i5 9600k boost clock questions - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

i5 9600k boost clock questions

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 06:02 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,046
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
i5 9600k boost clock questions

havent overclocked my system, but just wondering if these settings were ok?

i5 9600k, Asus prime z390a motherboard, Corsair H100i plat cooler, 16gb Corsair ram

Turned Asus MCE disabled
CPU core ratio to "sync all cores" Cores were only hitting 4.3 under load. syncing them they are now at boost 4.6 across all cores
CPU voltage to adaptive. Here is what Im getting in cpuz. Under gaming load (BFV) im getting voltage of 1.208-1.217



nezff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 11:11 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,570
Rep: 1071 (Unique: 629)
It's fine but you could have just enabled MCE, would have gave you the same 4.6 across all 6 cores.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 12:05 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,046
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
It's fine but you could have just enabled MCE, would have gave you the same 4.6 across all 6 cores.
It was enabled which is auto correct? I only got the 4.3 with mce set to auto and cpu core ratio set to auto.
nezff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 12:48 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,570
Rep: 1071 (Unique: 629)
Enabled should be enabled, lol. All MCE does it change the single core turbo speed (4.6) to the all core turbo speed.



Stock all core turbo speed for the 9600K is 4.3, the stock single core turbo speed is 4.6. MCE enabled should set the single and all core turbo speed to 4.6.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,046
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Enabled should be enabled, lol. All MCE does it change the single core turbo speed (4.6) to the all core turbo speed.



Stock all core turbo speed for the 9600K is 4.3, the stock single core turbo speed is 4.6. MCE enabled should set the single and all core turbo speed to 4.6.
gotcha. So let me ask this, why have a setting for Sync all cores, and a setting where Asus does it with MCE enabled? Im assuming the sync all cores comes in to play also with overclocking if I specified a clock like 4.7 or 5.0ghz? thanks.
nezff is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 02:36 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,570
Rep: 1071 (Unique: 629)
the last Asus board I had was a Z170-E and it only asked if I wanted to enable MCE when I enabled XMP, when you enabled XMP it was a separate prompt that popped up and you just say Y/N. I haven't used a 270/370/390 Asus board but I guess now it's a separate thing?

assuming you said no to MCE, sync all cores with a manually set 46 multiplier sets all core to 46. per core would let you set each core individually, so if you wanted the stock turbo table +100mhz for each core or you wanted 4 cores @ 5.0 and 6 cores @ 4.8 you could do that if you wanted.

it's not really useful though, enable MCE and leave the rest alone or if you're OCing manually disable MCE and just set whatever "sync all cores" multiplier you want. since you only went for a 4.6 OC both routes would have gotten you the same OC.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 04:56 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,046
Rep: 37 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
the last Asus board I had was a Z170-E and it only asked if I wanted to enable MCE when I enabled XMP, when you enabled XMP it was a separate prompt that popped up and you just say Y/N. I haven't used a 270/370/390 Asus board but I guess now it's a separate thing?

assuming you said no to MCE, sync all cores with a manually set 46 multiplier sets all core to 46. per core would let you set each core individually, so if you wanted the stock turbo table +100mhz for each core or you wanted 4 cores @ 5.0 and 6 cores @ 4.8 you could do that if you wanted.

it's not really useful though, enable MCE and leave the rest alone or if you're OCing manually disable MCE and just set whatever "sync all cores" multiplier you want. since you only went for a 4.6 OC both routes would have gotten you the same OC.
Ok, so it would have been better to use the Asus multi core enhancement enabled instead of syncing all cores? The sync all cores, just synced the fastest core at 4.6. Ill just try the Asus MCE enabled and put sync all cores back to auto and see. Thanks
nezff is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-18-2019, 04:59 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,570
Rep: 1071 (Unique: 629)
Quote: Originally Posted by nezff View Post
Ok, so it would have been better to use the Asus multi core enhancement enabled instead of syncing all cores?

MCE only will let you run at 4.6 since that's the what a single core boosts to stock. Sync @ cores is if you want something other than 46x. But using MCE or syncing all cores to 46 should do the same exact thing and it really makes no difference which you use (as long as you want 46x).

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Pook; 08-18-2019 at 05:03 PM.
The Pook is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off