Stability Issue after year? Pinpointing - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Stability Issue after year? Pinpointing

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-31-2019, 10:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dtfkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 228
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Stability Issue after year? Pinpointing

Hello all!

I've been running my setup for almost 2 years now without issues. 7700K, Maximus IX, Gskill DDR4 3200, Strix 1080ti, 960 Evo.

Recently I picked up Battlefield V and every now and again I'll notice it get a little choppy and HWINFO will throw errors.

I'm trying to diagnose which part of my overclock was causing the issue as BFV uses AVX I'm having a hard time trying to pinpoint each aspect of my overclock.

My current overclock is pretty generic:
XMP DDR4 16GB 3200Mhz
Sync all Cores 50
Cache Min/Max 43
Manual Vcore 1.3
LLC 5
AVX -3

I originally ran RB for 2 hours, P95 for 1 hour (1344 in place), AIDA64 for 1 hour to verify stability. I've been gaming and exporting premiere videos for well over a year and I'm still able to past these tests so I'm just going to completely start over from scratch until I figure this out.

So I guess my questions are:
I'm going to start with 1.3V @ 5ghz sync
1) What is the best test for basic frequency and voltage?

assuming i'm stable I'm going to XMP'
2) What is the best test for testing the newly entered XMP settings?

assuming i'm stable with xmp & 1.3V @ 5ghz I'll adjust cache ratio
3) What is the best test for testing newly entered cache settings?

assuming I'm stable with xmp & cache with 1.3v @ 5ghz I'll adjust my AVX
5) What is the best test for AVX at this point?
dtfkev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 12:26 AM
Manual breath enabled
 
Streetdragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: In my celler
Posts: 1,195
Rep: 26 (Unique: 22)
So you get this problem only when you play Battlefield? If the cou alone is stable, i would say the GPU could have a little problem.

I would reinstall the Driver and after that check the PSU. Dont know what PSU you are using

Gameingcube
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Aorus X570 Master
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
GPU
1080 TI Founders Edition
RAM
F4-3600C16Q-32GTZR
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
2000GB Seagate Barracuda Compute ST2000DM008 256MB
Hard Drive
samsung m2 970 evo
Power Supply
Leadex 80 Plus Platinum Netzteil, schwarz - 1200 Watt
Cooling
heatkiller IV pro
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
EK-FC1080 GTX Ti - Nickel
Cooling
Alphacool Eisbecher D5 250mm Plexi
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS XT45 Full Copper 480mm
Cooling
XSPC Multiport Radiator EX240
Cooling
Scythe Grand Flex 4Pin PWM
Case
thermaltake core x9
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
Streetdragon is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 02:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
spooklexity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 35
Rep: 0
What kind of errors is HWinfo throwing, though? Are they CPU related? What type of cooling are you using? It might be that with high load on all components, you are reaching thermal conditions leading to instability in some subsystem (for instance, VRM temperatures increase to a point where the VDroop increases noticably). But without knowing more that's a pretty vague assumption.

Other than that:
To 1) I would recommend to use and old p95, manually disabled p95, or OCCT's Linpack with AVX disabled, combined with everyday tasks. Realbench uses AVX in part, but also has parts without it and loads all subsystems simultaneously, therefore I consider it to be very useful under such conditions.

2) Karhu RAM test or gSAT tie for rank 1, other than that memetest86 or HCI memtest would be my recommendations for testing RAM very specifically

3) Difficult IMO, you can have meta-stable cache configurations that lead to catastrophic errors only sporadically. I would use a three-stage test, starting with the AIDA cache stress test, then Realbench, then p95 in-place large FFTs. Make sure cores and RAM are really stable if you don't want to end up in wild mass guessing here.

4/5) Linpack Xtreme, hands down. You will find nothing that comes even close, and it may punish any slight unstable configuration with an instant bluescreen.

