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B014OWE5N2/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_2?smid=A2OCOGC9B25845&psc=1"
and this
"https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01LJQVMMI/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_4?smid=A27T6MM00L516M&psc=1" also a puller for the chip

"https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B019K8GDP8/ref=ox_sc_saved_title_3?smid=AMKFWZ1HFQTT2&psc=1"

is that enough?
terianx is offline  
post #8 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
I also found this drivers/software to program the chip

"CH341SER.EXE - self installing archive with USB to serial driver.
CH341PAR.EXE - self installing archive with multiprotocol interface driver (this one is for the programmer mode)"

http://www.wch.cn/download/CH341SER_EXE.html
http://www.wch.cn/download/CH341PAR_EXE.html

am i set?
terianx is offline  
post #9 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 08:49 PM - Thread Starter
Linux Lobbyist
terianx Level 1
 
terianx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 211
oops, i think i brought the wrong product. "https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B012VPKE7K/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1" i noticed the adapter you told me to but has 32 pins and this one only has 16.
terianx is offline  
post #10 of 368 (permalink) Old 06-06-2018, 11:59 PM
B10S TInk3r
HelpDatBIOS
 
HelpDatBIOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 437
@terianx - If you can cancel still, drop the chip puller and the adapter, and probably the programmer too!
I assumed you'd get the Nano programmer I linked for ease of use and not having to buy several items.

I don't think the chip puller will fit into your sockets, only small toothpick like item fit into corner of socket, see the plastic dip/cutout on 2 corners diagonal from each other.
That's where you insert toothpick or similar plastic needle, puller is too wide to fit into that corner, and more made to pull modern DIP8 (Like you'd see on Asus or Asrock new motherboards) or other DIP type chips.
If gets under chip as you'd imagine, but I have one and you picked same, I think they're too wide to get into corner cutout for PLCC32 socket, use toothpick it will work and not cause damage.
It might fit, but I doubt it, and it's way overpriced there too.

I'm sorry for the confusion on the adapter and linking you to wrong item!! The PLCC32 adapter I linked is wrong one, those with dip32 are for use with the more expensive flash programmers like these
https://www.amazon.com/WINGONEER%C2%...ogrammer&psc=1

I didn't look at that close enough while linking those yesterday, and really assumed you'd see the all-in-one with your chip socket already on the programmer and get that one instead (the one I linked last).
So I didn't look back and notice the adapter was wrong pin count. Looking now, I cannot find a PLCC/PLCC32 to Dip16 like you'd need for these cheaper programmers.

Due to the old BIOS chip type, and no adapters I can see, I think your only valid option may be the last item I linked above (Nano USB Programmer).
I'm not sure if he sells on Amazon, don't think so.

Of the two you linked, I would go with the first programmer (But see above), only because it's more "Commonly used" either would be fine but some software might give issues with one while not in other and visa versa too.
Software is usually the main issue, when people have problems with these, finding the right one compatible with your programmer and the type of chip you want to use at any given time.

The software you linked, not sure, why two versions there, what's "Ser and Per" Server and Personal? You'll just have to try them when your programmer arrives.
Here in another thread, I linked several software programs and versions for these too, it's always a hunt of finding the one that works for you right then so you might have to try a few.
See past page here - https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-int...d-p9x79-2.html
HelpDatBIOS is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off