9900k Overclock Results and Questions: - Page 174 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900k Overclock Results and Questions:

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1731 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 01:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pinnacle Fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,008
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
9900k Overclock Results and Questions:

Quote: Originally Posted by WannaBeOCer View Post
Nope, that depends on the board. Some boards don't have MCE due to their poor VRMs. When I disable MCE all 8 cores run at 4.3Ghz with 2 boosting to 5Ghz. My Maximus VIII z170 board sets all 8 cores to 4.8Ghz when enabling MCE since the MCE is meant for SkyLake since I'm using Bios 2202. It actually runs pretty nicely at stock 4.8Ghz on all 8 cores with 1.120v.
Agreed, ok.

He said that he’s on an AORUS master though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

i9-9900k OC to 5.0GHZ @ 1.285V Delidded/Direct Die Cooled
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GTX 1080Ti FE
Lian Li O11 Dynamic, white

Pinnacle Fit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1732 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 02:04 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,458
Rep: 1555 (Unique: 1017)
Deleted.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.



Last edited by BradleyW; 06-11-2019 at 02:22 PM.
BradleyW is offline  
post #1733 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 02:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,068
Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by Pinnacle Fit View Post
I might have missed it, but did he say specifically that his chip was from SL?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
No, he didnt. But there have been several defective silicon samples posted in both this thread and in the other thread.
CPU's crashing at 4.7 ghz in light load, CPU's suddenly BSOD'ing after a week unless downclocked to 3600 mhz (no bios changes), you name it. One of the first was mentioned over on HardOCP forums.

Anyway I'm done with this topic and putting some people on ignore. I don't have time in my life for this.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1734 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-11-2019, 02:21 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,458
Rep: 1555 (Unique: 1017)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
No, because all CPU's have to have a guardband region. A CPU can't be sold without a margin for error. And you're 'completely misinterpreting things and putting everything in your own way.
I mean....comeon. Constantly you asked me--over and over--about different AC loadline settings, constantly asking me to explain things I already explained-repeatedly....so clearly you didn't understand fully what was going on. Now suddenly, when someone has a defective CPU sample, instantly you're an expert on everything.

I simply have no words.
Do you know what a guardband is? Considering how many times you kept asking about the AC Loadlines, I don't believe you do.

A CPU that is unstable at 4.8 ghz at 1.30v with LLC Turbo, would FAIL a guardband test at 4.7 ghz (want a worst case guardband test for transient response? Just use an AVX offset with windows background processes that trigger AVX and do a non-AVX stress test). That person's CPU will *fail* at 4.7 ghz. Thus--defective silicon.

You also completely neglected this:


It says 100%. Not 99%. Not 95%. Not 92.001%. 100%. And these are STRESS TESTS done by SL. Heavy load. Not light load like that poster with the defective CPU is doing.

Also, a CPU MUST be tested as STABLE at 4.7 ghz **UP to 100C**, at worst case loads (up to 193 amps current draw, at an unknown amount of voltage, probably around 1.3v). If a CPU fails at 4.8 ghz in LOW load situations at this voltage, there's no way it's going to pass virus mode at 4.7 ghz. That's defective silicon. I rest my case, and that's the final thing I am saying on this matter. Have a nice day.
Why have you made this personal? First you suggest I don't understand things based on me asking about loadlines on a different thread. You then suggest that I think I'm an expert. That's a great way to conduct yourself, isn't it?

Why did I ask about loadlines more than once? I'll tell you why, because you have a habit of dressing up your answers to make them sound significantly more complex than needed to make you appear more intelligent. Intelligence would dictate that one would give an answer simplified where possible so others can understand the information. It's a simple communication skill really.

Despite my education (Computer Science, University), I would never claim to be an expert, so don't suggest that I think I am. We have a standard on this forum, one of which you're not meeting with the way you're conducting yourself at this moment in time, so cool down and keep things civil rather than making incorrect assumptions and acting childish.


Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
No, he didnt. But there have been several defective silicon samples posted in both this thread and in the other thread.
CPU's crashing at 4.7 ghz in light load, CPU's suddenly BSOD'ing after a week unless downclocked to 3600 mhz (no bios changes), you name it. One of the first was mentioned over on HardOCP forums.

Anyway I'm done with this topic and putting some people on ignore. I don't have time in my life for this.


Just can't help yourself can you? Conduct yourself better in a more mature way in future. You have to accept that people will have a different view. Doesn't give you the right to turn a debate into something personal and offensive which you have done so with me. Very poorly handled sir.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
post #1735 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 09:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
NO chip should crash at 4.8 ghz 1.285v with LLC.
If Silicon Lottery said 100% of their samples can do 4.8 ghz and his can't, there's a problem.
SEEMS now, after many many days of tinkering (BIOS reversions and Updates - Windows 1903 Update - as well as BIOS configurations) I'm now stable @ 4.80GHz / 1.290vcore.

Not sure exactly WHAT caused it to become stable, but it seems to be (120 minutes of RealBench + 60minutes of OCCT 5.0.1). Didn't do anything different in terms of BIOS configurations that I had been doing.

