9700k stock Overheating with H110i - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9700k stock Overheating with H110i

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
frozenwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 160
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
9700k stock Overheating with H110i

I typed a nice post out and my 2 year old came over and turned my PC off, so now I'm gonna have to cut this one short.

Bought a new CPU and Motherboard (Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro) and my new CPU is hitting 90C or higher when playing any remotely intensive game. Any stress tests immediately shoots up to 90C within 2 seconds.

Tried reseating the heatsink three times, which I haven't had to do in over 10 years. Each time, same problem. My H110i is used from my previous build (6600k) and was on there for about three years. I'm concerned that perhaps the copper plate is warped. It looks like it's leaving a weird pattern, the paste is almost missing from the middle in the shape of a line, almost all of it is on the outside edges of the IHS. I don't know if it's making bad contact, or too much contact in the middle. I took some pics. No big deal if I have to buy a new cooler, just want to make sure this looks weird to you guys too.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190321_101323099.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	1.82 MB
ID:	260482  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190321_101232247.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	260484  

frozenwings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 08:02 AM
Senior Overclocker
 
Cryptedvick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 4,949
Rep: 265 (Unique: 234)
It could be the 3 years old H110i that has developed pump problems. It's known to happen. It should really not hit those temps.
TIM spread looks normal, not perfect, but normal.

Do you have the option to try out a different cooler?
Do you still have warranty on the H110i?

C2D 6750 -> C2Q 6600 -> C2Q 9550 -> i7 2600k -> i7 8700k
8800GT -> 8800GTS 512 -> GTX285 -> GTX480 -> GTX580 -> GTX780ti -> GTX980ti -> GTX1080ti
R.I.P. Daniel Costin (Syrillian)
Animal Mother
(19 items)
CPU
i7 8700k 5Ghz/4.8Ghz uncore 1.39v delid
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080Ti GamingX @ 2063Mhz/6000Mhz
RAM
16GB Corsair Vengeance 3600Mhz CL16 1.4v Hynix
Hard Drive
Kingston UV400 240GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2x640GB Raid 0
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Red 2TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green 2x3TB
Hard Drive
WD Elements 2TB
Power Supply
Corsair TX750W V2
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 w/MX4
Case
Cooler Master 690 II Advanced + 7 case fans
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
LG 29UM69G 2560x1080 @ 75Hz
Keyboard
Redragon Yama
Mouse
Redragon Titanoboa 2
Audio
Asus Xonar DX / Plantronics Gamecom 777 / Logitech Z506
Other
Oculus Rift CV1 + G27 wheel.
▲ hide details ▲


Cryptedvick is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
frozenwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 160
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I put it back on the 6600k and it works fine. Wouldn't that be overheating too if the pump wasn't working?

As for the TIM, I've always had a nearly even layer over the entire IHS, except maybe a spot here or there.

I hope it's not the CPU itself.

Edit: No, I don't have another heatsink for this socket sitting around to test
frozenwings is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,161
Rep: 54 (Unique: 43)
Quote: Originally Posted by frozenwings View Post
I put it back on the 6600k and it works fine. Wouldn't that be overheating too if the pump wasn't working?

As for the TIM, I've always had a nearly even layer over the entire IHS, except maybe a spot here or there.

I hope it's not the CPU itself.

Edit: No, I don't have another heatsink for this socket sitting around to test
The AIO might not be working at full capacity for the 9700k. Do you have all cores running at 4.9GHz or is it turboing one core at 4.9GHz?

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ComansoRowlett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 71
Rep: 0
I'd be aware of MCE (multi-core enhancement) also, and what auto voltages your motherboard is setting. Try manually setting a lower multiplier/low voltage and see if you get the same result, 9900K's run pretty darn hot and some boards go nuts with auto voltage (especially with MCE as some board have it automatically on out the box). Good luck!

CPU
Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
2080Ti FE (Buildzoid edition)
RAM
G.skill Trident Z 4600MHz CL19
Power Supply
Leadex Superflower 1000W platinum
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv
Monitor
ASUS PG278QR
Monitor
ASUS MG28U
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
Corsair Schimitar
Other
Samsung 970 pro 1TB
▲ hide details ▲
ComansoRowlett is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 07:53 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,461
Rep: 952 (Unique: 587)
Definitely take voltage off auto and set it manually. On the BIOS my board shipped with it was pumping >1.4v through the CPU on load when it needed <1.2v. The later 1.8/1.9 BIOS fixed it somewhat but it still puts ~1.3v if I leave it on auto when it's not needed.

Currently I have it set so it can hit an all core turbo of 5.0 on 6 cores and 4.9 on all 8 and am running on auto with a -0.015v offset (~1.275v max) and it works great on my H115i.

Was running a fixed 5.0 on all cores for a bit and my H115i handled it okay but it wanted at least 1.3v.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(7 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-21-2019, 09:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
frozenwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 160
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
It was 100% the cooler. I think it was probably the pump wasn't operating at full capacity or something, like Cryptedvick stated right off the bat. I went to Best Buy and they had an H115i on the shelf so I scooped it up. Came home and plopped it in and was running 50-54c running some stress tests.

wingman99 is probably right that it's just not operating at full capacity, which is harder to notice on the 600k. But, I did find out Corsair's coolers have a 5 year warranty. I'm on year 3 so I think I'm gonna try and RMA it.

Now that I'm no longer suffering catastrophic meltdown at stock settings, time to get to what we all come here for

Thanks all for the help.
frozenwings is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-22-2019, 05:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,161
Rep: 54 (Unique: 43)
Quote: Originally Posted by frozenwings View Post
It was 100% the cooler. I think it was probably the pump wasn't operating at full capacity or something, like Cryptedvick stated right off the bat. I went to Best Buy and they had an H115i on the shelf so I scooped it up. Came home and plopped it in and was running 50-54c running some stress tests.

wingman99 is probably right that it's just not operating at full capacity, which is harder to notice on the 600k. But, I did find out Corsair's coolers have a 5 year warranty. I'm on year 3 so I think I'm gonna try and RMA it.

Now that I'm no longer suffering catastrophic meltdown at stock settings, time to get to what we all come here for

Thanks all for the help.
Glad to see that a new AIO fixed the problem. I was just wondering did you have the old cooler H110i installed in the front of the case or top? If it was in front it might have been low on coolant to the pump.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
frozenwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 160
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
Glad to see that a new AIO fixed the problem. I was just wondering did you have the old cooler H110i installed in the front of the case or top? If it was in front it might have been low on coolant to the pump.
I had it on the top. After I got the new cooler hooked up, I ended up hooking up the older one to a header so I could put my ear against it and listen to it outside of the case. When it was installed inside my computer, I couldn't get my head in close enough to listen to it. It sounded like something was grating/grinding inside of it.
frozenwings is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off