Unstable 9900K at stock - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Unstable 9900K at stock

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
Yes, VR VOUT is definitely different from vcore reading:

Auto vcore, AC loadline=160 and llc=low:
VR VOUT = 1.29-1.32 V under load

Manual vcore 1.30 V and llc=high:
VR VOUT = 1.16-1.18 V under load
The first setting should have definitely worked. Can you test that again with XMP disabled?
Also, try testing with CPU multiplier set to x43 and cache ratio at x40. Is this stable? Also you can set VCCIO to 1.15v and VCCSA to 1.20v. Keep PWM switching frequency at 400khz.

x47 is stock turbo boost on all cores. 100% of CPU's should be *rock stable* with 160 AC Loadline (Intel maximum) and Auto voltage at 4.7 ghz.

On auto voltage, Loadline calibration should not be set at low when ACLL is set to 160. It must be left at standard (or Normal) or too much overvolting will occur. If VR VOUT is still too low with ACLL=160 and LLC=Standard, you should use a DVID offset instead, not loadline calibration.

AC LL of 1 is ok for Vcore LLC=turbo or high, 40 is ok for Vcore LLC low or medium (on auto voltages).

If x47 is not stable at all, and XMP disabled doesn't help, you may need to RMA that CPU, as it qualifies as being defective.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 03:31 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
The first setting should have definitely worked. Can you test that again with XMP disabled?
Also, try testing with CPU multiplier set to x43 and cache ratio at x40. Is this stable? Also you can set VCCIO to 1.15v and VCCSA to 1.20v. Keep PWM switching frequency at 400khz.

x47 is stock turbo boost on all cores. 100% of CPU's should be *rock stable* with 160 AC Loadline (Intel maximum) and Auto voltage at 4.7 ghz.

On auto voltage, Loadline calibration should not be set at low when ACLL is set to 160. It must be left at standard (or Normal) or too much overvolting will occur. If VR VOUT is still too low with ACLL=160 and LLC=Standard, you should use a DVID offset instead, not loadline calibration.

AC LL of 1 is ok for Vcore LLC=turbo or high, 40 is ok for Vcore LLC low or medium (on auto voltages).

If x47 is not stable at all, and XMP disabled doesn't help, you may need to RMA that CPU, as it qualifies as being defective.
I've been testing these suggested settings using 2133 MHz memory speed only with XMP disabled. None of these fix the issue. Even after downclocking core to 4.3 GHz and cache to 4.0 GHz using ACLL=160 and LLC=standard, I still get incorrect residuals.

The mismatching residual is always the same order of magnitude as the correct residual. For example, if the correct residual is around 9.026e-10, an error may offset that to 9.8e-10 or 1.1e-9. I ran prime95 blend for 6 h and small fft for 1h without errors. Perhaps the calculation errors are so small that prime95 can't detect them.

I'm going to check the motherboard and CPU for physical damage and reseat the CPU.

EDIT: I found a post by the developer of Linpack Extreme (another interface to MKL benchmark). The developer says:
"Different residual values are normal on modern Intel CPUs.

Abnormal on AMD and legacy Intel CPUs (Sandy Bridge and older)."

I'm not sure what to think of this. The residuals I get are always in the same ballpark. The dev also says that linpack performs its own residual check already.

Last edited by Alepale; 09-12-2019 at 04:15 AM.
Alepale is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 10:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 445
Rep: 29 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
I've been testing these suggested settings using 2133 MHz memory speed only with XMP disabled. None of these fix the issue. Even after downclocking core to 4.3 GHz and cache to 4.0 GHz using ACLL=160 and LLC=standard, I still get incorrect residuals.

The mismatching residual is always the same order of magnitude as the correct residual. For example, if the correct residual is around 9.026e-10, an error may offset that to 9.8e-10 or 1.1e-9. I ran prime95 blend for 6 h and small fft for 1h without errors. Perhaps the calculation errors are so small that prime95 can't detect them.

I'm going to check the motherboard and CPU for physical damage and reseat the CPU.

EDIT: I found a post by the developer of Linpack Extreme (another interface to MKL benchmark). The developer says:
"Different residual values are normal on modern Intel CPUs.

Abnormal on AMD and legacy Intel CPUs (Sandy Bridge and older)."

I'm not sure what to think of this. The residuals I get are always in the same ballpark. The dev also says that linpack performs its own residual check already.
Some of the MKL optimizations can reorder floating point operations, which causes slight differences in the results between different machines or even different runs on the same machine. This is normal and has nothing to do with CPU instability. I've run into it before when creating unit tests for functions which use MKL and generate slightly different results on different hosts.

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i9-9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 12:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
That makes sense. Modern CPU's execute instructions heavily out of order. I also dropped a question to Intel support about this behavior. If they are able to answer, I'll post it here. For now, thanks to everyone who contributed.
Alepale is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 02:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Luck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 445
Rep: 29 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
That makes sense. Modern CPU's execute instructions heavily out of order. I also dropped a question to Intel support about this behavior. If they are able to answer, I'll post it here. For now, thanks to everyone who contributed.
In this case, I think the re-ordering is happening at the MKL library level and not at the CPU level. For example, in a matrix product you can do it in the naive ordering, or tile it and combine tiles, and the most efficient choice will depend on host CPU cache size, number of cores available, etc. So Linx is calling some matrix operation function in MKL and under the hood MKL is picking different code paths depending on the CPU. Those different code paths give slightly different results because they're summing up terms in a different order (hence different round-off errors).

Battlestation
(15 items)
TV Buddy
(15 items)
CPU
Intel i9-9900k
Motherboard
Asus ROG Maximus XI Hero (Wifi)
GPU
Gigabyte Aorus 1080ti
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2 x 8 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO NVMe 1 TB
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra Gold 1000 W
Cooling
Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT
Case
Cooler Master MasterCase H500M
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer Predator XB270HU
Keyboard
CM Quickfire TK
Mouse
Logitech G500s
Mousepad
Logitech G440
Audio
Logitech G533 Gaming Headset
Audio
StudioSpares Powered Studio Monitors
CPU
i5-4690
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A
GPU
EVGA GTX 670 FTW
RAM
Crucial Ballistix 4GB x 2
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar Green 3 TB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Chronos Deluxe 240 GB SSD
Optical Drive
Pioneer BDC-207DBK Blu-Ray Reader, DVD/CD Writer
Power Supply
SeaSonic G550
Cooling
Noctua NH-L12
Cooling
Scythe Gentle Typhoon 37.0 CFM 120mm x 2
Case
Silverstone GD09B
Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Other
FLIRC USB Dongle for Media Centre
Other
Harmony 650 Remote
▲ hide details ▲
Luck100 is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 03:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I see. Thanks for the explanation! I can now rest assured that my CPU isn't faulty.
Alepale is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 04:40 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,265
Rep: 582 (Unique: 459)
This is all over my head pretty much but I couldn't help but wonder if HT disabled would effect the different results?

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off