i5-9600k overclocking a lot better now - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i5-9600k overclocking a lot better now

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 12:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,307
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
i5-9600k overclocking a lot better now

Last time I was using 1.35V, even up to 1.38V Vcore, and the temps were hitting 98C and 167W, stuff like that. And P95 blend wounldn't run at all barely. Some of that was I tried OCing the ram from 3000 >3200.

I did a +10H P95 small FFT run with 1.38V for 4.9GHz 4.7 w/AVX, but memtest was failing in no time.



So I set 1.33V, stock ram, and ran @4.7/4.5GHz , passed OCCT/P95 FFT, but still not blend. So I ran that for a month anyways.. Then I turned of the OC for a week.


So today I reset most everything to auto, set 4.5GHz, no AVX offset. And just tried 1.25V because that sounds so much nicer and closer to others. And now I'm in hour 7 of P95 Blend. And the TEMPS are like normal too. Maxed at 83C, and averages 64C in 7 hours. Max power of 134W so far, thats way safer.


So I must have missed something big, because now it's acting more like a good chip. And I only tried 1.25V at random, so thats probably higher than needed for 4.5GHz. Auto has the Ring/LLC clock at 4.2GHz


Why I ended up so high on volts in the 1st place before, I'm not sure, my bad. I write it all down in a notebook too. So I don't need more powerful cooling either.

Excellent. Assuming this makes it to 10-12 Hours, I'll see how 5GHz runs this time.


Last edited by Kaltenbrunner; 02-14-2019 at 12:22 AM.
Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 01:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Were you trying to OC the ram, cache and the core at the same time?
The basic profile for overclocking has been echod throughout all the guides and many posts including my own (as well as how to use p95), set everything manually to stock speeds and voltage then work on the core. Don't use adaptive or offset for anything until you're done stressing. Establish your LLC before you get started overclocking and max out your current limits on your board's VRM.

You really don't need to run blend for 10 hours to ensure stability. If blend is failing it's almost always ram related if you're able to run Small FFT.

Kinda difficult to say exactly what was wrong the first time becasue there are so many variables in the post above when there should only be one at a time.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,307
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Yeah I didn't follow the right procedure really, u recommended it tho I know. But even once I did , I was also setting the ring/LLC clock and Vsa and Vio based off a MSI or Gigabyte offical company guide, that didn't work. But I did also try them on auto. When I 1st started, I tried 1.3V and 5GHz I think

All that was over 3 days. It was the 3rd day I tried memtest and realized to not mess with the ram. I was also lowering the Vsa and Vio while raising the Vcore.

So this is only really day 4 of OC adventures.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
Quote: Originally Posted by Kaltenbrunner View Post
Yeah I didn't follow the right procedure really, u recommended it tho I know. But even once I did , I was also setting the ring/LLC clock and Vsa and Vio based off a MSI or Gigabyte offical company guide, that didn't work. But I did also try them on auto. When I 1st started, I tried 1.3V and 5GHz I think

All that was over 3 days. It was the 3rd day I tried memtest and realized to not mess with the ram. I was also lowering the Vsa and Vio while raising the Vcore.

So this is only really day 4 of OC adventures.
You can leave most things alone. The actual guide is here:
https://www.overclock.net/forum/5-in...tatistics.html
But I'll sum it up plus how to use p95 at least one more time. As I've said, with so many variables it's really hard to say what wasn't right before but if you follow the guide you'll be able to get your maximum core and cache speed pretty quickly.
Since we aren't going for AVX use version 26.6 of prime, I'm fully aware that you can disable AVX but if the PC crashes there's a good chance it will revert the .txt with AVX enabled.


Reset to defaults.
Enable max current on your board, figure out what LLC does. To figure out LLC use manual voltage at 1.25ishv and use whatever setting seems to keep your voltage close to the set value with a tiny bit of droop. If it's adding to it that can be a very bad thing as it's doing it to the entire socket.

Set cache speed and ram speed/voltage to stock, XMP is not stock so use 2133mhz. Cache should be set in manual mode.
Set a core speed you want, try for the highest one and don't lower it unless you can get it stable safely. I'd shoot for at least 5ghz if you have a decent cooler. 1.4v is very safe as long as you're keeping thermals in check, Intel says you can use up to 1.5v lol Use manual voltage.

