I5-7300HQ Overclocking - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

I5-7300HQ Overclocking

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-27-2019, 05:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
I5-7300HQ Overclocking

I own a Dell 15 7577 which has a i5-7300HQ 2.5ghz up to a 3.5ghz boost. All four cores only go up to 3.1ghz and I want to try to get all four up to 3.3ghz to 3.5ghz. I have been researching for the past week trying to get all the information I can. I do understand that everyone will say its a laptop its not a good idea well the CPU now runs between 60 to 65 under max load. I am not trying to do anything crazy. So from what I read people say that it is not possible to overclock this chip but I have read someone was able to overclock their i7-7700HQ by 300mhz. I realize they are not the same chip but they are both HQ's and I am very determined to figure this out. Was just wondering if we could come together and figure this out

I want better performance in X4 foundations as it is very CPU intensive and I do not have the money to get another computer for a little while.

From what I have read I think it might be possible with SETFSB if I am able to figure out the PLL and input it into SETFSB or somehow unlock throttlestop to allow me to check the overclock box in the FIVR tab. I definitely could be wrong though. XTU frequency's are greyed out.


Thanks for any input!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Overclock.png
Views:	41
Size:	643.7 KB
ID:	261780  

Chris Peterson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 03-30-2019, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
So im almost a 100% sure the chip cant be overclock but when I was on HMBOT today I saw XTU benchmark scores 300marks higher than mine. Does anyone have any idea what settings I could change to get to that score?

mines is high 600's

The record on HMBOT for XTU is 920, with multiple other people in the 900's.
Chris Peterson is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-01-2019, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
So last night beat the top CPU benchmark on user benchmark. I was able to get a around a 10% percent performance increase by changing the voltages. The problem is that I don't know exactly what I'm doing so it might be possible to get more I just don't want to kill my chip. If anyone could chime in that knows what there doing and maybe help me dial in the voltages to get the maximum performance. I received the score with the chip pull 35.7W and I have no idea how to get it to pull the full 45W which I guess might raise the performance more?
Chris Peterson is offline  
Reply

Tags
i5-7300hq , Intel , intel i5 , Overclock , overclocking

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off