Xeon E5 1680 V2 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Xeon E5 1680 V2

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
OC reply

Quote: Originally Posted by Moparman View Post
Nice OC you should have much more headroom. Might have a 4.6-4.8 chip never know.
duplicate sorry
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
OK here is the 4.4 Ghz showing 67 C currently - +11 C on the 4.2 Ghz also shown.

I'd need to go back to the 4.2 Ghz just to check it over to see if there were are any core loads going beneath 100%
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.4 GHz CPU-Z CORE TEMP.png
Views:	11
Size:	117.5 KB
ID:	271224  

Click image for larger version

Name:	P95 6 HRS+ 4.2 GHz.png
Views:	10
Size:	111.6 KB
ID:	271226  

fra z is offline  
post #13 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hello I've been running some Performance tests with the Passmark V9 software - The 4.2 Ghz OC is out performing the 4.4 Ghz OC - By several hundred points on average - Can anyone offer a good explanation for this? - RAM is 1600 Mhz DDR3 (there is some 1866 Mhz & 2400 RAM that could be used)_This one has me baffled slightly
fra z is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 12:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I'm having trouble with a base clock OC @ 4250 Mhz which doesn't make sense on X79 - Were there known problems with BCLK OC on X79? - It seems cores fail in P95 where they don't using ratio for OC Thanks -

125 x 34 - it just wouldn't get stable in P95 failing cores - 4250 MHz is only 50 more than 42 x100 and no problems with failing cores - 1.130-1.150v

Last edited by fra z; 05-25-2019 at 01:35 AM.
fra z is offline  
post #15 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 08:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
OK in a bid to simply things the best results have been obtained using 100 x 42 = 4200 Mhz - with 1.130_v_core - This may work lower - maybe not - but temps were MID 50's C P95 under load 6 hours BLEND + - OK it's not 24/7 proven but I reckon it's good -(I hope)_

DDR3 1600 & 1866 Mhz was used (separate RAM)__and I reckon 2400 Ghz @ 2133 would work too! or did do on Asus P9X79

3930K a while back Sandy Bridge E got 4.2 Ghz @ mid 60's - Is this the difference between IVY & SANDY and or Xeon being better binned? - The two mobo's used were Asus P9X79 Pro & X79 Deluxe - Maybe x79 Deluxe has better VRM?

Air cooler used (*a big one_)

Any comments welcome but this OC is now closed - (till the next one)_next time it won't take as long!

Last edited by fra z; 05-25-2019 at 08:38 AM.
fra z is offline  
post #16 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 09:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mahigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,771
Rep: 877 (Unique: 233)
The Xeon E5-1680 V2 is a 22nm Processor while the Core-i7 3930K is a 32nm Processor. I'm not sure if you've noticed but the default vCore on the 32nm parts is higher by default and overclocking a 3930K does take more voltage (generally speaking) than overclocking an E5-1680 V2. More voltage multiplied by Amps means more wattage and thus the 3930K does produce more heat. I think we did a similar upgrade going from a 3930K to an E5-1680V2.

I have my E5-1680 V2 clocked at 4.6GHz but getting there requires 1.3v. I can do 4.4GHz using 1.24v. Notice the big jump for such a small core clock increase? When you start ocing an E5-1680 V2 past 4.2-4.4 GHz the vCore required rises exponentially (generally speaking).

Good CPU though, lays waste to a Ryzen 2700x with relative ease.

"Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." - Arthur Conan Doyle (Sherlock Holmes)
Kn0wledge
(18 items)
CPU
Intel® Xeon E5-1680 V2 @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Extreme
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080Ti
RAM
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum PC3-17066
Hard Drive
WD Black NVMe M.2 2280
Hard Drive
256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Western Digital Caviar Black
Optical Drive
ASUS internal BW-12B1ST Blu-ray writer
Power Supply
XFX PRO1050W Black Edition
Case
Cosmos II Ultra Tower
Operating System
Windows 10
Operating System
Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance® K90 Performance
Mouse
Logitech G9x Laser Mouse
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX II
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Mahigan; 05-25-2019 at 09:19 AM.
Mahigan is offline  
post #17 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Hello Mahigan,

Yes I did notice the extra v-core needed to go from 4.2 to 4.4 - for me it's not worth it! -there is plenty performance @ 4.2 Ghz mid-18,000's CPU mark

And yes thanks for clarification on Sandy Bridge E 32 nm needing more v-vore due to the bigger micro-architecture.
fra z is offline  
post #18 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 10:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
voltage

Hi,

Looking at CPU-Z there is always a figure different to what appears in the BIOS - So in BIOS for this OC is 1.130_v - But in CPU-Z a 0.5xx_v_core is visible - Is there a BIOS setting that needs altering?

OK, looking into AIDA 64 CPU-ID (presumably this is a different program to CPU-Z ??? - And it appears the v-core is reflective of what is in the BIOS, however, it is 1.120_v (BIOS is 1.130_v)_Is there a droop here at Idle? -Any extra info is mega-helpful!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CORE VOLTAGE QUESTION.png
Views:	5
Size:	179.0 KB
ID:	271478  

fra z is offline  
post #19 of 21 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 09:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mahigan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,771
Rep: 877 (Unique: 233)
Set your Windows Power Options to High Performance or Ultimate Performance.

Your CPU is currently dynamically lowering its vCore while lowering the clock speed (Speed Step is enabled). You might also want to set your CPU Load Line Calibration to High in your BIOS if it already hasn't been done. Your vCore will always bounce around (there's a range) a bit but the higher your Load Line Calibration is set the more stable your vCore power delivery will be (but the CPU will also get additional voltage while under load).

"Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth." - Arthur Conan Doyle (Sherlock Holmes)
Kn0wledge
(18 items)
CPU
Intel® Xeon E5-1680 V2 @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Extreme
GPU
ASUS ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080Ti
RAM
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum PC3-17066
Hard Drive
WD Black NVMe M.2 2280
Hard Drive
256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Hard Drive
4TB Western Digital Caviar Black
Optical Drive
ASUS internal BW-12B1ST Blu-ray writer
Power Supply
XFX PRO1050W Black Edition
Case
Cosmos II Ultra Tower
Operating System
Windows 10
Operating System
Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Monitor
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance® K90 Performance
Mouse
Logitech G9x Laser Mouse
Audio
ASUS Xonar Essence STX II
▲ hide details ▲
Mahigan is offline  
post #20 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-08-2019, 09:22 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 616
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Thanks for the comments - I'll read through these again.

I did find that on the E5-1680-V2 - I could get to 4.3 Ghz for not much more v-core than 4.2 Ghz so I'd say 4.2-4.3 is the place for me - ON AIR !!!! - Really good considering the stock clocks are 3 Ghz

Looking at the gaming benchmarks the E5-1680-V2 did beat the 2700X and wasn't too far behind the 9900K (OK it was a bit behind_but not destroyed by it)_which means it'll be a great CPU and for the price as a used part !!!
fra z is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off