Xeon E5-2697 v3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Xeon E5-2697 v3

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 03:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 709
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Xeon E5-2697 v3

Hi,

I bought a used one of these - 14 cores - i've been trying to get the full turbo speed of 3.6 Ghz on all cores but I've not been able to yet. What I have been able to obtain is a 103 base clock - and a multiplier of 31 which equals a 3.1 Ghz.

In CPU-Z the multiplier shows 12-36 - I can get 31 automatically but not 36

AsRock X99X Fatality Killer board used.

On an Asus Z10 PE D8 WS there is a asus turbo ratio lock in the BIOS which helps to get the 31 multiplier but not the 36

Is there a way to get the 36 multiplier in the BIOS?

I've noticed some other performance settings though there are not many

Any helpful tips please -

3.1 Ghz on all cores isn't bad but I've noticed idle temps are around 50 c which is quite hot - I've used a Noctura (not D15) a less beffy one but may add one later

Do XEONS delid or is there no point? -It would be good to get 3600 Mhz on all cores - any chance ?
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-02-2019, 06:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
unclewebb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 962
Rep: 202 (Unique: 167)
You need to enable the core C states, C3 or C6, so the CPU can use the maximum multiplier. This is only going to be available when a limited number of cores are active. Maybe 1 or 2 cores, not all cores.

Run CPU-Z, go to the About tab and click on Save Report. Inside this report it should show what multipliers are supported. Upload it somewhere so I can have a look.
unclewebb is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-03-2019, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 709
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi,

I've had another look in BIOS - C states or similar has been enabled -as well as C6 which was already enabled - In the clocks within CPU-Z I can see the fluctuations between the multipliers 12 31 34 etc.....

On Asus Z10 PE D8 WS there is a BIOS setting for Asus Turbo Ratio Lock which locks the multiplier at 31 x 103 (102.8) = 3100 Mhz approx.

However, on AsRock X99X Fatality Killer the multiplier fluctuates - Is this how it is meant to be at its best? - If it is I've no problem with this....

There are some other settings which I'd need to research though the AsRock BIOS is not too vast albeit for some items I'm not sure about

Maybe some other X99 boards may have more BIOS options?

It's good to have a used XEON on an X99 board
Attached Files
File Type: txt 2697 v3 report.txt (239.5 KB, 18 views)
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-06-2019, 09:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 709
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
OK I've tried out a number of boards with the XEON - AsRock X99 is the best - It seems possible to enable C-States 3 & 6. There is another option...

I've tried out the passmark software and done a basic CPU test with 64 GB DDR4 RAM and the score was 22,9xx - This was consistent.

Without C states enabled the score was around 21,500+

It also seems that C-states does not work on Asus X99 motherboards??? - It wrecked an installation that needed recovering.....So it must be that AsRock have made it possible to work where Asus have not.

The Asus X99-E WS was different where C-states did work in the BIOS and the system booted so the score was 22,500 - Anyhow it's good to have it working and learning a little more.....and even without C states the CPU still performs as per the Passmark base scores....
fra z is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 02:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hi

i got a 2697 V3 ES and a Asus X99-E10G WS motherboard and i cant get the cpu over 3.1ghz all core.
could you show me your bios settings?
Dokost is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-05-2019, 04:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 709
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hi,

Please see this link

http://valid.x86.fr/top-cpu/496e7465...322e363047487a

Also please remember I don't claim to be an expert. I think I got 3100 mhz as well with a NON ES version.....But if you go into the BIOS.

ensure TURBO mode is activated >>> Get the base clock as high as you can even if this is only 103.

Enable C states in the BIOS -- C1, C3 & C6

Disable EIST - Enhanced Intel Speed Step.

Make sure good coolers are installed - By good I mean Dark Rock Pro 4 / Noctura D15 or similar or an AIO liquid cooler.

Core temps app or similar and a CPU-z that displays the v_core correctly.

Prime 95 29.4 or similar stress test software.

Possibly AIDA 64 (this is paid)

And Passmark software (this is paid)

Because there is a need to monitor the multiplier in CPU-Z or similar.

These are the methods I've been using - If there are any others please mention them.

Good luck - But bear in mind that are ES CPU may be limited (I'm not sure)__but the multipliers available will be shown in CPU-Z.

To best of my knowledge EIST=disabled in BIOS = a higher multiplier with the "correct" or "appropriate" work load to trigger the max multiplier - but it won't be constant 100% of the time.

Hope this helps.

PS - Asus is renowned for the best BIOS' but it does depend on support in the BIOS for higher clocks. If you look at #2 in the list there is a micro ATX version of your board @ BCLK 103.45 X 35 = 3620 MHZ
fra z is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-06-2019, 01:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Thanks!

Will try it out

Got a decent AIO LC (TT Riing 360) in a open case (TT P90).

Are there some Bios versions that works better than others?
If so, what do you recommend?
Dokost is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-07-2019, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 709
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Hello DOKOST,

People seem to say the newest BIOS should be used but I've read some people have trouble and revert to an older BIOS if they have trouble.

It really is trial and error and learning - A board like X99 E WS Asus does have lots of BIOS options - But there needs to be a way to monitor the performance in real time - and to record the numbers or lack of them - and then go with what you have the best results with.
fra z is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off