9900K @ 4.9GHz // 1.290vcore CONSTANT? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900K @ 4.9GHz // 1.290vcore CONSTANT?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
9900K @ 4.9GHz // 1.290vcore CONSTANT?

Basically I'm wondering if it's ok to run my 9900K @ 4.9GHz @ 1.290vcore CONSTANT (ie no offset or fluctuation in voltage // clockspeeds)

Essentially I've been unable to ANY overclock stable on this CPU+MOBO with any sort of offset/speedstep/c-states enabled - it only likes to run at a nice constant clockspeed+voltage.

Will this cause degradation within the CPU and/or IMC? I'm running a Fractal Celcius S36 (360mm) AIO for cooling and stress tests MAX OUT around 78-81c (dependent upon ambient) and gaming temps MAX OUT around mid-60s!

I've considered just running @ stock, however:

1) I paid for a ****ing K-sku overclockable CPU
2) Stock settings push the voltages upwards of 1.390-1.410vcore and the temps end up 10-14c HIGHER than when I'm running 4.9GHz @ 1.300vcore......

Thanks y'all!

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 02:55 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,093
Rep: 999 (Unique: 606)
it won't reduce life span a noticeable amount. I ran both a i5 6400 and i7 6700 for years at a fixed ~1.4v since BCLK OCing Skylake broke turbo and C-States. Both are still alive and well.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 03:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,847
Rep: 377 (Unique: 269)
Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Basically I'm wondering if it's ok to run my 9900K @ 4.9GHz @ 1.290vcore CONSTANT (ie no offset or fluctuation in voltage // clockspeeds)

Essentially I've been unable to ANY overclock stable on this CPU+MOBO with any sort of offset/speedstep/c-states enabled - it only likes to run at a nice constant clockspeed+voltage.

Will this cause degradation within the CPU and/or IMC? I'm running a Fractal Celcius S36 (360mm) AIO for cooling and stress tests MAX OUT around 78-81c (dependent upon ambient) and gaming temps MAX OUT around mid-60s!

I've considered just running @ stock, however:

1) I paid for a ****ing K-sku overclockable CPU
2) Stock settings push the voltages upwards of 1.390-1.410vcore and the temps end up 10-14c HIGHER than when I'm running 4.9GHz @ 1.300vcore......

Thanks y'all!
what motherboard?
What loadline calibration level ?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 10:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
what motherboard?
What loadline calibration level ?
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
LLC: Turbo

Anything less than Turbo seems to cause instability due to massive amounts of Vdroop under load.

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-23-2019, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Any other insights here? Right now I'm working on a dynamic overclock using the CPU Turbo Boost Multiplier. Settings are currently:

All cores x48 Turbo Boost (no x50 for 2 cores, x49 for 3 cores etc)
CPU Internal AC/DC Loadline: Performance
Loadline Calibration: Standard
VCCIO: 1.150v
VCCSA: 1.200v

Pretty much everything else standard. This currently gives a full-load Vcore of 1.272v (barely any higher than my manual overclock set @ 1.260vcore) but also allows idle voltage to drop to 0.600vcore and idle clocks to sit in the 800MHz range.

Testing games for any performance differences currently. Synthetics are a simple test as they fully load the CPU causing it lock on 4.80GHz @ 1.272vcore. Games seem to be a little different - all cores will always lock @ 4.80GHz but the core voltage fluctuates wildly (in CPU intensive games it'll sit @ the full 1.272vcore, however in non-intensive games it'll run as low as 1.150vcore).

Will this reduction in voltage have any effect on performance? Specifically FRAMETIMES as I'm running 144FPS @ 144Hz?

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 05:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
postem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 310
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
LLC: Turbo

Anything less than Turbo seems to cause instability due to massive amounts of Vdroop under load.
You probably have a bad chip i cant think of anything, i had some regular, not fantastic, like 7700K i needed 1,36v to reach 5ghz (not p95 avx stable but for everything else i do its fine). I always prefer fixed voltage but with speedstep to curb down voltage and frequency when im simply browsing.
With aorus ultra you shouldnt have any problem, its really strange, especially when you say about requirement of fixed frequency and how vdroop is causing issues.

