x58 Xeon Club > Denied! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

x58 Xeon Club > Denied!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 04:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JJ2DAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
x58 Xeon Club > Denied!

I bought a X5675 XEON CPU off the internet and threw it in my ASUS P6T DELUXE MOBO.

Originally I had an Intel Core i7 920 (C0 Stepping) CPU along with 24 GB (6 x 4GB) CRUCIAL BALLISTIX 1600 MHZ RAM, an EVGA 9800 GT GFX card, and a 750 W CORSAIR PSU.

When I put in the XEON it lit up the MOBO like a Christmas Tree. The GFX card almost melted and the Heat-Pipe assembly around the CPU got SMOKING HOT! I had to hit the Kill Switch when temps were heading for 100C - which this system has NEVER seen.

I Down-Clocked everything and still everything was way too HOT!

I posted on another forum [SEE LINKS BELOW] with Test Results.

I was told that the GFX Card was too Weak for the Original build and probably over the last 10 yrs had suffered to the point of collapse.

The XEON CPU Temps interestingly enough were COOL as a CUCUMBER (30C's).

Seeing 12-Cores on SysInternals Process Explorer I have to admit was pretty majestic. :-]

--------------
QUESTIONS
--------------

- Should this XEON theoretically work with my system? Technically its NOT listed as being a supported CPU. I jumped on the internet bandwagon because everyone with an X58 MOBO was saying XEONS where Re-Vitalizing their old builds.

- If I get a Beefier GFX Card (looking at a NVIDIA RTX 2070 SUPER with a 1440p Ultra-Wide Monitor) will that match up better and will this alleviated the HEAT Buildup in the Heat-Pipe assembly around the CPU?

- Why was my System only posting 16GB out of 24GB with this processor? Is this some kind of Touchy Memory Voltage / Timing Tweaking issue that I need to be aware of? Is having NON-ECC Memory an issue? Or was this some BAD Influence from a Dying GFX Card?

- Do X58 XEON builds Over-Drive the CHIPS around the MOBO and Need to be Offset with Additional COOLING? I've seen posts where people are saying that their Chipset Temps are up by 20C with XEONS.

- Should I have gone with one of the SINGLE QPI LINK XEON CPU's like the > W3670, W3680, W3690 instead?


----------------------------------------
Other INFORMATION and THINGS
----------------------------------------

- Called Memory Mfg's and they said that XEONS like the X5675 have something called Memory-Mirroring. They have 2 QPI links and can be installed in DUAL CPU Systems. Each CPU splits the memory in 1/2. In Dual CPU systems I guess there is some BIOS switch for this.

- This MOBO has always been FINICKY from the Get-Go. BIOS Settings sometimes Stick and Other Times they Dont. I have Never Figured this out. Maybe there are some Built-In Security features that I have NO CLUE about.

- I selected the X5675 because the TDP is lower (95w vs 130w) so I thought it would be easier on my system.



------------------
BOTTOM LINE
------------------

- I would LUV to SEE this BIRD FLY. The questions is whether the X5675 XEON is compatible with my system.

- Let me know what you think.

- Ive been stumped on this one and need some insight from some OVERLOCKING Hot-Shots! :-]


TIA



--------------------------------------------------
ORIGNINAL POST ON LTT's > Long-Winded
--------------------------------------------------

https://linustechtips.com/main/topic...5-viagra-fail/


-------------------------
TEST RESULTS with PICS
-------------------------

- Cpuz, Gpuz, HWmonitor, Aida64

https://www.scribd.com/document/4204...5675-Tuna-Melt


------------------
SYSTEM
------------------

- ASUS P6T Deluxe - MOBO
- XEON x5675 - CPU
* with NOCTUA NT-H1 thermal paste
- NOCTUA NH-U12P - CPU COOLER (Air)
- EVGA 9800 GT - Graphics Card
* GFX CPU has NOCTUA NT-H1 thermal paste
* Memory Chips replaced Thermal Pads with (1mm) FujiPoly Thermal Pads
[Thermal Conductivity 17.0 W/mK]
- CRUCIAL Ballistix 1600 Mhz - RAM
[6 x 4GB = 24 GB]
* same make and models
- CORSAIR RM750i - PSU
- LIAN PC-A79 - CASE
- WINDOWS 10 x64
JJ2DAY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 06:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
identitycrisis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Haverhill, Ma
Posts: 2,926
Rep: 183 (Unique: 159)
There is no reason I can see that the x5675 wouldn't run in your system. based on your other thread you did some things that could effect the thermal performance of the rest of the system. I'd get those addressed like posters in your other thread suggested.

