9900k 5GHz overclock fluctuating and not turbo boosting under stress - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900k 5GHz overclock fluctuating and not turbo boosting under stress

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SixStones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lion City
Posts: 24
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
9900k 5GHz overclock fluctuating and not turbo boosting under stress

Pardon my noob question

I overclocked my 9900k to 5ghz recently with a 1.32v set in bios.

My temps are around 30+ idle and 60+ Gaming. It hits 70 sometimes under stress.


However I notice that in games, all my cores are fluctuating between 4.8-4.9-5ghz on different cores.

I understand that 5ghz I’m getting is for turbo boost and idle its way lower.

I am not getting a fixed 5ghz on all cores like what’s I saw on YouTube videos.

Also when I run prime 95, my clock speed will go way below boost clock under 100% load.

What are the settings that I need to look into? Perhaps I can find some tutorials on YouTube on how to set it correctly.

SixStones is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 02:30 PM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 467
Rep: 23 (Unique: 9)
Do you have an AVX offset configured?

Have you examined motherboard power limits to make sure your motherboard isn't throttling back due to power limits?

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case
jfriend00 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 08:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,225
Rep: 58 (Unique: 43)
You can run Intel Extreme Tuning Utility (Intel XTU) while stress testing to see if there is throttling and what is throttling. LINK: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SixStones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lion City
Posts: 24
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by jfriend00 View Post
Do you have an AVX offset configured?

Have you examined motherboard power limits to make sure your motherboard isn't throttling back due to power limits?

Yes its configured to 3.

I tried setting it to 0

also set my CPU Ratio mode from dynamic to fixed

and cpu core voltage from auto to override

I also increased my core voltage from 1.32 to 1.35

I do get it fixed at 5ghz throughout the whole test with this but I scored way lower in Timespy compared to my previous settings.

SixStones is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 845
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
sounds to me like you are still operating under "stock" conditions and turbo boost algorithm is taking over. only other reason it would downclock is thermal overload and your temperatures are fine, so it's not that.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum
ssateneth is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 11:22 PM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 467
Rep: 23 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by SixStones View Post
Yes its configured to 3.

I tried setting it to 0

also set my CPU Ratio mode from dynamic to fixed

and cpu core voltage from auto to override

I also increased my core voltage from 1.32 to 1.35

I do get it fixed at 5ghz throughout the whole test with this but I scored way lower in Timespy compared to my previous settings.
Well, using an AVX offset of 3 means that your CPU speed can fluctuate between whatever you have it overclocked to and 0.3MHz below that so, for example, between 5.0GHz and 4.7GHz depending upon whether the current use of the CPU is using AVX instructions or not.

I notice you didn't answer the other question about CPU power limits which can also cause the motherboard to automatically reduce the speed of your processor.

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case
jfriend00 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 12:03 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SixStones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lion City
Posts: 24
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by jfriend00 View Post
Well, using an AVX offset of 3 means that your CPU speed can fluctuate between whatever you have it overclocked to and 0.3MHz below that so, for example, between 5.0GHz and 4.7GHz depending upon whether the current use of the CPU is using AVX instructions or not.

I notice you didn't answer the other question about CPU power limits which can also cause the motherboard to automatically reduce the speed of your processor.
Thanks for the reply man.

My CPU power / voltage are set to the maximum in bios that it can go.

I am still getting 3.6ghz in Cinnebench R15 instead of full 5ghz.

My Timespy scores badly too

No idea why tho. Probably just bad luck and bad chip

SixStones is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 12:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
SixStones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lion City
Posts: 24
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Update : all my cores are stable fixed at 5ghz while gaming. But not when benchmarking under 100% load

SixStones is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 01:36 AM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 467
Rep: 23 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by SixStones View Post
Update : all my cores are stable fixed at 5ghz while gaming. But not when benchmarking under 100% load
That sounds like you are hitting motherboard power limits which you need to increase or hitting thermal throttle for getting too hot. Or the benchmark is using AVX instructions and triggering the AVX offset.

I see no evidence of a bad chip yet, not sure why you're jumping to that conclusion. Chips downclock for a specific reason which you can determine, not because you got a bad chip.

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case
jfriend00 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 07:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,225
Rep: 58 (Unique: 43)
You can run Intel Extreme Tuning Utility (Intel XTU) while stress testing to see if there is throttling and what is throttling. LINK: https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/24075
Have you run Intel XTU yet?

Click image for larger version

Name:	VRM throttle.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	276.6 KB
ID:	264780

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off