9900K Aorus Master - Am I Stable? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

9900K Aorus Master - Am I Stable?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 10:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ocococ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
9900K Aorus Master - Am I Stable?

Hey folks,

Trying to figure out if my OC is considered stable or not. Note that I'm not a gamer, but do need the system stable for video and photo processing (Premiere Pro, Photoshop, Lightroom).

Hardware:
9900k
Aorus Master - Bios F7
Noctua NH-D15 cooler, idle temps ~25-28c
Silverstone FT02 case
5ghz
Vcore 1.27
VCSSA, VCCIO 1.25


The following were tested and PASSED. Temps noted are peaks:
Cinebench R15 83c
Intel extreme tuner 83c
Intel Burn Test - 10 runs 4GB 85c
Realbench 8 hour stress test, 16GB ram, 94c
OCCT 4.5.1, 1 hour, CPU: Linpack, 94c
OCCT 4.5.1, 30 min. CPU: OCCT, 64 bit, large dataset, 83c
P95 v26.6 - Small FFTs - 15 mins, 96c

The only test that failed is P95 v29.4...temps immediately jumps to 100 in 5 secs and it BSODs.

Thoughts...suggestions? I know 96c is high but I don't think I'll hit that normally.

Thanks!
ocococ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 04:09 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,796
Rep: 1283 (Unique: 691)
It crashed ... so no? lol.

Run an AVX offset and try again.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 04:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jidonsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 470
Rep: 23 (Unique: 22)
Did the 8 hour Realbench stress test show any WHEA errors in HWINFO64? I'm wary of an instant BSOD in Prime95 with avx. Worker fails are less severe.

Your Prime95 small ffts without avx is also far too short. That needs to be much longer.

A potentially useful test the Blender Benchmark. It uses more power than Realbench, causes a higher vdroop than Realbench, and uses AVX2. It's not as nuts as small ffts with avx so you won't hit 100C.

https://opendata.blender.org/
Jidonsu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 04:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ocococ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
It crashed ... so no? lol.

Run an AVX offset and try again.
I ask because I’ve read where some say to only use 26.6.


Quote: Originally Posted by Jidonsu View Post
Did the 8 hour Realbench stress test show any WHEA errors in HWINFO64? I'm wary of an instant BSOD in Prime95 with avx. Worker fails are less severe.

Your Prime95 small ffts without avx is also far too short. That needs to be much longer.

A potentially useful test the Blender Benchmark. It uses more power than Realbench, causes a higher vdroop than Realbench, and uses AVX2. It's not as nuts as small ffts with avx so you won't hit 100C.

https://opendata.blender.org/
No errors that I noticed. But I wasn’t looking for errors in hwinfo, was primarily looking for errors in Realbench.
ocococ is offline  
post #5 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-18-2019, 04:28 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 7,711
Rep: 611 (Unique: 504)
I don't know, check with your psychiatrist. JJ

Don't use P95 v29.4, if you want to test with P95 use 27.9. As P95 went on it started to tax things unreasonably and not a reflection of real life anyway. I also used x264 stability test.

If it's stable in everything you use, including turning it on and off and just leaving it running for a few hours without touching it, it's stable.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Fast n' Cheap
(17 items)
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
CPU
RYZEN 7 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS TUF GAMING X570-PLUS
GPU
MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3600 16-19-19-39 CL 16 1.35V
Hard Drive
Corsair Force Series Gen.4 PCIe MP600 500GB NVMe M.2 SSD
Hard Drive
Seagate BarraCuda ST3000DM008 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" HDD
Optical Drive
LG 16X SATA Blu-Ray Internal Rewriter with 3D Playback and M-DISC Support BH16NS40
Power Supply
Fractal Design Ion+ 860P 80 PLUS Platinum Certified 860W Full Modular
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Veddha GriderCase alpha V1
Operating System
Win 10 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" IPS Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Keyboard
Redragon K589 SHRAPNEL RGB Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Logitech G502 Hero
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
Other
PulseLabz Challenger Gaming Chair
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ Core 1160MHz & Memory 1350MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair H60 Push/Pull
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech MX518
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha HTR-5830 Polk Audio 3.0
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990 @ Clock 900MHz & Memory 1100MHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz @ 1866MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD CT128M4SSD3 128GB mSATA SATA III 6GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Gunderman456; 03-18-2019 at 04:37 PM.
Gunderman456 is online now  
post #6 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ocococ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
It crashed ... so no? lol.

