PC Power Cycle 1x at startup - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PC Power Cycle 1x at startup

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
PC Power Cycle 1x at startup

My computer power cycles once before I get to bios or OS.

Started happening after I installed my h100i Pro and overclocked my CPU.

Only power cycles ONLY when I turn off my power supply or turn off my surge protector, which my PC is connected to. It does not power cycle normally, if I do not turn off PSY or surge protector.

The power cycle only lasts for about 0.5 or 1 second. Does not even get to bios, then starts up like normal as if nothing ever happened. No RAM OC, only CPU.

Anyone have any idea as to what is going on, if I should be worried, and how to fix this.

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 08:55 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 861
Rep: 57 (Unique: 39)
It's (almost certainly) normal, nothing to worry about, and caused by your overclock.

A BIOS/UEFI is sometimes unable to apply certain changes (commonly: FSB, RAM speed, some voltage options) until it power cycles, so it (automatically) powers itself off then on. Which options require this depend on the BIOS/UEFI, the platform, etc. It was common (especially on older platforms) that if the BIOS/UEFI changes the user had made were very unstable, this rapid power off/on cycle would continue indefinitely ("boot loops") until the BIOS was reset by the user by clearing CMOS.

I assume when the system starts up from a totally powered off state (PSU has been unplugged or switch flipped), it again tries to use a baseline for certain settings, and may need to once again quickly power off then on (multiple times if necessary) to apply the users settings.

There may be mention of this in your manual; if you had included your system specs (or even better, create a rig in rigbuilder and add to your sig) it could shed more light on this, but I've seen this behavior repeatedly and the vast majority of the time it's completely normal.

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
I see, this was the conclusion I was coming to searching online. Just was not sure cause it seemed like others were getting stuck in the boot loop, not just rebooting once when the PSU has been shut off.

So this is perfectly fine you say? Is there anything I can possibly change in BIOS to stop this?

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 10:04 PM
Linux Gamer
 
Almost Heathen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 861
Rep: 57 (Unique: 39)
Quote: Originally Posted by iLoveOC View Post
I see, this was the conclusion I was coming to searching online. Just was not sure cause it seemed like others were getting stuck in the boot loop, not just rebooting once when the PSU has been shut off.
If it was going to boot loop, it generally does so right after unstable BIOS changes are applied, so it would have done it already.

Quote: Originally Posted by iLoveOC View Post
So this is perfectly fine you say?
Yes, perfectly fine and nothing to worry about.

It's not hurting anything and not indicative of an issue. It's normal and expected for certain BIOS settings to cause this behavior; it's behavior that's typically been programmed into the BIOS itself. As an example, my previous board would power cycle to switch voltage modes, LLC modes, voltage options, up to 4 times for memory training (which was documented in the manual), etc., so I could always count on a power cycle (or three) the first time I start the system after power loss. My current board will power cycle for memory training as well. I've observed it on many systems I've built as well.

Quote: Originally Posted by iLoveOC View Post
Is there anything I can possibly change in BIOS to stop this?
Yes, one of your overclock settings is likely causing the need for it to powercycle. Many settings can cause it, depending on the board (changing vcore from auto/offset/static, PLL voltage, LLC, probably VRM power options on Asus boards); however what specifically is causing it in your case, I couldn't say. I see no mention of it in the manual, which is not unusual.

If you're concerned, it shouldn't be difficult to demonstrate that it's the overclock that's causing it. Write down all your settings, then load optimized defaults which will revert the BIOS/UEFI to stock and the CPU to stock clocks, shut down the system normally, then flip the psu switch. Next time you start it, the powercycle at bootup will likely be gone. If it's not gone, it's probably memory training, which is also normal, not hurting anything, and nothing to worry about.

But I wouldn't bother; in any event, it's nothing to worry about

NAS / HTPC
(19 items)
Workstation
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Xeon W3680 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard
Dell 0x501h (BIOS A16, not EFI capable)
GPU
EVGA GTX 1060 Gaming 6GB 06G-P4-6161-KR @ stock
RAM
30GB @ 1066MHz CL7 (3x8GB 2Rx8 1600MHz ECC UDIMMs, 3x2GB 2Rx8 1333MHz non-ECC)
Hard Drive
ZFS mirror (media), ZFS JBOD (gaming etc.), ZFS OS
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850HT
Cooling
Scythe Ninja 4
Cooling
Sunbeam Rheostat Extreme Fan Controller rev2
Cooling
4 x San Ace 140mm, 2 x Delta AFB 120mm (VRM fans)
Case
CaseLabs Bullet BH8 (white)
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
Panasonic Viera X3 TV
Keyboard
CM Storm Quickfire Pro (Cherry Reds)
Mouse
Logitech M310
Mouse
Itac mouse-trak Industrial Trackball
Mousepad
Cloth
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX H5 Tournament Edition Headset
Audio
Creative Sound BlasterX G1 USB Sound Card
Audio
Philips HTS3555 5.1 1000w Home Theater
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640 @ stock
Motherboard
(Foxconn 2AB1) N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (latest BIOS, not EFI capable)
GPU
Radeon 5250 @ Stock
RAM
4 x 2GB 1066MHz CL7
Hard Drive
Hitatchi 40gb (ZFS)
Power Supply
OEM 250w?
Cooling
OEM
Case
OEM
Operating System
Antergos XFCE (Antergos repos removed)
Monitor
HP vp17
▲ hide details ▲
Almost Heathen is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 708
Rep: 18 (Unique: 13)
It’s normal, mine does the same thing

My Baby
(24 items)
CPU
Delidded I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Formula
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
2x Intel 660P 2TB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 Card
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 11:37 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,540
Rep: 319 (Unique: 231)
Wonky RAM config, UEFI trying to guess settings because you didn't set them hard.
Cold RAM vs warm RAM is a difference too. So if your RAM is not set super stable even temperature differences such as opening a window at freezing winter at your computer for a while can make it not boot and cycle RAM etc.
Having power constantly on may help retain settings but then the mobo really should do that anyway but it may be trying to do a new guess each hard power on due to how it's written in UEFI.

It should never cycle, it should POST and boot ASAP. When it's cycling then it's doing something, often RAM or other peripheral issues.

Set whole RAM locked settings and disable training if that setting even ever has an effect.
JackCY is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-11-2019, 11:44 PM
In VB's Basement
 
ENTERPRISE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: England,UK
Posts: 63,969
Normal, at least it is more so with AMD systems. They have a habit of doing that when memory training. My Threadripper system does it whether stock or Overclocked.


Need help with your account or something forum related ? Please use our Contact Us form



ENTERPRISE is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 07-12-2019, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Ti
 
iLoveOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: You don't want to come here.
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Alright. Thank you all for the replies. I know it isn't RAM cause this was happening before I turned on XMP, and XMP I don't think should cause boot cycles. I think this has probably got to do with my CPU power draw being set to +130% or my manual voltage.

If its perfectly normal for OC systems to do this I'll just leave it alone. And tell everyone in my family to not flip the switch on my surge protector haha

Its just kinda ok
(9 items)
CPU
i5 [email protected]@1.185v
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
GPU
EVGA 1070Ti FTW
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 Pro
Power Supply
EVGA 650GQ
Cooling
Corsair H100i Pro 4xML120
Case
CoolerMaster MasterCase H500
Operating System
Windows 10
▲ hide details ▲
iLoveOC is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off