Memory controller sucks on new i9 9900K! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Memory controller sucks on new i9 9900K!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Memory controller sucks on new i9 9900K!

Hello, I just upgraded from a i7 8700K to the i9 9900K and I'm very much regretting it. My overclock was stable with the i7. Now my system won't make it past POST with the newly inserted i9. The boot process always halts at debug code 61 which is "NVRAM Initialization" according to the manual. I'm using the same settings I used with the i7 on the i9 and same hardware. Only thing different is the new CPU.
The rest of my specs are:
MOBO:ASUS Maximus X APEX
RAM: GSKILL 8GBx2 4133MHz (F4-4133C19-8GBTZR) "EDIT" Sorry I meant F4-4133C19D-16GTZR.
GPU: ASUS STRIX 1080 Ti
PSU: EVGA SuperNova 750 G2.
ER
The memory controller on my i9 is trash because my PC will not make it past debug code "61"with the frequency at 4200MHz or 4133 MHz. My computer boots with ram settings at Auto through which is 2133Mhz.
And here I just bought the new Trident Z Royal RGB 4600Mhz which should be here in a week, what a waste! I guess I could exchange my i9 on Amazon and hope for one with an excellent memory controller. Anyways, attached is a text file of my BIOS settings. If anyone could please offer a excellent suggestion on what to do about this issue I will gratefully appreciate it.
Attached Files
File Type: txt BIOS_setting.txt (72.9 KB, 15 views)

Last edited by lumbeechief; 03-14-2019 at 06:41 PM.
lumbeechief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:08 PM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5,605
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
Hi,
Quite a few people complain about asus's crap memory compatibility data they put on boards
Maybe they will start manufacturing memory someday to backup their false data

Usually 2x8gb is the sweet pot where 4x8gb is no way Jose going to work at anything over 3600

Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-7900x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #3 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
Quite a few people complain about asus's crap memory compatibility data they put on boards
Maybe they will start manufacturing memory someday to backup their false data

Usually 2x8gb is the sweet pot where 4x8gb is no way Jose going to work at anything over 3600
I'm not using 4 ram sticks only 2. 8GB x2 = 16GB. This board doesn't even have 4 DIMM slots. This board is the best board for overlocking on the 300 series according to ASUS. This board has smashed records https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards...AXIMUS-X-APEX/
lumbeechief is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,116
Rep: 123 (Unique: 94)
There's likely nothing wrong with the CPU, 4000Mhz is on the extreme side and you should really check QVL for anything 3600mhz and beyond. That's what the QVL is for after all, it's not possible for every board and CPU to run highly OC'd ram, no overclock is guaranteed...the speed on the sticker is only guaranteed on the boards they tested it on. There is a QVL for both the ram and the board.

You bought binned ram rated for a 4133mhz overclock, an overclocking board and an unlocked CPU. Use them. It's totally possible that the 4600mhz kit will boot right up while the 4133mhz kit needs tweaking.
If the kit/board you're using now happens to be on the QVL and tweaking doesn't work you might try contacting the manufacturer.
You shouldn't really have any regrets, you bought a 9900k which is much more capable than the 8700k and you got one. You also have the really fast ram which might not run exactly at QVL but I'm positive that you can manage a configuration that will bench the same even if it's a lower speed with better timings. Use the user configurable overclocking board you paid for to OC the ram like you would the CPU.


EDIT: It should also be mentioned that you're not using a z390 chipset so you can't expect it to work exactly the same way. Wile the CPU is supported there are optimizations made across the chipset and likely even the board it's self.
IMO you're in a great situation, you have a great CPU, board and ram. You just need to configure it.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by white owl; 03-13-2019 at 02:45 PM.
white owl is online now  
post #5 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
There's likely nothing wrong with the CPU, 4000Mhz is on the extreme side and you should really check QVL for anything 3600mhz and beyond. That's what the QVL is for after all, it's not possible for every board and CPU to run highly OC'd ram, no overclock is guaranteed...the speed on the sticker is only guaranteed on the boards they tested it on. There is a QVL for both the ram and the board.

You bought binned ram rated for a 4133mhz overclock, an overclocking board and an unlocked CPU. Use them. It's totally possible that the 4600mhz kit will boot right up while the 4133mhz kit needs tweaking.
If the kit/board you're using now happens to be on the QVL and tweaking doesn't work you might try contacting the manufacturer.
You shouldn't really have any regrets, you bought a 9900k which is much more capable than the 8700k and you got one. You also have the really fast ram which might not run exactly at QVL but I'm positive that you can manage a configuration that will bench the same even if it's a lower speed with better timings. Use the user configurable overclocking board you paid for to OC the ram like you would the CPU.