I'm wondering if it's actually this motherboard (z390 Aorus Ultra) that's causing some of the instability. @ 1.290vcore as set in BIOS as well as reported by HWMonitor, HWInfo and CPUZ the "VROUT" reading can drop as low as 1.210v (and this with LLC ULTRA set)

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by LesPaulLover; 06-12-2019 at 09:07 AM.
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #1736 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 09:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
That means he has a defective core or there's an issue with the cache or IMC. Stock speed configuration means that ALL cores must perform as below, and one core must be stable at 5 ghz (doesn't specify which core) but there's no way it would even do that.

Intel CPU's are designed to be stable up to 100C at 193 amps on ALL cores at the max all core frequency (this means 4700 mhz, 1.218v measured via VCC_Sense, with a 193 amp load). ALL samples must pass this.
If he's failing at 4.8 ghz at 1.285v set in BIOS with LLC Turbo, with a VERY light load, something is VERY wrong. There's a HUGE difference between something that pulls 193 amps (this is basically not coolable on air cooling without a delid) at 4700 mhz up to 100C (this is what the chips MUST be rated for), and crashing with a 75 amp load game with a MUCH higher voltage and +100 mhz speed bin.
Now I can fully see a CPU failing prime95 small FFT FMA3 at 4.8 ghz, 1.285v LLC Turbo and people not calling it 'stable' but then running all games with no problems whatsoever.

99% chance this CPU will NOT be stable at stock either if he ran Prime95 FMA3 on it under these test conditions:
1.50v, required, set in BIOS), Loadline Calibration set to STANDARD, Normal or disabled, 4.7 ghz core, 4.4 ghz cache, prime95 29.8 build 3, small FFT FMA3 enabled stress test.
His CPU will fail this test. I've seen it before. Padinn's CPU was just as unstable and he had to RMA it.

Again I rest my case. I would RMA this CPU. period. I'm going to PM the original poster if I can find the post.
Oh it's PLENTY stable @ stock on this ridiculous motherboard that pushes as much as 1.425vcore through the CPU under load (@ all stock BIOS settings) lol.

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #1737 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Pinnacle Fit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1,008
Rep: 23 (Unique: 17)
9900k Overclock Results and Questions:

Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Oh it's PLENTY stable @ stock on this ridiculous motherboard that pushes as much as 1.425vcore through the CPU under load (@ all stock BIOS settings) lol.


There’s something very odd going on if you’re getting 1.425 @ stock. Please post bios pics for voltage and power settings


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

i9-9900k OC to 5.0GHZ @ 1.285V Delidded/Direct Die Cooled
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Master
GTX 1080Ti FE
Lian Li O11 Dynamic, white

Pinnacle Fit is offline  
post #1738 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 09:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,068
Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Oh it's PLENTY stable @ stock on this ridiculous motherboard that pushes as much as 1.425vcore through the CPU under load (@ all stock BIOS settings) lol.
What does VR VOUT read?
Pretty sure something reading 1.425v is the Super I/O voltage sensor. This should not be used for your measurements. use VR VOUT.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #1739 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 08:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
What does VR VOUT read?
Pretty sure something reading 1.425v is the Super I/O voltage sensor. This should not be used for your measurements. use VR VOUT.
This is precisely why I've wondered about my stability being a motherboard-related issue. When I run 4.80GHz @ 1.290vcore I fluctuate between 1.284v-1.296v (according to the "VCORE" reading in HWmonitor//CPUZ).

However, the "VROUT" reading in HWINFO will drop as low as 1.210v - and this is with LLC TURBO. My understanding is that this should not be occurring with such a high level of LLC enabled. HWINFO also seems to show significantly lower "VCORE" readings as well (1.260v-1.271v HWINFO vs. 1.284v-1.296v HWMON//CPUZ)

Unfortunately the Gigabyte Motherboard software (called "System Information Viewer") seems to be completely nonfunctional as it simply sits @ 1.300vcore regardless of what CPU frequency//voltage I set in BIOS the SIV readings never change. Thankfully the fan control software works great and that's all I really need it for.

I'll throw up some pics of stock vs. manual readings tomorrow.

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by LesPaulLover; 06-12-2019 at 08:28 PM.
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #1740 of 2015 (permalink) Old 06-12-2019, 09:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I recently bought a 9900k paired with a z390 msi meg ace motherboard. I'm running a custom loop and everything is at stock. I have a msi gtx 1080ti installed in the 1st pcie 3.0x16 slot to get full bandwidth. My issue is, I can not get my card to run at more then pcie 3.0x8 under load. . I thought maybe it was the 1tb Samsung 970 Evo plus nvme m.2 taking bandwidth. I uninstalled the m.2 and reinstalled windows 10 on a regular sata ssd and my gpu is still locked at x8 speed. Completely stumped I took the 1080ti out and installed a old 780 classified I had laying around and it was still only at x8 speed under full load. My motherboard is updated to the newest bios. Does it sound like a defective motherboard slot ? Maybe the bios is bad. Would a 970evo plus nvme m.2 share bandwidth with the gpu and make the gpu run at only x8? I thought that was the issue until testing with just 1 sata ssd installed and nothing else and still only got x8 speed. When you run gpuz or hwinfo does your gpu run at x16? Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
Placekicker19 is offline  
Reply

Tags
9900k , core i7 , Intel , Overclock , overclock question

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off