The x58 chipset runs hot, I wouldn't worry too much unless its really excessive. the GPU heat issue may be related to your pad replacement job. I don't know to be honest.

But, plenty of people have run Xeons on x58 boards of various makes, myself included.

it sounds like you might have a memory channel missing. I'd try putting your 920 back in, if the channel comes back i'd say its a bad CPU, could be a an improperly seated stick of ram, or a bent pin in the socket from the chip upgrade as well? try removing the ram and installing just the 1st three sticks, one in each channel to see if it detects all 3, then try the other set, if they both work then try reinstalling them all.

x58 is a great platform, and can still game. I ran mine with a GTX 1080 until January last year when I upgraded to a 9700k,. I used it for gaming and to trasncode a crap ton of bluray rips.

https://www.overclock.net/images/smi...lame-small.gifOCN Water Cooling Clubhttps://www.overclock.net/images/smi...lame-small.gif

My old Opty 165 @ 3006mhz
Gaming Rig
(9 items)
The New Gamer
(16 items)
CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Auros Pro
GPU
eVGA GTX 1080
RAM
G skill trident Z
Hard Drive
WD Black NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Cooling
Enermax Liqmax II 240mm w/ Gentle typhoon 1850 RPM Fans
Case
Corsair 500D RGB SE
Monitor
MSI Mag 24C Curved
CPU
i5 2500k
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H
GPU
eVGA GTX580
RAM
2x4gb 1600mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Samsung F3
Optical Drive
CD/DVD-RW
Power Supply
760w PC-P&P Silencer
Cooling
XSPC Rasa 750 RX360 Kit
Case
Lian Li PC-G70
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Monitor
22" LG 1680x1050
Keyboard
Steelseries 6GV2
Mouse
G500
Audio
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Audio
Steelseries Siberia V2
▲ hide details ▲
identitycrisis is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JJ2DAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Thanks for your reply.

I stuck the i7 920 CPU back into my WIN10 (SSD) system and ran everything at lowest settings.

The system ran but only acknowledged 16GB out of 24GB RAM once again. Temps were manageable and not obscenely high.
I set the GPU FAN to run at 100% to keep things at lower temps (around 60C). The GPU at stock speeds is in the 70C's.

I have an old WIN7 drive as a backup and ran my system on that.

It immediately acknowledged all 24GB of RAM and worked fine.

I ran my WIN10 system (SSD) once again and everything has been working since, despite my GPU basically being on life support. Video and Audio Stuttering sporadically. Youtube Videos have to be run at 240p and 360p. The CPU is running at 1.6GHZ. It works! Im not going to break any Cinebench Records.

I ran MEMTEST86 on all (6) sticks of RAM and it Passed.

Based on your description it sounds like the CPU isnt cutting the mustard.

I'll probably look for a new CPU, new GFX Card, and new MONITOR and see if I can get better results.

I will try to followup and let people know what happened. This stuff can become Mind-Numbing. :-]
JJ2DAY is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 11:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
identitycrisis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Haverhill, Ma
Posts: 2,926
Rep: 183 (Unique: 159)
i don't see how an OS change could cause you to see different amounts of ram. Get a new GPU, just about anything would be a solid upgrade, then try your Xeon again.

did you BIOS read the correct amount but windows didnt? or were both missing memory?

https://www.overclock.net/images/smi...lame-small.gifOCN Water Cooling Clubhttps://www.overclock.net/images/smi...lame-small.gif

