4670k OC bad chip? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

4670k OC bad chip?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2019, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
loki993's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 328
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
4670k OC bad chip?

Im trying to get a bit more life out of my chip while I want to see some stuff on the 10th gen intel chips and maybe some independent reviews of the zen 2s. Ive followed the 3 step overclockers.com guide, this one https://www.overclockers.com/3step-g...intel-haswell/. So far Ive only messed with the processor, I even doubt my ram will OC much if at all anyway since its some cheaper crucial balistix 1600 stuff.

What Im running

i5 4670k
Gigabyte z87 UD3H
24 gigs of ram crucial balistix 1600

Im using coretemp and Aida to monitor temps and AIDA stability testing to stress test.

Either way the first step in that guide it says here how you see how good your chip is....the guide said set the voltage to 1.25 and set the multiplier to 46 and see if the system boots. If it boots you have an average chip, it if boots and is stable your chip is above average..if it doesn't boot you are below average....mine didn't boot. In fact the thing wouldn't even post I had to reset the CMOS to get it running again. So I dropped down to 40 and everything was fine. 4.3 seemed to be a minimum OC for the 4670 so I set the multiplier to 43...system booted but it failed on the Aida test. I dropped it down to 42 and system appears to be fine and stable. I ran AIDA for 10 minutes or so and the temps never went above 74C. 10 minutes doesnt sound like a lot but the temps were pretty locked in, they were actuality 69 70 ish most if the time the 74 2 was a spike on one core. Ill run some more extensive testing...like for an hour or so but if this chip is as crappy as it appears to be I think Im going to run into stability issues far before I run into heat issues as long as I keep voltages relative conservative.

So the question is do I just have one of the worst 4670ks for overclocking or am I doing something wrong? I mean I was only looking for a conservative light OC anyway so 4.2 is fine but I was really hoping that I didn't just straight lose the silicon lottery and have a bottom 1 percentile chip
loki993 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 06:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrFart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
It seems your chip is as bad as mine. My 4670k on the Gryphon Z87 mATX can do 4.536Ghz at 1.375v with my Corsair Vengeance (4x4GB) 1600Mhz OC'ed to 2150Mhz at 10-11-11-32 1T and 1.7v.
Uncore is at 4.22Ghz and if you're wondering why 4.536 and 2150... it's because I cranked the BCLK a tiny bit to 100.8 to go from 4.5 to 4.536Ghz on the CPU, 2133 to 2150 on RAM and 4.2 to 4.22 on the Uncore.

It's a bit of a misconception that "anything over 1.3v on Haswell will FRY IT!!!" It's not true, I've been using mine at those voltages for more than a year now and it's still going strong. Though I can't vouch for your own sample, I can tell you that even 1.35v is relatively safe if you don't do anything that utilizes the AVX instruction set. I assume you're a content creator since you have 24 gigs of RAM, so if you are, check the programs you use and how much wattage is drawn through the CPU, AVX programs usually draw crazy amounts of power, it's why I don't use Prime95 to test for stability anymore, it uses upwards of around 120 watts on my CPU, that's insane. I always keep HWInfo and Rivatuner on when I game and the highest I ever saw the CPU power go is around 70-75 watts when it's loaded at 100% (Mind you the CPU's TDP is 84 watts, so even with this extreme voltage, I'm still under the TDP rating). So Prime95 is completely unnecessary and stresses the CPU with an unrealistic load. You're using AIDA64 which is what I also use, that's good. I might add Memtest86 if you wanna test your RAM and that's it.
I need to add that I delidded my CPU and used liquid metal between the silicon and the IHS, so temps are not a problem, 65c max, usually around 50-55c. Believe it or not, that's achieved with a 30 bucks Hyper 212X.

I attached a voltage limits table for Haswell, made by someone who posted an OC guide on this website (sorry I forgot who it was, and tried to look for the post but couldn't find it).
Though I wouldn't recommend using those limits as is, a minor step back from say 1.45 to 1.35 or even 1.4 will probably be okay if your temps are under control.

PS: Sorry about my stupid and cringy username, I created this account a while back.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1357890d_qfw3.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	107.2 KB
ID:	301298  


Last edited by MrFart; 10-19-2019 at 06:25 AM.
MrFart is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 06:31 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,762
Rep: 30 (Unique: 16)
What's your VRIN/Input Voltage, Ring Voltage and System Agent? Also, 24 gigs of RAM means you only have Dual Channel for up to 16GB of RAM usage, go beyond that and you lose at least 30% of performance. This amount also limits Haswell OC potential.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 11:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrFart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
What's your VRIN/Input Voltage, Ring Voltage and System Agent? Also, 24 gigs of RAM means you only have Dual Channel for up to 16GB of RAM usage, go beyond that and you lose at least 30% of performance. This amount also limits Haswell OC potential.
I forgot about the VRIN, good point. With my 1.375v on the Vcore I have the VRIN at 2v.

I've never heard that dual channel is limited to 16GB. Do you have any source for that?
MrFart is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 11:57 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,762
Rep: 30 (Unique: 16)
You have mixed capacity sticks, 2x8 and 2x4GB. Dual Channes is restricted strictly to the total capacity of the smallest set (2x4GB in this case, which shows I'm not good in quick maths ).


Too high VRIN can cause instability too, try anything from 1.78 to 2V, I had my 4690k on 1.96V, anything other caused instability.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 02:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrFart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
You have mixed capacity sticks, 2x8 and 2x4GB. Dual Channes is restricted strictly to the total capacity of the smallest set (2x4GB in this case, which shows I'm not good in quick maths ).


Too high VRIN can cause instability too, try anything from 1.78 to 2V, I had my 4690k on 1.96V, anything other caused instability.
I see what you mean if OP is using the config you're suggesting, when the dual 4GB DIMMs fill up, you'll lose performance since it can only then write to the 8GB DIMMs. But I think Windows memory management is smarter than that, still I have no data to confirm or deny so I can't really say anything for sure although it's an interesting question.
With that said, OP could be using 3x8GB sticks instead we just don't know.

2v is not giving me any problems, so I just left it there.
MrFart is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off