Apply a vcore that you think will work based on what everyone else is using and go from there. Crashes and errors means you need more voltage obviously.
Stabilize with P95 26.6 either using Small FFT or a custom test with FFTs in place using size 1344K to 1344K. The latter is good for quick and dirty while Small FFT for an hour or two is what you should use to verify that the core is 100% stable. 100% stable is critical before moving on or you'll have to start over again.
Once you have it stable enable XMP but keep your own core speed. To test the ram for stability use a custom test, don't fun the FFTs in place and use sizes 512k to 1024k (running all the sizes will take a long time). Use 70% of your ram for the test. You can let this run for a little as an hour, more is up to you. The beauty of p95 is the speed of it if you know how to use it. Obviously you can OC more if you want but this is a good way to test it. VCCIO may help you stabilize tighter timings or higher speed, this voltage is fed to the IMC.

Once the ram is 100% stable move on to the cache. Personally I just set a voltage I'm happy with like 1.3v and start higher with the speed and work my way down. As long as the cache is within 3-400mhz of the core, there is little reason to push more voltage because the cache has a lot of bandwidth. Again, test to 100% stability. At this point I'm done overclocking so instead of running a custom test I'll just run blend and let it go for 4ish hours, more if you want.


The other voltages like I/O can be left on auto, set to Intel's specs or even downvolted but if you're going to change them it needs to be one at a time with some sort of validation after so you know what it's doing.

If you don't feel like going in and out of the BIOS you can use XTU but your final configuration needs to be in the BIOS.
Once you're done stressing set your manual voltages as adaptive or offset for the core and cache.
Not related to OCing but still helpful for improving performance and power saving:

Set your Windows performance plan to High Performance to disable core parking and keep your cores in turbo longer. You can set the minimum CPU state to 5% or w/e if you'd like it to downclock when idle so your adaptive voltage will drop.
If you're using W10 make sure you're using O&O ShutUp10 with at least the recommended settings plus the ones for updates so:

The bloatware can be removed and won't reinstall (like 7)

Your network, ram and CPU usage isn't running wild (like 7)

Windows doesn't decide to update at inconvenient times (you can do updates manually like with 7).
You'll have much faster boot times (not like 7 lol)
OneDrive will finally shut up!
I actually use recommended and somewhat recommended settings plus the update ones.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-14-2019, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Kaltenbrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 2,307
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Ok thanks and I'll try O&O ShutUp10 for sure.

I stopped p95 blend at 12H 11min. I don't need much of an OC at all for 24/7 use. For now I'll set it at 1.245V and 4.5GHz and assume its fine.

Kaltenbrunner is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 01:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
the quality of 9600k is worse than 8600K, buy 9600k also more expensive and like stupid, you should buy 8600k, oc 5.0g only 1.28-1.32v usually
deathker is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 01:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 63 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by deathker View Post
the quality of 9600k is worse than 8600K, buy 9600k also more expensive and like stupid, you should buy 8600k, oc 5.0g only 1.28-1.32v usually
Were did you get the statics for quality 9600k is worse than the 8600k?

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 09:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Were did you get the statics for quality 9600k is worse than the 8600k?
i have 8600k upgrated to 9600k for free by my friend, it's so terrible, my 8600k can oc5.1 only need 1.32v to pass p95, but the 9600k even can't apporach 5.0! i just can't belivable, it's too hot!
the same board asus maximus f, not only my's but also other's usually like this
deathker is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 09:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,648
Rep: 63 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by deathker View Post
i have 8600k upgrated to 9600k for free by my friend, it's so terrible, my 8600k can oc5.1 only need 1.32v to pass p95, but the 9600k even can't apporach 5.0! i just can't belivable, it's too hot!
the same board asus maximus f, not only my's but also other's usually like this
That is interesting I wonder why? My i5 8600k runs prime95 FMA3 at 5.0GHz 1.296v.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-26-2019, 09:34 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,144
Rep: 1159 (Unique: 661)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
That is interesting I wonder why? My i5 8600k runs prime95 FMA3 at 5.0GHz 1.296v.

Just sounds like bad luck, getting a Coffee Lake/Coffee Lake-S chip that can't hit 5.0 is incredibly uncommon. My 9900K is a below average OCer and can still bench at 5.3 with ~1.45v or 5.1 at 1.38v. I just run it daily at 5.0 1.32v.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off