EDIT: It should also be mentioned that you're not using a z390 chipset so you can't expect it to work exactly the same way. Wile the CPU is supported there are optimizations made across the chipset and likely even the board it's self.
IMO you're in a great situation, you have a great CPU, board and ram. You just need to configure it.
What you are not understanding is my RAM @ 4200MHz worked perfectly fine with the i7 8700k. Therefor the integrated memory controller in my i9 is poor quality. And it has nothing to do with me using a Z390 chipset! The Maximus X APEX is more high end with overkill VRM than the majority of Z390 boards.
lumbeechief is offline  
post #6 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
acquacow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 107
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Did you loosen your memory timings a tad and up the voltage?

I had to change my DDR4 3000 15-15-15-35 to 15-18-18-38 and 1.4V to get it to post at 3200 and be reliable. It normally posts at 2333 with my CPU settings at 100bclk.

The xmp for 3000 uses a 125 bclk, which doesn't work well with my overclock, so I had to use the fsb/dram multiplier and voltage/timings to clock it up instead.
acquacow is offline  
post #7 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
lumbeechief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 81
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by acquacow View Post
Did you loosen your memory timings a tad and up the voltage?

I had to change my DDR4 3000 15-15-15-35 to 15-18-18-38 and 1.4V to get it to post at 3200 and be reliable. It normally posts at 2333 with my CPU settings at 100bclk.

The xmp for 3000 uses a 125 bclk, which doesn't work well with my overclock, so I had to use the fsb/dram multiplier and voltage/timings to clock it up instead.
I never touch the base clock. I use the core multiplier when overlocking the CPU. With my ram I'm using the XMP memory profile and then changing the memory ratio to 4200MHz. The default ram timings for my kit is 19-19-19-39. But even at default my system will not make it past POST (debug code 61 "NVRAM Initialization") unless I lower the ram frequency way below 4133 MHz which is the rated XMP for my memory modules. As I said before, I actually just purchased the Trident Z Royal RGB 4600MHz which will be here in a week, but for what? For nothing! What a waste considering I won't even be able to get that high because of my crappy i9! I guess I should just swap my i9 on Amazon and hope for a better one. It sucks when you buy ram and can't even achived the rated speeds because of the Fu*king memory controller sucks! My i7 8700K is way better than this i9's memory controller.
lumbeechief is offline  
post #8 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 03:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wheatpaste1999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 149
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Just to start:

Turn off XMP. Manually set frequency and at least primary timings. Bump up your RAM voltage; Try 1.400v or 1.450v, but you should be able to go up to 1.500v pretty safely.

I would start at 3600 MHz and work your way up from there, testing for stability. Even if you get the frequency to 4133 MHz or beyond, you will probably have to keep primary timings loose without further tweaks.

i9 7900x
(8 items)
i7 7700k
(8 items)
CPU
i9 7900x
Motherboard
Asus Rampage VI Extreme
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC2 2-Way SLI
RAM
Corsair Vengence RGB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Lian-Li O11-Air/Dynamic
Other
Aquaero 6LT
CPU
i7 7700k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus IX Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080Ti SC Black
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum
Power Supply
EVGA 1000G3
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Phanteks P400S
Other
Aquaero 6LT
▲ hide details ▲
wheatpaste1999 is offline  
post #9 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 04:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,116
Rep: 123 (Unique: 94)
Quote: Originally Posted by lumbeechief View Post
What you are not understanding is my RAM @ 4200MHz worked perfectly fine with the i7 8700k. Therefor the integrated memory controller in my i9 is poor quality. And it has nothing to do with me using a Z390 chipset! The Maximus X APEX is more high end with overkill VRM than the majority of Z390 boards.
I think you meant z370.

I definitely understand that, what I don't understand is why you just brought up the VRM.

What you don't understand is that the ram speed is an overclock which can't be guaranteed on every platform with every CPU. You have everything you need to make it work so it really shouldn't be an issue.

To actually determine that the IMC is at fault you'd need to test a couple boards from each chipset.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is online now  
post #10 of 83 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 04:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
acquacow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 107
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Yes, your processors support DDR4-2666 memory stock. Anything past 2666 is an overclock and some tuning may be required to reach it.

I'd bring it up to the spec'd 1.4V voltage and relax the timings a bit, use clocking guides for that memory online to see what other people are running and try that.
acquacow is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off