I7 9700k adaptive vcore is not working - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

I7 9700k adaptive vcore is not working

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
robalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 188
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I7 9700k adaptive vcore is not working

Hi!

Just upgraded to i7 9700k and asus rog strix z390-f gaming. I have found a stable voltage from manuell vcore.
Now i want to use adoptive vcore, but no matter what i type i get 1.288v in windows. I can even type 1.2v and get 1.288v in windows. (in uefi it shows 1.2v)

Please help me with this guys.

robalm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 04:53 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,808
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote: Originally Posted by robalm View Post
Hi!

Just upgraded to i7 9700k and asus rog strix z390-f gaming. I have found a stable voltage from manuell vcore.
Now i want to use adoptive vcore, but no matter what i type i get 1.288v in windows. I can even type 1.2v and get 1.288v in windows. (in uefi it shows 1.2v)

Please help me with this guys.
It may be due to the 'Processor power management' setting in Power Options in Windows. "Minimum processor state" should be set extremely low. Try 0%.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-14-2019, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
robalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 188
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
It may be due to the 'Processor power management' setting in Power Options in Windows. "Minimum processor state" should be set extremely low. Try 0%.
Come on man, that makes no sense.

robalm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 12:53 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,808
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote: Originally Posted by robalm View Post
Come on man, that makes no sense.
Did you even bother to try changing the setting? Check it. I bet you have it at 100%. Change it as I recommended.

Or, refuse to do what I recommend. I really don't care. It's your computer, not mine. You asked for help. I gave it.


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
robalm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 188
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by TwoCables View Post
Did you even bother to try changing the setting? Check it. I bet you have it at 100%. Change it as I recommended.

Or, refuse to do what I recommend. I really don't care. It's your computer, not mine. You asked for help. I gave it.
I found the problem. You can't set a lower vcore in adoptive then your what your VID is.

What you say make me think that you don't know anything about overclocking?

robalm is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 10:05 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,808
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)
Quote: Originally Posted by robalm View Post
I found the problem. You can't set a lower vcore in adoptive then your what your VID is.

What you say make me think that you don't know anything about overclocking?
Look man, I told you what I know FROM EXPERIENCE. Did you try it? Yes or no?


Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by TwoCables; 04-15-2019 at 10:19 AM.
TwoCables is online now  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 05:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,168
Rep: 54 (Unique: 43)
With ASUS you can use IA AC/DC load line= 0.01 or negative offset to lower the core voltage. Best to use IA AC/DC load line so the off idle voltage will not be reduced with offset.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is online now  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 05:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,575
Rep: 365 (Unique: 260)
Quote: Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
With ASUS you can use IA AC/DC load line= 0.01 or negative offset to lower the core voltage. Best to use IA AC/DC load line so the off idle voltage will not be reduced with offset.
Just did some testing with this actually.
Not with AC=0.01 mOhms, but with 1.6 mOhms (intel max specification)

With full auto voltages (no offsets) and AC 160, DC 160 (1.6 mOhms), 5 ghz core and 4.7. ghz cache, and Loadline Calibration set to Standard (default/Normal), the CPU's default idle VID was 1.404v in bios and windows. The VR VOUT matched the VID by 5mv.

Running small FFT AVX prime95 dropped both the VID and VR VOUT down to 1.245v, pulling a nice uncoolable 185 (!) amps, and temps reached 100C in 25 seconds (no crash) so I ended the test. Looks like the AC loadline handled "vdroop countering" by boosting the VID, to keep enough voltage to run 5 ghz in "Intel's hot specs", without dealing with the transient response/spikes/voltage regulation issues from using Loadline Calibration.

(protip: never, ever use auto voltages without offsets, with ACLL=1.6 mOhms and Turbo loadline calibration, ever. Do that and you will be looking at 1.5v+ in windows. A high AC loadline and a high LLC should never be used simultaneously (except on manual vcore, which ignores the AC loadline value).

Nice experiment, but went back to 1.285v manual, LLC Turbo. Something rubs me the wrong way about seeing 1.4v VR VOUT at idle.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 04-15-2019 at 06:01 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 10:34 PM
Gunnery Sergeant Hartman
 
Intrud3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 201
Rep: 7 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Just did some testing with this actually.
Not with AC=0.01 mOhms, but with 1.6 mOhms (intel max specification)

With full auto voltages (no offsets) and AC 160, DC 160 (1.6 mOhms), 5 ghz core and 4.7. ghz cache, and Loadline Calibration set to Standard (default/Normal), the CPU's default idle VID was 1.404v in bios and windows. The VR VOUT matched the VID by 5mv.

