having trouble getting stock 9900k stable - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

having trouble getting stock 9900k stable

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,613
Rep: 264 (Unique: 206)
having trouble getting stock 9900k stable

im having some trouble getting my stock 9900K stable. auto settings is stable enough for games (throttles in benchmarks due to so much voltage) but the motherboard pushes 1.42V under load and obviously i cant keep it cool so it throttles even in cinebench r15. i must be doing something wrong or something is not working correctly even if i manually set 1.225V it still blue screens with sometimes with irql_not_less_or_equal and sometimes with whea. and even with 1.3v it freezes with the audio going bananas (just happened in battlefield 5 single player) I just dont know what else to try im considering doing an RMA and getting a replacement because something is clearly wrong here my 4790k worked out of the box and didnt need a million volts to be stable. any insight as to a fix would really be appreciated.

gaming rig
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 2126MHz/11GHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 16GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Kingston UV400 480GB SSD
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
Corsair H115i /W Modded backplate
Case
Corsair C70 Gunmetal
Operating System
windows 10 Pro 1607
Monitor
HP 24W
Monitor
AOC i2269vw
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Creative X-FI Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:19 AM
Senior Overclocker
 
Cryptedvick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 4,949
Rep: 265 (Unique: 234)
What are your idle and load temps? What are your cinebench temps?
Try and reset bios to default specs and disable all power saving features or any auto overclocking features it might have.
Use fixed voltage and set 1.25v with x45 multi on all cores and leave the uncore at x45 as well.
Use LLC max value to keep voltage fixed and start from there and see what kind of temps you're getting.

C2D 6750 -> C2Q 6600 -> C2Q 9550 -> i7 2600k -> i7 8700k
8800GT -> 8800GTS 512 -> GTX285 -> GTX480 -> GTX580 -> GTX780ti -> GTX980ti -> GTX1080ti
R.I.P. Daniel Costin (Syrillian)
Animal Mother
(19 items)
CPU
i7 8700k 5Ghz/4.8Ghz uncore 1.39v delid
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080Ti GamingX @ 2063Mhz/6000Mhz
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengeance 3600Mhz CL16 1.4v Hynix
Hard Drive
Kingston UV400 240GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2x640GB Raid 0
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 2TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green 2x3TB
Hard Drive
WD Elements 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair TX750W V2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 w/MX4
Case
Cooler Master 690 II Advanced + 7 case fans
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
LG 29UM69G 2560x1080 @ 75Hz
Keyboard
Redragon Yama
Mouse
Redragon Titanoboa 2
Audio
Asus Xonar DX / Plantronics Gamecom 777 / Logitech Z506
Other
Oculus Rift CV1 + G27 wheel.
▲ hide details ▲


Cryptedvick is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,574
Rep: 365 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
im having some trouble getting my stock 9900K stable. auto settings is stable enough for games (throttles in benchmarks due to so much voltage) but the motherboard pushes 1.42V under load and obviously i cant keep it cool so it throttles even in cinebench r15. i must be doing something wrong or something is not working correctly even if i manually set 1.225V it still blue screens with sometimes with irql_not_less_or_equal and sometimes with whea. and even with 1.3v it freezes with the audio going bananas (just happened in battlefield 5 single player) I just dont know what else to try im considering doing an RMA and getting a replacement because something is clearly wrong here my 4790k worked out of the box and didnt need a million volts to be stable. any insight as to a fix would really be appreciated.
Did you remember to set loadline calibration?

Try 1.250v manual voltage, Loadline Calibration Turbo. Set VCCIO to 1.10v set VCCSA to 1.20v. AVX offset 0 (or auto). Set core ratio to x47. Set cache ratio to 43. Disable MCE, set CPU Current Limit to 255 amps, CPU vcore current protection to extreme (if your board has it), package power limits long/short to 500 watts, disable all c-states, power management, disable voltage optimization and energy efficient turbo. Keep RAM at stock and then test and play games and see if its stable before setting XMP.

If you are NOT stable at these settings, RMA the CPU.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
Nvidia Enthusiast
 
philhalo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 9,613
Rep: 264 (Unique: 206)
a friend told me to reflash the bios as he had similar problems on his aorua master and after flashing the new bios its rock solid stable at default settings and voltages are 1.19V-1.21V under load and temps are also alot lower. i was getting 86C before and now its 70C maximum during cinabench. not sure why but just a bios relfash fixed it.

gaming rig
(17 items)
CPU
Intel Core i9 9900K
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z390 AORUS PRO
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 2126MHz/11GHz
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws V DDR4 3600MHz 16GB
Hard Drive
HGST 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 2.5 Inch 2TB
Hard Drive
Kingston UV400 480GB SSD
Optical Drive
LG Blu Ray drive
Power Supply
Corsair RM850i 850W
Cooling
Corsair H115i /W Modded backplate
Case
Corsair C70 Gunmetal
Operating System
windows 10 Pro 1607
Monitor
HP 24W
Monitor
AOC i2269vw
Keyboard
G.SKILL RIPJAWS KM780 MX
Mouse
Razer Deathadder Elite
Audio
Creative X-FI Titanium
▲ hide details ▲
philhalo66 is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 08:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,574
Rep: 365 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by philhalo66 View Post
a friend told me to reflash the bios as he had similar problems on his aorua master and after flashing the new bios its rock solid stable at default settings and voltages are 1.19V-1.21V under load and temps are also alot lower. i was getting 86C before and now its 70C maximum during cinabench. not sure why but just a bios relfash fixed it.
You were using the stock bios? Oh those are always really fun... yikes.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off