Did I break/cook my i7 7700k? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Did I break/cook my i7 7700k?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Did I break/cook my i7 7700k?

I made the mistake of using the built in Asus Z270g overclocking tool in the motherboard (which is notorious for overvolting) but it seemed stable so I left it alone. I had a particularly long gaming session and I wasn't paying attention to thermals. When I rebooted my machine at the end, I got the overheat cpu warning. I guess my machine had been running at 90ish C for some time.

After the reboot, audio from movies, youtube, and netflix had a crackling sound. As well, youtube has weird decoder video grain. And my plex media server now has issues transcoding, and leaves "smears" all over the place.
I've reinstalled the OS and reset the bios to defaults but the audio and video issues persist.

check out the images here:
https://i.imgur.com/fbjQCe4.png
https://i.imgur.com/m8iXd7A.png
https://i.imgur.com/bnnaWbo.png

Did I break my cpu?
talon125 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 10:55 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,481
Rep: 1402 (Unique: 723)
90c isn't dangerous. It's hot but it's not going to kill anything.

Are you using the IGP? If not, then artifacts have nothing to do with your CPU. Your sound crackling is also done on the motherboard, not the CPU. Even if you did hurt your CPU it shouldn't cause a crackling sound.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (MX Blue)
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Mousepad
X-Ray 27" x 14"
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-H55N ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
G.Skill DDR3-2133 8GB
Hard Drive
Dierya 120GB SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 11:34 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 10,849
Rep: 358 (Unique: 255)
Yeah the issues you describe don't sound like CPU issue. If you're getting lockups, blue screens, restarts, apps crashing, complex computing giving bad results, then sure it's CPU.
JackCY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
90c isn't dangerous. It's hot but it's not going to kill anything.

Are you using the IGP? If not, then artifacts have nothing to do with your CPU. Your sound crackling is also done on the motherboard, not the CPU. Even if you did hurt your CPU it shouldn't cause a crackling sound.
Well, plex uses the cpu to decode/transcode (you only get gpu transcoding if you pay for their premium product). I believe youtube does as well. The issues persist when I switch from onboard gpu to discreet graphics card.

Back in the day, an overclocked CPU would result in Windows XP install failing because of decoding errors. Decoding somewhat related to me.

The issue is definitely not software related as I've reinstalled the whole OS and switched graphics/audio drivers multiple times as well.

Last edited by talon125; 10-24-2018 at 01:00 PM.
talon125 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 01:03 PM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,459
Rep: 445 (Unique: 310)
Quote: Originally Posted by talon125 View Post
Well, plex uses the cpu to decode/transcode (you only get gpu transcoding if you pay for their premium product). I believe youtube does as well. The issues persist when I switch from onboard gpu to discreet graphics card.

Back in the day, an overclocked CPU would result in Windows XP install failing because of decoding errors. Decoding somewhat related to me.

The issue is definitely not software related as I've reinstalled the whole OS and switched graphics/audio drivers multiple times as well.
You need a voltage monitor to know exactly how much voltage that (satanic dial that should NEVER be touched) is poured in with that thing on the motherboard.
MSI includes this knob I think on their godlike Z390 and it's going to blow up some CPU's.

Most likely the iGPU or system agent got overvolted and degraded.
The IA cores may be fine.

Can you do a prime 29.x small FFT stress test for 15 minutes with AVX/FMA3 enabled and see if you can pass it (at the same clocks you are using right now?).
If FMA3 is too stressful, open "local.txt" and put in CPUSupportsFMA3=0 to disable fused multiply and add.
But put CPUSupportsAVX=1 to keep AVX enabled..

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You need a voltage monitor to know exactly how much voltage that (satanic dial that should NEVER be touched) is poured in with that thing on the motherboard.
MSI includes this knob I think on their godlike Z390 and it's going to blow up some CPU's.

Most likely the iGPU or system agent got overvolted and degraded.
The IA cores may be fine.

Can you do a prime 29.x small FFT stress test for 15 minutes with AVX/FMA3 enabled and see if you can pass it (at the same clocks you are using right now?).
If FMA3 is too stressful, open "local.txt" and put in CPUSupportsFMA3=0 to disable fused multiply and add.
But put CPUSupportsAVX=1 to keep AVX enabled..
If it fails (everything is back to stock intel speeds) will that indicate I need to replace the cpu? I'm at work right now so I'll do that in a couple hours when I get home.
talon125 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 01:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Most likely the iGPU or system agent got overvolted and degraded.
The IA cores may be fine.
If that's the case, can I disable the igpu or system agent and offload all tasks to the discrete gpu?
talon125 is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 01:19 PM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,459
Rep: 445 (Unique: 310)
Post your prime95 results first.
Also may want to do some "handbrake", "Blender" and Cinebench scores to see if you're getting proper results.
Check windows event viewer for "WHEA Correctable errors" especially.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is online now  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 05:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Post your prime95 results first.
Also may want to do some "handbrake", "Blender" and Cinebench scores to see if you're getting proper results.
Check windows event viewer for "WHEA Correctable errors" especially.
Here's my Prime95 result. The first worker stops almost immediately. The rest worked fine.


Also, after seeing the first core was the problem, I started disabling the first core and corresponding thread in Windows Task Manager for Plex, Chrome, and my audio driver, and that seems to fix the issue. Core 0 is the issue. Has anyone else had a similar problem? I was thinking of taking the machine apart and try re-seating it. Think it's worth a shot?

Last edited by talon125; 10-24-2018 at 05:38 PM.
talon125 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-24-2018, 06:07 PM
Facepalm
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 7,459
Rep: 445 (Unique: 310)
Quote: Originally Posted by talon125 View Post
Here's my Prime95 result. The first worker stops almost immediately. The rest worked fine.


Also, after seeing the first core was the problem, I started disabling the first core and corresponding thread in Windows Task Manager for Plex, Chrome, and my audio driver, and that seems to fix the issue. Core 0 is the issue. Has anyone else had a similar problem? I was thinking of taking the machine apart and try re-seating it. Think it's worth a shot?
What happens if you dial back the overclock?
Try a lower mhz setting slowly backwards towards stock,
then try stock?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Quote: Originally Posted by sakete View Post
Well, I want you to know I have an academic degree in speculation.
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off