Memory controller sucks on new i9 9900K! - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Memory controller sucks on new i9 9900K!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 05:14 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5,985
Rep: 46 (Unique: 37)
Quote: Originally Posted by lumbeechief View Post
I never touch the base clock. I use the core multiplier when overlocking the CPU. With my ram I'm using the XMP memory profile and then changing the memory ratio to 4200MHz. The default ram timings for my kit is 19-19-19-39. But even at default my system will not make it past POST (debug code 61 "NVRAM Initialization") unless I lower the ram frequency way below 4133 MHz which is the rated XMP for my memory modules. As I said before, I actually just purchased the Trident Z Royal RGB 4600MHz which will be here in a week, but for what? For nothing! What a waste considering I won't even be able to get that high because of my crappy i9! I guess I should just swap my i9 on Amazon and hope for a better one. It sucks when you buy ram and can't even achieve the rated speeds because of the Fu*king memory controller sucks! My i7 8700K is way better than this i9's memory controller.
Hi,
Using the same board 8700k-9900k ?

Going for an even higher frequency is really sort of crazy no offense

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-99400x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 06:06 PM
Retired Staff
 
Mikecdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,158
Rep: 738 (Unique: 540)
Maybe try bumping VCCIO and System Agent Voltage a bit. I can't imagine that the imc is so bad that it can't run 4133 xmp timings.



Mikecdm is offline  
post #13 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
I think you meant z370.

I definitely understand that, what I don't understand is why you just brought up the VRM.

To actually determine that the IMC is at fault you'd need to test a couple boards from each chipset.
Yes I meant Z370. And testing different motherboards is very unreasonable because the IMC is built in the CPU not on the motherboard. I already told you my current setup worked completely fine with the i7 8700K, I was able to run my ram @ 4133MHz with it's XMP profile, and I sure as hell didn't need to touch the VCCIO and System Agent voltages to get my system to successfully post.
lumbeechief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mikecdm View Post
Maybe try bumping VCCIO and System Agent Voltage a bit. I can't imagine that the imc is so bad that it can't run 4133 xmp timings.
That's the thing. It's IMC is bad considering I have to touch those voltages where as my i7 did fine on auto. The i9 is just an i7 8700K with 2 extra cores and 4 extra threads.
lumbeechief is offline  
post #15 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
Using the same board 8700k-9900k ?

Going for an even higher frequency is really sort of crazy no offense
Not really if it gives me extra performance. I didn't buy a K unlocked CPU for nothing, a high end overclocking motherboard, and +4000 MHz for nothing.
lumbeechief is offline  
post #16 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wheatpaste1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 156
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
So are you trying any suggestions or just complaining?

i9 7900x
(8 items)
i7 7700k
(8 items)
CPU
i9 7900x
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC2 2-Way SLI
RAM
Corsair Vengence RGB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Lian-Li O11-Air/Dynamic
Other
Aquaero 6LT
CPU
i7 7700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC Black
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum
Power Supply
EVGA 1000G3
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Phanteks P400S
Other
Aquaero 6LT
▲ hide details ▲
wheatpaste1999 is offline  
post #17 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 07:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by wheatpaste1999 View Post
So are you trying any suggestions or just complaining?
That's rude. Jeez don't act like you wouldn't be in the same boat if you just bought a new $500 CPU and this was happening too you. Yes, I'm doing suggestions. I'm adjusting the System Agent and VCCIO voltages yet my system still isn't making it past the POST. I'm already in the yellow range with the voltages. Buying CPU's and GPU's are annoying. I'm always so unlucky!!! And now I'm going to have to buy new thermal paste when I swap for a new i9. Darn Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut is expensive. And it would be very unfortunate if the new i9 will also have the same issue.

Last edited by superhead91; 03-15-2019 at 12:37 PM.
lumbeechief is offline  
post #18 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 08:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dillmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Port Richey FL
Posts: 1,508
Rep: 85 (Unique: 76)
Turn that frown upside down sugar tits.

It's Overclockin time,

Come with me, and you'll see, a world of pure silicon obliteration.


Dillmiester is offline  
post #19 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 08:22 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5,985
Rep: 46 (Unique: 37)
Hi,
Well tomorrow I'll be on my third x299 mother board so the lottery exists unfortunately
Thanks to instore warranties the pain of dealing with asus is nonexistent

But software licenses 7-10 pro's no help there just cost of doing monkey business

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-99400x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #20 of 88 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 08:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 324
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by lumbeechief View Post
That's the thing. It's IMC is bad considering I have to touch those voltages where as my i7 did fine on auto. The i9 is just an i7 8700K with 2 extra cores and 4 extra threads.
You should never have those on auto when overclocking RAM. Auto typically runs them way too hot, often 1.3v or more for 3200MHz RAM when 1.15v or so is usually stable. At your frequency VCCIO and VCCSA could be much higher. You should set them manually to the lowest stable voltage as one of the last steps in your memory overclocking process.

As for your main issue, you changed the CPU. A 9900K isn't "just an 8700K with 2 extra cores", it's a totally new chip with other incremental changes and enhancements over 8xxx chips in addition to other fundamental differences like more cache. You're going to have to start over as far as RAM overclocking is concerned, at the frequencies you're trying to achieve. That isn't unexpected. If you had a DDR4 3200 kit or something I doubt you'd have any issues, but with 4000+ it often takes some doing to get it stable and happy. I'll also point out that with that if you had already been using a 9900K and you switched to a different 9900K, you also may have had to redo your RAM overclock. Every piece of silicon is different and your margins are pretty slim with the overclock you're trying to achieve. Also, as others have said you're using a Z370 board (albeit a really good one) with a CPU that's happiest with Z390. A lot of the high end Z390 boards have optimizations to allow for higher RAM frequencies than Z370 which in theory means you'll have an easier time getting 4000+ DDR4 stable and possibly have a higher ceiling.

Last edited by tostitobandito; 03-13-2019 at 08:42 PM.
tostitobandito is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off