Running small FFT AVX prime95 dropped both the VID and VR VOUT down to 1.245v, pulling a nice uncoolable 185 (!) amps, and temps reached 100C in 25 seconds (no crash) so I ended the test. Looks like the AC loadline handled "vdroop countering" by boosting the VID, to keep enough voltage to run 5 ghz in "Intel's hot specs", without dealing with the transient response/spikes/voltage regulation issues from using Loadline Calibration.

(protip: never, ever use auto voltages without offsets, with ACLL=1.6 mOhms and Turbo loadline calibration, ever. Do that and you will be looking at 1.5v+ in windows. A high AC loadline and a high LLC should never be used simultaneously (except on manual vcore, which ignores the AC loadline value).

Nice experiment, but went back to 1.285v manual, LLC Turbo. Something rubs me the wrong way about seeing 1.4v VR VOUT at idle.
Have you tried AC/DC Loadline = Power Saving ?
Think you might like it.

I'm running at:
5.0/4.7
AC/DC Loadline = Power Saving
Vcore Loadline = Low (gonna try Auto later on this week, needs more + DVID probably)
Vcore = normal
DVID = +0.020V

My VR VOUT using this setting doesn't exceed 1.313V. Under prime small fft (no avx) load it drops to 1.256V.
Realbench runs at around 1.256V - 1.280V

i9 9900K: Base Clock = 100 | CPU Clock Ratio = 50 | AVX Offset = 0 | Uncore Ratio = 47 | Internal AC/DC Load Line = Power Saving | Vcore Loadline Calibration = Auto | Vcore = Normal | DVID = +0.030V | BCLK Adaptive Voltage = Disabled | SVID offset = Disabled | VCCIO = 1.200V (1.188V) | VCCSA = 1.220V (1.224V-1.248V)| Intel Turbo Boost Technology = Auto | Intel SST = Enabled | C-States = Anything above C3 disabled | CPU EIST Function = Enabled
My Precious
(20 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
GPU
MSI GTX 970
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB 3200Mhz CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Hard Drive
WD 2 TB HDD
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X72
Case
Corsair Crystal 570X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung UE40D6530 40"
Monitor
Samsung 226BW
Monitor
Iiyama Prolite E2208HDS
Monitor
Dell 2209WA
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G903
Mousepad
Logitech Powerplay
Audio
Onkyo TX-NR509 (hdmi)
▲ hide details ▲
Intrud3r is online now  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 04-15-2019, 10:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,168
Rep: 54 (Unique: 43)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Just did some testing with this actually.
Not with AC=0.01 mOhms, but with 1.6 mOhms (intel max specification)

With full auto voltages (no offsets) and AC 160, DC 160 (1.6 mOhms), 5 ghz core and 4.7. ghz cache, and Loadline Calibration set to Standard (default/Normal), the CPU's default idle VID was 1.404v in bios and windows. The VR VOUT matched the VID by 5mv.

Running small FFT AVX prime95 dropped both the VID and VR VOUT down to 1.245v, pulling a nice uncoolable 185 (!) amps, and temps reached 100C in 25 seconds (no crash) so I ended the test. Looks like the AC loadline handled "vdroop countering" by boosting the VID, to keep enough voltage to run 5 ghz in "Intel's hot specs", without dealing with the transient response/spikes/voltage regulation issues from using Loadline Calibration.

(protip: never, ever use auto voltages without offsets, with ACLL=1.6 mOhms and Turbo loadline calibration, ever. Do that and you will be looking at 1.5v+ in windows. A high AC loadline and a high LLC should never be used simultaneously (except on manual vcore, which ignores the AC loadline value).

Nice experiment, but went back to 1.285v manual, LLC Turbo. Something rubs me the wrong way about seeing 1.4v VR VOUT at idle.
ASUS IA AC/DC load line setting is 0.01 for the lowest SVID core voltage. Gigabyte IA AC/DC load line setting is 1 for the lowest DVID core voltage.

I was showing the setting for ASUS not the mOhms.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
wingman99 is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off