What issues you have? Shutdown? Have you checked your PSU? If you can manage to run 4900 stable, it should be able to go down, unless there is something very weird happening with voltage regulation.
Also bios is updated? I dunno if there is any note about this on AORUS bios changelog
postem is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-24-2019, 05:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
postem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 310
Rep: 14 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Any other insights here? Right now I'm working on a dynamic overclock using the CPU Turbo Boost Multiplier. Settings are currently:

All cores x48 Turbo Boost (no x50 for 2 cores, x49 for 3 cores etc)
CPU Internal AC/DC Loadline: Performance
Loadline Calibration: Standard
VCCIO: 1.150v
VCCSA: 1.200v

Pretty much everything else standard. This currently gives a full-load Vcore of 1.272v (barely any higher than my manual overclock set @ 1.260vcore) but also allows idle voltage to drop to 0.600vcore and idle clocks to sit in the 800MHz range.

Testing games for any performance differences currently. Synthetics are a simple test as they fully load the CPU causing it lock on 4.80GHz @ 1.272vcore. Games seem to be a little different - all cores will always lock @ 4.80GHz but the core voltage fluctuates wildly (in CPU intensive games it'll sit @ the full 1.272vcore, however in non-intensive games it'll run as low as 1.150vcore).

Will this reduction in voltage have any effect on performance? Specifically FRAMETIMES as I'm running 144FPS @ 144Hz?
Depend on the game you are using, it will not use all cores, therefore some cores will remain underloaded with lower voltage and lower frequency, as a lot of games have affinity to physical cores vs distrbuting the load among sequential threads.
On a 4-6 cores cpu this is much more rare, as you will have several windows and other services running under cpu threads.

Some games like battlefield 5/1 and notable CPU hoggers and will eat all threads.

Unfortunally, beyond certain point, no matter what GPU you have, even 2080ti SLI, and even what cpu you have, you will be constrained by game code.
Over several years on 144 @ 144 train, i can say to you what is best to stay near it:
1) Best single card GPU: if you must go sli, but always use the top gpu. When i got a 2080ti, i was surprised how it gave me 20-30% better frames and better frametime and less lag/stutter than 1080 SLI
2) Best frequency CPU: You should aim for top clocks/IPC, with 6-8 cores. Currently i believe 6 cores @5.0-5.2 is the best setup available, as you will probably end with maxed cores, without maxing cpu. Also, unfortunally, some games tend to use a main thread that usually tops a single thread fully. This cant be solved except by redesigning the code
3) Good RAM: get the best frequency you can, with the tighter times you can. At least 3600, ideally 4000-4200, with the best timings you get.
4) Good SSD: Use a good NVME SSD, on your operating system, and depending on game, to load it too. You could be surprised how much it can affect experience, especially considering windows really need paging files
5) Use a non HOME version of windows 10: prefer Windows PRO or better Windows Enterprise, this last one allows you to reduce telemetry to bare bones. I usually strip my windows installations to bare bones, and on a 144hz machine i usually only run VMBOX. I found out using Hyper-v, even with it not running, make high hz gaming suffer a little due to hyper-v context change overhead. I even avoid to install office or any other thing, i prefer using another boot or machine for work.
postem is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 06-25-2019, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
LesPaulLover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 719
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Quote: Originally Posted by postem View Post
You probably have a bad chip i cant think of anything, i had some regular, not fantastic, like 7700K i needed 1,36v to reach 5ghz (not p95 avx stable but for everything else i do its fine). I always prefer fixed voltage but with speedstep to curb down voltage and frequency when im simply browsing.
With aorus ultra you shouldnt have any problem, its really strange, especially when you say about requirement of fixed frequency and how vdroop is causing issues.

