9700K Z270 Coffee Lake Mod Low VID values - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9700K Z270 Coffee Lake Mod Low VID values

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 05:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
9700K Z270 Coffee Lake Mod Low VID values

Hi,

Was wondering if there are others out there that have tried a coffee lake mod on their Z270 motherboards and noticed low VID values?

I recently modded my Asus Z270-WS to run a 9700K and it runs fine as far as I can tell except the VID values according to HWInfo and CoreTemp seem low
at .95 - 1.008 volts. Only Cpu-Z states the actual vcore I put in bios. How can I tell whats the real Vcore? On my motherboard there is no VROut.

Reason I ask is that my Windows installation got corrupted first time. Not sure if because Asus was trying to auto overclock the cpu or not.
Got another Windows installation in there now and but have to run Prime95 to see how stable it is.

Thanks

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 11:51 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,075
Rep: 995 (Unique: 605)
maybe something @Samsarulz or @mllrkllr88 can answer, I know they've done the Z170/Z270 mod for Coffee Lake.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 12:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Voltages all over the place

Yeah not sure whats up with the low VID values. Need expert hacker/overclocker help.

Going to try to cross flash the bios of a Z390-WS Pro onto the Z270-WS and see if it works and if the VID values get fixed.

Thanks

Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 12:31 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,075
Rep: 995 (Unique: 605)
Can't imagine that'd end well

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 01:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Can't imagine that'd end well
We will find out soon enough!

Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 01:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,831
Rep: 377 (Unique: 269)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Yeah not sure whats up with the low VID values. Need expert hacker/overclocker help.

Going to try to cross flash the bios of a Z390-WS Pro onto the Z270-WS and see if it works and if the VID values get fixed.

Thanks
Low VID values?
Easy.

Set AC Loadline / DC Loadline manually to 1.6 mOhms (be careful of the dividers!! Gigabyte value is 160. Setting 16 (16 mOhms) in an Asus Bios will probably blow up the board or CPU, if the max value is 62.49 that's 62.49 mOhms, so you need 1.6 in an Asus Bios (raw mOhm value). Gigabyte (and probably MSI) use a /100 divider. E.g. 160/100 = 1.6.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 01:13 PM
External VRM FTW
 
mllrkllr88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 2,269
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Yeah not sure whats up with the low VID values. Need expert hacker/overclocker help.

Going to try to cross flash the bios of a Z390-WS Pro onto the Z270-WS and see if it works and if the VID values get fixed.

Thanks
Firstly, you cannot flash Z390 on to Z270 or even Z370. Even if you get around the flash protection and flash the bios IC's standalone, the chipset fabrication lithography is different so it truly will not work (22nm vs 14nm).

Every motherboard brand will read different VID values and OS based software readings shouldn't be trusted. The bios will show the VID voltage, but if you are interested then you should definitely use a millimeter to find the actual voltage. If you don't know where to put your probes to get the voltage, you can always read it from the cokes...

24/7 BENCH
(9 items)
CPU
[LGA115x] 8700k, 7700K, 7350k, G3258
CPU
[LGA2066] 7940X, 7740X
Motherboard
[OCF FTW] X299 OCF, Z170M OCF, Z97 OCF
GPU
E-Power, G-Power, H-Power, A-Power
RAM
B-DIE, HYKO, PSC, MFR
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Platinum 1200W
Cooling
Kingpin Cooling: Venom & T-REX
Cooling
2x360 RAD Custom Loop
Case
Dimastech Easy V3.0
▲ hide details ▲


mllrkllr88 is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 03:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Samsarulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Santiago, Chile
Posts: 373
Rep: 11 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Hi,

Was wondering if there are others out there that have tried a coffee lake mod on their Z270 motherboards and noticed low VID values?

I recently modded my Asus Z270-WS to run a 9700K and it runs fine as far as I can tell except the VID values according to HWInfo and CoreTemp seem low
at .95 - 1.008 volts. Only Cpu-Z states the actual vcore I put in bios. How can I tell whats the real Vcore? On my motherboard there is no VROut.

Reason I ask is that my Windows installation got corrupted first time. Not sure if because Asus was trying to auto overclock the cpu or not.
Got another Windows installation in there now and but have to run Prime95 to see how stable it is.

Thanks
Real vCore is the one that's measured with a DMM (Digital MultiMeter). Some MBs have V-Chech points where youcan attach a DMM or connect some cables. All other vCores from apps are close but not "real". IMHO always believe CPU-Z.


Quote: Originally Posted by mllrkllr88 View Post
Firstly, you cannot flash Z390 on to Z270 or even Z370. Even if you get around the flash protection and flash the bios IC's standalone, the chipset fabrication lithography is different so it truly will not work (22nm vs 14nm).

