9900k Overclock Results and Questions: - Page 85 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900k Overclock Results and Questions:

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #841 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 03:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
QQryQ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You're looking at CPU VID.
CPU VID is *NOT* Vcore.
Look at VR VOUT. That is most accurate. ITE 8792E readout can also be used, but will not show some of the voltage droop.

The only time that CPU VID will equal VR VOUT is under these conditions:

1) Voltage is set to Normal (I do not know if Auto is the same as normal)
2) DVID offset not used (=+0.00v).
3) Loadline Calibration is set to "Normal" (1.6 mOhms of Loadline is the preset for "Normal" loadline calibration).
4) IA AC and IA DC loadline are set manually to 160 in CPU VR Settings (1.6 mOhms).

Under these conditions, even under FMA3 small FFT prime95, VR VOUT was within 5mv (!) of CPU VID. Spot on accurate.
(this still does not show voltage microsecond spikes or dips; an Oscilloscope is needed to see these).

Ahh I see - thank you for explaining it to me.
I wonder if its possible to let cpu undercore / undervolt while in idle or somethink. Very often I'm leaving my computer running almost in idle once per 60 mins something happens for now I'm manualy undercore and volt my cpu into 2,6ghz and 1,2V for night / afk time its possible to do it automaticly?

And can I improve somehow my cpu temps with tweaking somethink more? Read about AVX offset but not really sure how it will work for me. Most of the time for now my graphic card running ~ +20C hotter than cpu but maybe I could change some values to improve it.

Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99
Increase core voltage when having problems. Increasing memory performance past 3200 CL 14 only helps in benchmarking programs. DDR4 memory scaling link: https://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/...alysis/10.html\
thanks you too sir.


P.S funny think is I'm gettin better performance ingame ( more fps ) when I set alligment to Core 15, 13 , 11, 9 than on all cores.

Last edited by QQryQ; 02-21-2019 at 01:25 AM.
QQryQ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #842 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 04:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,034
Rep: 51 (Unique: 42)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
You're looking at CPU VID.
CPU VID is *NOT* Vcore.
Look at VR VOUT. That is most accurate. ITE 8792E readout can also be used, but will not show some of the voltage droop.

The only time that CPU VID will equal VR VOUT is under these conditions:

1) Voltage is set to Normal (I do not know if Auto is the same as normal)
2) DVID offset not used (=+0.00v).
3) Loadline Calibration is set to "Normal" (1.6 mOhms of Loadline is the preset for "Normal" loadline calibration).
4) IA AC and IA DC loadline are set manually to 160 in CPU VR Settings (1.6 mOhms).

Under these conditions, even under FMA3 small FFT prime95, VR VOUT was within 5mv (!) of CPU VID. Spot on accurate.
(this still does not show voltage microsecond spikes or dips; an Oscilloscope is needed to see these).
He is a digital Oscillosope for $50.00 https://www.banggood.com/Upgraded-MU...r_warehouse=CN get one then post back what you find out.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #843 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-20-2019, 04:24 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,457
Rep: 364 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
He is a digital Oscillosope for $50.00 https://www.banggood.com/Upgraded-MU...r_warehouse=CN get one then post back what you find out.
This thing is AWFUL!

5HZ-5MHZ ???

You need at *LEAST* 50 mhz for CPU's!

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #844 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 10:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 1)
Just a quick update:

Running at 5.1 Ghz 4.7 Cache
Vcore = normal
DVID = -0.065
VCCIO = 1.200V
VCCSA = 1.230V

Running prime custom fft's 1344 in place for at least 15 min.

Results in:

P.S. I like the latest update from HWiNFO. It shows me a second VOUT that seems to be way more accurate.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	51Prime15min1344.png
Views:	36
Size:	3.98 MB
ID:	254986  


My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Intrud3r; 02-22-2019 at 10:28 AM.
Intrud3r is online now  
post #845 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 04:00 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,253
Rep: 1554 (Unique: 1016)
Quote: Originally Posted by Intrud3r View Post
Just a quick update:

Running at 5.1 Ghz 4.7 Cache
Vcore = normal
DVID = -0.065
VCCIO = 1.200V
VCCSA = 1.230V

Running prime custom fft's 1344 in place for at least 15 min.

Results in:

P.S. I like the latest update from HWiNFO. It shows me a second VOUT that seems to be way more accurate.
I am certain that if you ran the smallestFFT test with the FMA3 instruction set, you'll find that your not as stable as you might think. As for VOUT, it's not accurate with adaptive voltage.

All my overclocks must pass smallestFFT AVX without an AVX offset for 12 hours and blend, all RAM used, AVX for 8 hours before I call the system stable. Gaming stable and short testing stable isn't enough. Unstable system will cause data loss, crashing, corruption, unexpected data results, data handling errors, WHEA errors, performance oddities, the list goes on.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.



Last edited by BradleyW; 02-22-2019 at 04:19 PM.
BradleyW is offline  
post #846 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 04:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post
I am certain that if you ran the smallestFFT test with the FMA3 instruction set, you'll find that your not as stable as you might think. As for VOUT, it's not accurate with adaptive voltage.