What issues you have? Shutdown? Have you checked your PSU? If you can manage to run 4900 stable, it should be able to go down, unless there is something very weird happening with voltage regulation.
Also bios is updated? I dunno if there is any note about this on AORUS bios changelog
BSODs is the main problem. If I run at a dynamic voltage the system BSODs constantly.

I cannot RMA my chip Newegg already refused the return because TECHNICALLY there's nothing actually wrong with it.

CPU
Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard
Gigabyte X470 AORUS GAMING 7 WIFI
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
Team Dark Pro (TDPGD416G3200HC14ADC01)
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Pilot M.2 2280
Hard Drive
Intel 730 Series SSD
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
Cooling
Fractal Design Celsius S36
Case
Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
Monitor
ViewSonic XG2703-GS
▲ hide details ▲
LesPaulLover is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 07:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
K1llaHurtz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by LesPaulLover View Post
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Ultra
LLC: Turbo

Anything less than Turbo seems to cause instability due to massive amounts of Vdroop under load.
I'm a noob to this forum. But figured I would chime in as I am in a very similar boat with the same exact motherboard and CPU! I'm also running the z390 Aorus Ultra and 9900k and I've had little/no luck Overclocking to 5ghz with reasonable voltages and stability. Whenever I run Prime 95 on "Smallest" I get immediate BSOD's, on Small it's slightly more stable.

I've tried 1.25v - 1.38v with LLC on pretty much every setting but focused on Turbo and will see the voltages go up to 1.41 which I usually immediately just shut the system down and roll back the OC. I'm running the NZXT x72 (360 rad) with Push config and if I OC to 5ghz all cores and run Prime 95 it will basically immediately jump to 100c even with AVX offset of 2-4.

Is it really reasonable to not use Prime95 as the standard for stress testing the 9900k? That seems strange to basically exclude stress testing tools in order to reach stable clocks.

I AM able to run Cinebench at 1.3v 5ghz and Turbo LLC without issues, but I've always used Prime 95.

This week I am going to update to the most recent bios and change my radiator to use Push/Pull though I don't think that will make much of a difference. Have you had any luck getting an OC working?

Gigabyte z390 Ultra Motherboard | 9900k @ Stock | NZXT X72 Liquid Cooler (360 Radiator) | 32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB @ 3000 | 512GB Samsung 970 Pro nVME Boot | 2 x 1TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD's | Lian Li PC-011 Dynamic | Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC Video Card
K1llaHurtz is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-01-2019, 07:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,847
Rep: 377 (Unique: 269)
Quote: Originally Posted by K1llaHurtz View Post
I'm a noob to this forum. But figured I would chime in as I am in a very similar boat with the same exact motherboard and CPU! I'm also running the z390 Aorus Ultra and 9900k and I've had little/no luck Overclocking to 5ghz with reasonable voltages and stability. Whenever I run Prime 95 on "Smallest" I get immediate BSOD's, on Small it's slightly more stable.

I've tried 1.25v - 1.38v with LLC on pretty much every setting but focused on Turbo and will see the voltages go up to 1.41 which I usually immediately just shut the system down and roll back the OC. I'm running the NZXT x72 (360 rad) with Push config and if I OC to 5ghz all cores and run Prime 95 it will basically immediately jump to 100c even with AVX offset of 2-4.

Is it really reasonable to not use Prime95 as the standard for stress testing the 9900k? That seems strange to basically exclude stress testing tools in order to reach stable clocks.

I AM able to run Cinebench at 1.3v 5ghz and Turbo LLC without issues, but I've always used Prime 95.

This week I am going to update to the most recent bios and change my radiator to use Push/Pull though I don't think that will make much of a difference. Have you had any luck getting an OC working?
Do you game on your computer or do you do work?
If you game, pass 4 hours of realbench 2.56 and 3600 to 7200 seconds of Cinebench R20 loop and call it a day. Have HWinfo64 running to find WHEA's while you test.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off