X99-Longterm
(9 items)
CPU
Core i7-6800K
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99 Gaming 7 WiFi
GPU
Gigabyte R9 Fury Windforce 3X OC waterblock retrofit
RAM
4x G.Skill F4-3000C16-8GISB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo
Cooling
Custom Water loop: 2x140 slim internal, 4x180 thicc external
Case
Nanoxia Deep Silence 5 Rev. B
Operating System
Windows 10 Education
▲ hide details ▲
spooklexity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 03:27 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,027
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
My go to method is Intel burn test with hyperthreading disabled, 20 passes. If all good move on to p95 26.6 large FFTs for 12 hours. If you can pass both these then the issue has to be RAM, GPU or PSU.

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2019, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dtfkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 228
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Streetdragon View Post
So you get this problem only when you play Battlefield? If the cou alone is stable, i would say the GPU could have a little problem.

I would reinstall the Driver and after that check the PSU. Dont know what PSU you are using
Correct only BFV.

GPU drivers are fresh and GPU is running without an OC currently.

PSU seems to be fine? Corsair RM80i

Quote: Originally Posted by spooklexity View Post
What kind of errors is HWinfo throwing, though? Are they CPU related? What type of cooling are you using? It might be that with high load on all components, you are reaching thermal conditions leading to instability in some subsystem (for instance, VRM temperatures increase to a point where the VDroop increases noticably). But without knowing more that's a pretty vague assumption.

Other than that:
To 1) I would recommend to use and old p95, manually disabled p95, or OCCT's Linpack with AVX disabled, combined with everyday tasks. Realbench uses AVX in part, but also has parts without it and loads all subsystems simultaneously, therefore I consider it to be very useful under such conditions.

2) Karhu RAM test or gSAT tie for rank 1, other than that memetest86 or HCI memtest would be my recommendations for testing RAM very specifically

3) Difficult IMO, you can have meta-stable cache configurations that lead to catastrophic errors only sporadically. I would use a three-stage test, starting with the AIDA cache stress test, then Realbench, then p95 in-place large FFTs. Make sure cores and RAM are really stable if you don't want to end up in wild mass guessing here.

4/5) Linpack Xtreme, hands down. You will find nothing that comes even close, and it may punish any slight unstable configuration with an instant bluescreen.
HWinfo throwing L0 Cache

I'm running a Delid chip with a custom loop cooling solution. Temps never above 65*- 68* at 1.3V

Voltage seems to be steady as a rock at 1.312v under all load conditions.

Quote: Originally Posted by blodflekk View Post
My go to method is Intel burn test with hyperthreading disabled, 20 passes. If all good move on to p95 26.6 large FFTs for 12 hours. If you can pass both these then the issue has to be RAM, GPU or PSU.
Currently going through suggestions. Only at core frequency and voltage right now. 1.3V @ 5Ghz

Passed 30 Minutes of p95 small
Passed 2 hours of p95 1344 in place
Going to let large run for the rest of the day.

If it passes I'll enable XMP and start the process over?

Last edited by dtfkev; 02-02-2019 at 12:22 PM.
dtfkev is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dtfkev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 228
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Alright well I've passed every stress test I could throw at it since making this post.

Still getting L0 Cache Errors on BFV.

Going to try stock settings.
dtfkev is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 12:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
12 hours of Small FFT is a bit much lol
What happens when your run OCCT with AVX? (my preferred AVX test)
BFV uses AVX though I can't remember which one, if that's the only game that's an issue I'd probably poke the CPU with AVX pretty hard and see what happens. Or just apply more vcore then run the game, see if that helps at all. AVX can be tricky sometimes.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 07:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
blodflekk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 1,027
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
If BF V uses AVX then maybe you need a bigger offset. I'm on a different platform so my experience may be different but running at 4.7GHz with AVX seems really high. I can't run AVX higher than 4.1 without hitting high 90s and sometimes TJmax

And War, War Never Changes
Rampage
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 6850K
Motherboard
Asus Rampage V Edition 10
GPU
eVGA RTX2080Ti FTW3 Ultra
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro
Power Supply
Corsair HX850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
eVGA DG-87
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
HP 2511x
Keyboard
Razer Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Alumic
Audio
Hyper X Cloud II
▲ hide details ▲
blodflekk is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off