My old Opty 165 @ 3006mhz
Gaming Rig
(9 items)
The New Gamer
(16 items)
CPU
i7 9700k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Auros Pro
GPU
eVGA GTX 1080
RAM
G skill trident Z
Hard Drive
WD Black NVME
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Cooling
Enermax Liqmax II 240mm w/ Gentle typhoon 1850 RPM Fans
Case
Corsair 500D RGB SE
Monitor
MSI Mag 24C Curved
CPU
i5 2500k
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H
GPU
eVGA GTX580
RAM
2x4gb 1600mhz
Hard Drive
Crucial M4
Hard Drive
Samsung F3
Optical Drive
CD/DVD-RW
Power Supply
760w PC-P&P Silencer
Cooling
XSPC Rasa 750 RX360 Kit
Case
Lian Li PC-G70
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Monitor
22" LG 1680x1050
Keyboard
Steelseries 6GV2
Mouse
G500
Audio
Creative X-Fi Titanium
Audio
Steelseries Siberia V2
▲ hide details ▲
identitycrisis is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-26-2019, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JJ2DAY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote:
The x58 chipset runs hot, I wouldn't worry too much unless its really excessive
Didnt know. Thanks for that. I've never been comfortable with High Temps on my MOBO. AID64 has always shown high "Motherboard" temp (50C+) which I believe corresponds to HWMonitors SYSTIN Temp reading. Im seriously looking at doing some MOD or Buying some Heat Sink I can mount on the VRM portion of the Heat-Pipe assembly around the CPU. The system was originally designed to have a stock INTEL Fan with air flow being directed downward and thru the VRM Fins. The VRM Fins are lame and could use an upgrade.

Quote:
it sounds like you might have a memory channel missing. I'd try putting your 920 back in, if the channel comes back i'd say its a bad CPU, could be a an improperly seated stick of ram, or a bent pin in the socket from the chip upgrade as well? try removing the ram and installing just the 1st three sticks, one in each channel to see if it detects all 3, then try the other set, if they both work then try reinstalling them all
I didnt mess with the RAM, just left it in because it was working before with no problems. I agree, sounds like the CPU was Not addressing one bank of memory for whatever reason.


Quote:
i don't see how an OS change could cause you to see different amounts of ram
Me neither. Makes a strong case for keeping WIN7 alive IMO. Can't Say how many times WIN10 updates have "Totally" messed up things. Save that for another discussion right. :-]

Quote:
did your BIOS read the correct amount but windows didnt? or were both missing memory?
The BIOS POST showed 16GB out of 24GB and WIN10 Software showed 16GB out of 24GB as well. Both CPUZ and AIDA64 recognize that all DIMM Slots are populated with (6 x 4GB) modules. Go figure.



MOVING FORWARD


Im returning the XEON (x5675) and will look at either getting another (x5675) or one of the W-Series (Single QPI Link) CPU's > (W3670, W3680, W3690) or Both to experiment with. We'll see.

i would like to go with the x5675 XEON because it has a lower TDP (95W) vs the stock TDP of (130W). I was looking for Thermal Head-Room since I know my system is Touchy with High Temps especially during summer months.


After buying this x5675 XEON I found out that a RECYCLING place down the street had (2) on EBay for 1/2 as much as I paid. My experience with Recycling places are they are Hit-and-Miss and trying to Return Stuff ... well ... bring a Lawyer or a Battle-Axe.



SHOPPING LIST


- (1) XEON 6-Core i7 CPU > X5675 (Westmere) or W3670 (Gulftown)

- (1) Nvdia RTX 2070 Super

- (1) VRM Heatsink


VRM PICTURE - Generic
https://ibb.co/6PFhGS4

HEAT PIPE PICTURE - Generic
https://ibb.co/kQ45PL0


BAD GFX CARD SILICON ?

Ive been shopping around for a RTX 2070 Super GFX Card. I had my heart set on getting an ASUS brand GFX Card but the reviews have not been favorable to say the least. The reviews in general for RTX Super Cards have been LukeWarm at best. I did call NVIDIA and the tech was saying they are all the same and then at the end recommended MSI.

I know there are always BAD LOTS and BINS and great marketing compaigns to tidy up these messes.

Where do I go to get the Down and Dirty on GFX Cards, what's best and what's not?

Thanks.
JJ2DAY is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off