Good 9900k sample? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Good 9900k sample?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 01:32 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by SoldierRBT View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Well, it is 1.160 on the VCore, and 1.1 in reality (vram vout) or not? So I guess it is amongst the best then.

Is there a thread or collection of people posting their 9900k top volters?
TurboV Core says CPU Core Voltage 1.230v so I assume he's using LLC5 to get 1.163v underload.
Well yeah volume drops under load from 1.230 to 1.163volts, which is actually about 1.1 / 1.11, if you'd measure it at the vrm out, which is the correct reading, probably, because otherwise I wouldn't think someone would run it with 1.1 VCore, which would be an actual reading of around 0.9 at vrm bout.

I guess he could've just set 1.164 with LLC6 but then it'd get hotter.


Do you guy know what LLC5 translates to on Gigabyte? Low? And LLC6 is turbo?
Melodist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 01:34 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by SoldierRBT View Post
1.163v 5GHz on a ASUS XI Apex motherboard is okay depending on the price. The best chips can do 5GHz 1.083-1.10v
Can you show me a 9900k doing below 1.0v @5GHZ ?
Melodist is offline  
post #23 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 03:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SoldierRBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Can you show me a 9900k doing below 1.0v @5GHZ ?
Sure. Here is mine at 1.083v. It can also do 5.2GHz at 1.172v.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5GHz.png
Views:	30
Size:	503.1 KB
ID:	294078  

SoldierRBT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Habe you dropped 220 watts at it? Like prime 95 current version custom 12k and first avx deactivated?
Melodist is offline  
post #25 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
That's insane, I guess they'll be using yours amongst the 9900ks release.

How could I with my first 9900k only run 1.25v @ 4.8 GHz while get such amazing numbers. *** is wrong with Intel's quality control?

What is your reading on VRM Vout btw?
Melodist is offline  
post #26 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Well yeah volume drops under load from 1.230 to 1.163volts, which is actually about 1.1 / 1.11, if you'd measure it at the vrm out, which is the correct reading, probably, because otherwise I wouldn't think someone would run it with 1.1 VCore, which would be an actual reading of around 0.9 at vrm bout.

I guess he could've just set 1.164 with LLC6 but then it'd get hotter.


Do you guy know what LLC5 translates to on Gigabyte? Low? And LLC6 is turbo?
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
That's insane, I guess they'll be using yours amongst the 9900ks release.

How could I with my first 9900k only run 1.25v @ 4.8 GHz while get such amazing numbers. *** is wrong with Intel's quality control?

What is your reading on VRM Vout btw?
Maximus XI is very close to LLC6=Turbo and LLC5=High.
The only way to get the mOhms value is to do a calculation. Elmor posted it somewhere over here
https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-in...l#post28022572

But you need to know the amps value and bios set voltage. If you dont know the amps value you won't know the loadline mOhms.

Maybe this will help

Vhigh=Bios target voltage set
vlow=min load voltage (on-die sense or VR VOUT measured only)

Vhigh-vlow=vdroop (millivolts)

R=loadline resistance (mOhms)
(Vhigh-Vlow) / R = Amps
Vdroop / R = Amps.
Vdroop / Amps = R

@SoldierRBT : You're doing an easy test. 29.4 build 8 is obsolete. And you have AVX disabled. AND running Blend, too. Peanuts.
use 29.8 build 5 (or 6). And let's see how that golden chip does in small FFT AVX/FMA3 preset in 29.8 build 5/6

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #27 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 04:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Well yeah volume drops under load from 1.230 to 1.163volts, which is actually about 1.1 / 1.11, if you'd measure it at the vrm out, which is the correct reading, probably, because otherwise I wouldn't think someone would run it with 1.1 VCore, which would be an actual reading of around 0.9 at vrm bout.

I guess he could've just set 1.164 with LLC6 but then it'd get hotter.


Do you guy know what LLC5 translates to on Gigabyte? Low? And LLC6 is turbo?
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
That's insane, I guess they'll be using yours amongst the 9900ks release.