Run an AVX offset and try again.

What does Run an AVX offset mean? Do you mean go into the bios and dial down the AVX setting? Or is this in one of the testing apps?
ocococ is offline  
post #7 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ocococ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jidonsu View Post
Did the 8 hour Realbench stress test show any WHEA errors in HWINFO64? I'm wary of an instant BSOD in Prime95 with avx. Worker fails are less severe.

Your Prime95 small ffts without avx is also far too short. That needs to be much longer.

A potentially useful test the Blender Benchmark. It uses more power than Realbench, causes a higher vdroop than Realbench, and uses AVX2. It's not as nuts as small ffts with avx so you won't hit 100C.

https://opendata.blender.org/
Ran an 8 hr Realbench again.. no WHEA errors in HWINFO64. 87c max temps. Anything else I should check from this test before I move on? Will try the Prime95 longer w/o AVX.
ocococ is offline  
post #8 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 11:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,940
Rep: 426 (Unique: 297)
Quote: Originally Posted by ocococ View Post
Ran an 8 hr Realbench again.. no WHEA errors in HWINFO64. 87c max temps. Anything else I should check from this test before I move on? Will try the Prime95 longer w/o AVX.
are you a gamer or do you do work at your computer?
If you're a gamer, just do a 1 hour prime95 with AVX disabled test.
Download prime95 29.6 build 7 from their forums. It lets you disable AVX and AVX2 in the stress test options.
Try smallest FFT then try small FFT.

If you pass, just call it a day. No reason to test small FFT with AVX enabled at all, if you passed realbench 8 hours, unless you encode, fold or crunch numbers for a living. Trust me.
Small FFT with AVX enabled has literally a 33% current draw increase (which means MORE vdroop) than AVX disabled. A LOT more vdroop. That vdroop is what makes stable systems crash.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #9 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
ocococ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 229
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Zero gaming. 99% of what I do is Lightroom, Photoshop and Adobe Premiere Pro video editing, which does crank up the CPU. Do I need to do avx testing then?
ocococ is offline  
post #10 of 21 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 12:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,940
Rep: 426 (Unique: 297)
Quote: Originally Posted by ocococ View Post
Zero gaming. 99% of what I do is Lightroom, Photoshop and Adobe Premiere Pro video editing, which does crank up the CPU. Do I need to do avx testing then?
Depends on how much load those programs pull in amps.
Vdroop is directly proportional to how many amps are pulled. For example, 125 amps (real world AVX like Realbench 2.56) may drop a 1.30v with medium loadline calibration down to 1.20v, while 180 amps (typical prime95 29.6 build 7 small FFT AVX test at 1.30v with medium high LLC) will drop that 1.20v down to 1.16v. If your VMIN was 1.19v (min stable voltage), then yes, you're going to be unstable with the small FFT test.
Doesn't mean real world programs will crash.

It all depends on your workload.
some people have the mindset that "if you aren't 180 amps small FFT stable you aren't stable", and don't seem to think of the 110C temps you are also pulling to raise vcore enough to be 180 amps stable. You need to adapt to your worst case workload, have a little cushion and go from there. Now if you're running at lower clocks and volts and can run something insane like FMA3 small FFT's under 80C and still be rock stable, then you're golden. But those are absolute worst case workloads which mean nothing unless you do that type of calculation for a living or hobby.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off