All my overclocks must pass smallestFFT AVX without an AVX offset for 12 hours and blend, all RAM used, AVX for 8 hours before I call the system stable. Gaming stable and short testing stable isn't enough. Unstable system will cause data loss, crashing, corruption, unexpected data results, data handling errors, WHEA errors, performance oddities, the list goes on.
I'm not ready to call this stable, just showing my progress towards it. If I'll get there eventually ... we'll see.

i9 9900K: Base Clock = 100.00Mhz | CPU Clock Ratio = 51 | AVX Offset = 0 | Uncore Ratio = 47 | Internal AC/DC Load Line = Power Saving | Vcore Loadline Calibration = Medium | Vcore = Normal | DVID = +0.050V | BCLK Adaptive Voltage = Disabled | SVID offset = Disabled | VCCIO = 1.230V | VCCSA = 1.220V | Intel Turbo Boost Technology = Auto | Intel Speed Shift Technology = Enabled | C-States = C1 + C3 | CPU EIST Function = Enabled | TridentZ 4x8GB 3200 C16-18-18-38-560 @ 3600 C16-19-19-38-560
My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲
Intrud3r is online now  
post #847 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 04:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,457
Rep: 364 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by BradleyW View Post
I am certain that if you ran the smallestFFT test with the FMA3 instruction set, you'll find that your not as stable as you might think. As for VOUT, it's not accurate with adaptive voltage.

All my overclocks must pass smallestFFT AVX without an AVX offset for 12 hours and blend, all RAM used, AVX for 8 hours before I call the system stable. Gaming stable and short testing stable isn't enough. Unstable system will cause data loss, crashing, corruption, unexpected data results, data handling errors, WHEA errors, performance oddities, the list goes on.
That's not realistic.
If he tried small FFT FMA3 at 5.1 ghz and 1.32v VR VOUT, he would be pulling > 200 amps and be instant 100C. Not to mention the vdroop would be -massive- (I'm estimating 90mv from bios set voltage with LLC=Turbo with AVX small FFT. FMA3 would be even worse).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 02-22-2019 at 04:52 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #848 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 04:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
That's not realistic.
If he tried small FFT FMA3 at 5.1 ghz and 1.31v, he would be pulling > 200 amps and be instant 100C.
Thank you for jumping in, I sorta know what to expect seeing I top out at 91C now. Small FFT creates more heat so yah ... I'ld probably hit 100C within seconds with my 1x 360 radiator.

i9 9900K: Base Clock = 100.00Mhz | CPU Clock Ratio = 51 | AVX Offset = 0 | Uncore Ratio = 47 | Internal AC/DC Load Line = Power Saving | Vcore Loadline Calibration = Medium | Vcore = Normal | DVID = +0.050V | BCLK Adaptive Voltage = Disabled | SVID offset = Disabled | VCCIO = 1.230V | VCCSA = 1.220V | Intel Turbo Boost Technology = Auto | Intel Speed Shift Technology = Enabled | C-States = C1 + C3 | CPU EIST Function = Enabled | TridentZ 4x8GB 3200 C16-18-18-38-560 @ 3600 C16-19-19-38-560
My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲
Intrud3r is online now  
post #849 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-22-2019, 08:02 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,253
Rep: 1554 (Unique: 1016)
Quote: Originally Posted by Intrud3r View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
That's not realistic.
If he tried small FFT FMA3 at 5.1 ghz and 1.31v, he would be pulling > 200 amps and be instant 100C.
Thank you for jumping in, I sorta know what to expect seeing I top out at 91C now. Small FFT creates more heat so yah ... I'ld probably hit 100C within seconds with my 1x 360 radiator.
I almost hit 100c with your settings under FMA3 and I have a 360 + 420 rad. Too much crammed into such a small die, that's the issue to be honest.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
post #850 of 1360 (permalink) Old 02-23-2019, 04:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Telstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,001
Rep: 24 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by QQryQ View Post
Ahh I see - thank you for explaining it to me.
I wonder if its possible to let cpu undercore / undervolt while in idle or somethink. Very often I'm leaving my computer running almost in idle once per 60 mins something happens for now I'm manualy undercore and volt my cpu into 2,6ghz and 1,2V for night / afk time its possible to do it automaticly?
Yes, using ADAPTIVE mode in bios, and BALANCED power plan in w10. Most z390 motherboards support this now.

new rig 2019:
Intel 9900k >5ghz | Asus Maximus XI Gene | Eisbaer 360 LT (custom loop in progress) | bequiet! Dark Base 700 white edition | Team group Nighthawk 16GB 4000mhz | MSI RTX 2070 Armor | Storage: Intel Optane 900p 280GB + Samsung 970 evo plus 1TB + WD Red 3TB | Corsair HX850i | Benq BL3200PT 1440p | 1Gbit ftth |
Telstar is offline  
Reply

Tags
9900k , core i7 , Intel , Overclock , overclock question

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off