How could I with my first 9900k only run 1.25v @ 4.8 GHz while get such amazing numbers. *** is wrong with Intel's quality control?

What is your reading on VRM Vout btw?
Maximus XI is very close to LLC6=Turbo and LLC5=High.
The only way to get the mOhms value is to do a calculation. Elmor posted it somewhere over here
https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-in...l#post28022572

But you need to know the amps value and bios set voltage. If you dont know the amps value you won't know the loadline mOhms.
I saw at least one M11 board that had a 'CPU Current' reading in HWinfo64.

Maybe this will help

Vhigh=Bios target voltage set
vlow=min load voltage (on-die sense or VR VOUT measured only)

Vhigh-vlow=vdroop (millivolts)

R=loadline resistance (mOhms)
(Vhigh-Vlow) / R = Amps
Vdroop / R = Amps.
Vdroop / Amps = R

@SoldierRBT : You're doing an easy test. 29.4 build 8 is obsolete. And you have AVX disabled. AND running Blend, too. Peanuts.
use 29.8 build 5 (or 6). And let's see how that golden chip does in small FFT AVX/FMA3 preset in 29.8 build 5/6

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #28 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 05:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SoldierRBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Maximus XI is very close to LLC6=Turbo and LLC5=High.
The only way to get the mOhms value is to do a calculation. Elmor posted it somewhere over here
https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-in...l#post28022572

But you need to know the amps value and bios set voltage. If you dont know the amps value you won't know the loadline mOhms.
I saw at least one M11 board that had a 'CPU Current' reading in HWinfo64.

Maybe this will help

Vhigh=Bios target voltage set
vlow=min load voltage (on-die sense or VR VOUT measured only)

Vhigh-vlow=vdroop (millivolts)

R=loadline resistance (mOhms)
(Vhigh-Vlow) / R = Amps
Vdroop / R = Amps.
Vdroop / Amps = R

@SoldierRBT : You're doing an easy test. 29.4 build 8 is obsolete. And you have AVX disabled. AND running Blend, too. Peanuts.
use 29.8 build 5 (or 6). And let's see how that golden chip does in small FFT AVX/FMA3 preset in 29.8 build 5/6
Well I'm just comparing mine with the OP's photo. If you'd like to compare yours, here is a website with all the information needed to run the test. Try and let me know how it goes

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...d-1208227.html
SoldierRBT is offline  
post #29 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 05:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by SoldierRBT View Post
Well I'm just comparing mine with the OP's photo. If you'd like to compare yours, here is a website with all the information needed to run the test. Try and let me know how it goes

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...d-1208227.html
My chip gets too hot to run the test at 5 ghz (AVX) because vcore is at the maximum safe limits (auto vcore with no loadline calibration). FMA3 fails instantly.
I did a 4.9 ghz test if you care, that's even harder to pass than prime95. Barely passes and I already passed max safe amps. Do you see why I can't do this test on air cooling at 5 ghz?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	linx.jpg
Views:	19
Size:	740.4 KB
ID:	294094  


[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #30 of 32 (permalink) Old 09-07-2019, 06:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SoldierRBT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 60
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by SoldierRBT View Post
Well I'm just comparing mine with the OP's photo. If you'd like to compare yours, here is a website with all the information needed to run the test. Try and let me know how it goes [IMG class=inlineimg]/forum/images/smilies/smile.gif[/IMG]

https://www.hardwareluxx.de/communit...d-1208227.html
My chip gets too hot to run the test at 5 ghz (AVX) because vcore is at the maximum safe limits (auto vcore with no loadline calibration). FMA3 fails instantly.
I did a 4.9 ghz test if you care, that's even harder to pass than prime95. Barely passes and I already passed max safe amps. Do you see why I can't do this test on air cooling at 5 ghz?
I see. The settings on the website I sent you is basically prime95 Non-AVX small ffts which is more realistic test for real world use. Just give it a try and see how yours compare to other chips on the list.
SoldierRBT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off