9900k@5GHz Stable w/ Dynamic VCore, Unstable w/ Higher Static VCore??? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[email protected] Stable w/ Dynamic VCore, Unstable w/ Higher Static VCore???

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 06:04 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
[email protected] Stable w/ Dynamic VCore, Unstable w/ Higher Static VCore???

Hi guys,

I'm new to the deep dive of overclocking. I auto-OC'd my last system (6700k), but with this 9900k I'm trying to understand more of what's going on.

My question is, why would my system be stable with a dynamic VCore with +0.030v DVID, but crash the instant I start P95 (non-AVX, small FFT) with a 1.35v VCore (Turbo LLC)?

Here's my hardware:
9900k, Aorus z390 Ultra, 3200MHz @ XMP Profile 1, Custom water loop with a 360 and 240 slim rad with Vardar fans

Here's my settings under dynamic vcore (I used https://forums.bit-tech.net/index.ph...master.353729/ as a guide):

Clock multiplier: 50
AC/DC Loadline: Power Saving
LLC: Medium
Power saving features that most guides tell you to disable (C States): Auto
VCore: Normal
DVID: +0.030v

Attached are the HWINFO64 and Core Temp results while running the test for 10+ minutes

However, when I follow other guides to overclock with a static VCore, P95 (non-AVX small FFTs) crashes almost instantly on test start. I've tried up to VCore 1.35v with LLC Turbo. I disabled all the usual power saving features.

What I noticed that didn't make sense to me was that even at 1.35v with Turbo LLC the VR VOUT reading was below 1.3 volts, is that much vdroop normal for those settings?

Anyway, the system seems stable (1 hour of small FFT P95 non-AVX) with the dynamic VCore, but with the static VCore I get P95 Crashes almost instantly.

Does anybody know why that might be? And am I doing anything irresponsible with the above dynamic vcore settings that will damage my stuff?

Thanks,
Caleb
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Stats.png