core 2 quad need help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

core 2 quad need help

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
core 2 quad need help

Hi! I am quite new to overclocking, i have an old gaming rig with a motherboard Gigabyte G41M-ES2l and a Intel Core 2 Quad Q 9550 2.83Ghz stock. I would like to get it up to 3.4 or 3.5Ghz but im having some issues i hope u guys could help me out.
I've seen people get it up to 4.5ghz so i know its unlocked but, i can't seem to get it past 3.05Ghz. I put the voltage a litle higher than usual... so 1.206V. The multiplier is 8.5 so at its highest and im just changing the cpu clock frequency.
But at some point my motherboard (or something else) ignores the cpu clock i set and it resets to the stock frequency.
I played a litle with the settings and i found out that if i up the Pci express frequency to 105Mhz it boots into the frequency i newly set. So as i was saying i came to 3.05Ghz but i cant go higher i tried everything i thought of, even increasing the Pci express frequency to like 110Mhz (i read somewhere that it becomes dangerous if its above 120Mhz). But my pc fails to post or boot and resets to the stock bios settings. The motherboard shouldn't be an issue, because i had a Intel Core 2 Duo e8600 in it overclocked to 3.4Ghz. So i know i can get higher than 3.05. Although i have been thinking it might be the power consumption of teh cpus.
The Core 2 duo needed 65w max and the Core 2 quad needs 95w max.
I need help badly.

Thanks!
stasgoubar1818 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedi Mind Trick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,443
Rep: 79 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by stasgoubar1818 View Post
Hi! I am quite new to overclocking, i have an old gaming rig with a motherboard Gigabyte G41M-ES2l and a Intel Core 2 Quad Q 9550 2.83Ghz stock. I would like to get it up to 3.4 or 3.5Ghz but im having some issues i hope u guys could help me out.
I've seen people get it up to 4.5ghz so i know its unlocked but, i can't seem to get it past 3.05Ghz. I put the voltage a litle higher than usual... so 1.206V. The multiplier is 8.5 so at its highest and im just changing the cpu clock frequency.
But at some point my motherboard (or something else) ignores the cpu clock i set and it resets to the stock frequency.
I played a litle with the settings and i found out that if i up the Pci express frequency to 105Mhz it boots into the frequency i newly set. So as i was saying i came to 3.05Ghz but i cant go higher i tried everything i thought of, even increasing the Pci express frequency to like 110Mhz (i read somewhere that it becomes dangerous if its above 120Mhz). But my pc fails to post or boot and resets to the stock bios settings. The motherboard shouldn't be an issue, because i had a Intel Core 2 Duo e8600 in it overclocked to 3.4Ghz. So i know i can get higher than 3.05. Although i have been thinking it might be the power consumption of teh cpus.
The Core 2 duo needed 65w max and the Core 2 quad needs 95w max.
I need help badly.

Thanks!
I'd leave the PCIe frequency alone.

The board doesn't look like you would be able to get that much out of it. The quad overclocked is going to eat a lot more power than the dual core (65 and 95 watts are definitely NOT the max used by those CPUs). The board doesn't exactly seem like it was built for OCing, no heatsinks on the VRM, only a 4pin (instead of an 8pin).

Hopefully someone more knowledgeable than I can give you some pointers to OCing your 9550, but 3ghz doesn't seem that bad if you were only able to OC your 8600 to 3.4 (which had a stock of 3.33). From what I've read, this board tops out around 340 FSB, so you are likely at your wall already (340*8.5*1.05 [for the PCIe clock, which I assume factors in based on what you said] ~3.05ghz).

Unlocked means the multiplier is unlock; the Q9550 is locked, to get it higher, you'd need a board that has a higher FSB limit (I've seen people running 450+ on otherboards). You could look into getting a QX6700, though I still don't know how well your board will handle anything clocked much higher than your current CPU (esp because the 6xxx-chips seem to need more power anyways). I don't think a QX9650 would be worth the price (~$50 on ebay; at least the QX6700 is $15).

Last edited by Jedi Mind Trick; 08-16-2019 at 11:10 AM.
Jedi Mind Trick is online now  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:09 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,548
Rep: 1067 (Unique: 629)
same thing I posted in your other thread: nobody got a Core 2 Quad (stable) at 4.5 and 1.20v is no where near enough volts for 3.5.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-16-2019, 11:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TheRohk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Germanny, NRW
Posts: 73
Rep: 0
G41 got an FSB wall. So you wont get a high OC over pushing it.
P35/45 or x38/48 will push iz to 3.5 or more, but also Vcore of 1.35 or more is needed.

FX-6300 @ Stock
R9 270X 2Gb
14 GB RAM @ 1600
M5A97 LE R2.0
PSU 450W Bronze 80 %
TheRohk is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 02:17 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hi! I guess i'll leave the Pcie frequency alone and try to up the voltage a litle bit more to see if its gonna be more stable. But yeah i get you this board isn't quite for overclocking, but i bought the cpu to get better performance and maybe play gta5 with a steady framerate. I'd like to get the best performance out of this cpu as i can.
stasgoubar1818 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 02:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,104
Rep: 131 (Unique: 116)
Quote: Originally Posted by stasgoubar1818 View Post
Hi! I guess i'll leave the Pcie frequency alone and try to up the voltage a litle bit more to see if its gonna be more stable. But yeah i get you this board isn't quite for overclocking, but i bought the cpu to get better performance and maybe play gta5 with a steady framerate. I'd like to get the best performance out of this cpu as i can.
C2Q is really outdated man, you will not get good frames regardless how much you overclock due to the architecture of the CPU.

I like to have fun.
https://hwbot.org/user/sockskeepyouwarm/
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 05:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedi Mind Trick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,443
Rep: 79 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by Socks keep you warm View Post
C2Q is really outdated man, you will not get good frames regardless how much you overclock due to the architecture of the CPU.
Should still be worlds better than a C2D.
Jedi Mind Trick is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-17-2019, 05:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,104
Rep: 131 (Unique: 116)
Quote: Originally Posted by Jedi Mind Trick View Post
Should still be worlds better than a C2D.
Never said it wasn't, just said it won't be a good experience is all.

I like to have fun.
https://hwbot.org/user/sockskeepyouwarm/
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-20-2019, 10:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
It will play gta v at the lowest settings at 30fps with a few drops here and there. Others are right, the motherboard has a fsb limit, so 3.05 is all you will get no matter what voltage you run. The C2D had a lower fsb to start with, so it could be oc’ed higher. I know this because I went through the same thing with the same cpu but a different mb for 6 year old. Hugest I could get was 3.07 I think, what ever 360 fsb will get. If you want to get to 3.4 or higher you will need a good mb made for oc’ing and they are hard to find now a days. You would be better off trying to find a gen 2 or 3 i5 setup. Just my opinion.
FatNinja is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off