i9 9900k overclocking on Intel XTU - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i9 9900k overclocking on Intel XTU

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
i9 9900k overclocking on Intel XTU

I unknowingly cheaped out on a motherboard and bios settings really confuse me so I have resorted to using Intel xtu. Has anyone overclocked their 9900k using xtu? If so, can you post your settings? I'm a noob
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-21-2018, 07:11 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 385 (Unique: 275)
Quote: Originally Posted by rkalak View Post
I unknowingly cheaped out on a motherboard and bios settings really confuse me so I have resorted to using Intel xtu. Has anyone overclocked their 9900k using xtu? If so, can you post your settings? I'm a noob
If you're unhappy with your motherboard purchase, why don't you just RMA it, admit your mistake and ask for an exchange or upgrade? It should still be in the return period.
It's not a good idea to cheap out on motherboards. Never get the lowest end board for something like a 9900K or 9700K. You don't need top of the line but at least get something decent.

I haven't seen anyone use XTU to overclock these newer processors. Most of the people who use XTU are using it to overclock locked down laptops with cancer firmwares with locked down Bioses.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-24-2018, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
If you're unhappy with your motherboard purchase, why don't you just RMA it, admit your mistake and ask for an exchange or upgrade? It should still be in the return period.