Every motherboard brand will read different VID values and OS based software readings shouldn't be trusted. The bios will show the VID voltage, but if you are interested then you should definitely use a millimeter to find the actual voltage. If you don't know where to put your probes to get the voltage, you can always read it from the cokes...
Maybe if is Z370 to Z270 it could be. But what the thread creator is saying is madness haha. You need to take Z390 WS BIOS and mod it to be compatible with Z270 WS MB. There was a dude called Danke in HWBOT modding BIOS, maybe you can contact him for some modded BIOS . Latest unofficial BIOS releases for Apex IX (Z270) are from Apex X BIOS (Z370) to give an example.

Regards




Last edited by Samsarulz; 05-24-2019 at 03:29 AM.
Samsarulz is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 08:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
davidm71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1,180
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
Thanks for all the replies. Sorry to get back you late. Wasn’t getting notifications there were replies. Anyhow I soon realized that grafting a Z390 bios onto Z270 is not possible and would never work. So gave up on that and stuck with just modding the Z270-WS stock ver 701 bios using the Easy Coffee Lake mod tool at Win-Raid. Got it working nice except for example if I set 1.325v I get 1.280v being reported or less according to a CPU-Z. Got Speedstep, EIST, and C-States turned on though so I guess the voltage can fluctuate.

At first I played with DC load line values going as high as 50 to see the effect and then reset it back down after a reboot. Didnt know at the time that literally 1.6 value is the max. Asus bios engineers should have been more clear in their descriptions. Thank god I got extended warranty on the 9700k but it seems stable.

Anyhow my board has two different ways it calculates vid values. First one is through Asus multi core enhancement setting. Disabling that sets the cpu to use Intel standard settings. I didn’t notice much difference. Going to have to use a voltmeter I guess to make sure voltages are accurate. Not sure how else to get the voltages close to its actual setting.

Thanks

Save with EVGA. Associate code: K8XL098LGS5O4WZ
Z390 Master
(8 items)
CPU
9900K
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 FTW2 SLI
RAM
Gskill F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 PRO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
Custom water loop
Operating System
Windows 10 64
▲ hide details ▲
davidm71 is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 10:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,831
Rep: 377 (Unique: 269)
Quote: Originally Posted by davidm71 View Post
Thanks for all the replies. Sorry to get back you late. Wasn’t getting notifications there were replies. Anyhow I soon realized that grafting a Z390 bios onto Z270 is not possible and would never work. So gave up on that and stuck with just modding the Z270-WS stock ver 701 bios using the Easy Coffee Lake mod tool at Win-Raid. Got it working nice except for example if I set 1.325v I get 1.280v being reported or less according to a CPU-Z. Got Speedstep, EIST, and C-States turned on though so I guess the voltage can fluctuate.

At first I played with DC load line values going as high as 50 to see the effect and then reset it back down after a reboot. Didnt know at the time that literally 1.6 value is the max. Asus bios engineers should have been more clear in their descriptions. Thank god I got extended warranty on the 9700k but it seems stable.

Anyhow my board has two different ways it calculates vid values. First one is through Asus multi core enhancement setting. Disabling that sets the cpu to use Intel standard settings. I didn’t notice much difference. Going to have to use a voltmeter I guess to make sure voltages are accurate. Not sure how else to get the voltages close to its actual setting.

Thanks
DC Loadline is irrelevant and does absolutely nothing as far as the VRM is concerned.

It's used for power measurements only, nothing more.
DC Loadline only affects CPU Package Power (VID * Amps), and VID reported to the operating system by the CPU. It's not used for operating voltages at all.
DC Loadline affects the "Boosted" (AC Loadline) VID by "Vdrooping" the loadline by the value of DC Loadline mOhms * Amps (Current).

Setting a DC loadline of 62.49 vs 0.01 does nothing as far as operating voltages are concerned.

Operating voltages are controlled by AC loadline (when NOT On manual voltages; on manual voltages AC loadline is ignored also).
CPU pre-programmed default VID is biased upwards by AC Loadline in mOhms (1.6 mOhms is max spec for 8 core CPU's), and is boosted up to a MAXIMUM Of the CPU's max VID (1.520v). It is boosted up differently at idle than at load, and also depends on the type of load as well. It's not a clear formula either. I used to think that very high values of AC Loadline would destroy the motherboard, but it "seems" like the CPU VID (and thus the voltage sent to the VRM) can NOT exceed 1.52v regardless of the value of AC Loadline, and only with offset capability (SVID) can the VID exceed 1.52v.

This voltage is then sent to the VRM as "target voltage" (which again will change depending on type of load or idle).
Then the "Loadline calibration" will then affect this target voltage (that's why if you are using 1.6 mOhms AC Loadline with auto voltages, you should keep LLC at Standard or Normal).

DC Loadline affects the VID *AFTER* the VRM receives the voltage signal (that was boosted by AC Loadline). Not before.
But that's why if DC Loadline= VRM Loadline (both are in mOhms), the CPU VID will be 100% accurate to your actual cpu voltage (if no offsets are used). VRM Loadline=loadline calibration (LLC).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off