Unstable 9900K at stock - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Unstable 9900K at stock

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 04:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Unstable 9900K at stock

Any ideas what could cause residuals in LinX to vary between runs, when the CPU is at stock settings? This is my system:
CPU: 9900K
MB: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
Memory: Corsair 4x8GB 3200 MHz CL16
CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i Pro
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 750 W

Memory is tested to 16000 % coverage with no errors using Karhu RAM test in this system. Max core temp in LinX at stock is around 85 C.

Things I've tried:
1. Load optimized defaults, which sets memory to 2133 MHz CL15 at 1.20 V
2. Set Memory Enhancement setting to Enhanced stability
3. Tested with only two sticks of RAM (2x8GB)
4. Set turbo to 4 GHz using 1.25 vcore and 2x8GB memory at 2133 MHz

None of these have solved the issue. Is it likely that the CPU is broken?

Attached is an image of LinX runs using 4 GHz turbo at 1.25 vcore with 2x8GB memory at optimized defaults settings (2133 MHz). LinX is set to stop on error, yet it continues to run even if the residuals don't match.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.PNG
Views:	11
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	294702  

Alepale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 05:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Driller au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 151
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
might not be your problem but over in the gigabyte Z390 thread there was talk that the residual are different on a cold boot. Re-boot and try again, @KedarWolf is the man that is into linX he will help when he sees this

Reapers Scythe
(16 items)
CPU
i9 9900k
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Z390 Master
GPU
Asus 2080 Ti OC
RAM
G.skill TridentZ Royal 3200mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair 1000AXi
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Corsair carbide 600c
Operating System
Win 10 pro
Monitor
Agon AG352UCG
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Glorious odin O
Mousepad
Glorious
Audio
onboard
▲ hide details ▲
Driller au is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 09:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
Any ideas what could cause residuals in LinX to vary between runs, when the CPU is at stock settings? This is my system:
CPU: 9900K
MB: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
Memory: Corsair 4x8GB 3200 MHz CL16
CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i Pro
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 750 W

Memory is tested to 16000 % coverage with no errors using Karhu RAM test in this system. Max core temp in LinX at stock is around 85 C.

Things I've tried:
1. Load optimized defaults, which sets memory to 2133 MHz CL15 at 1.20 V
2. Set Memory Enhancement setting to Enhanced stability
3. Tested with only two sticks of RAM (2x8GB)
4. Set turbo to 4 GHz using 1.25 vcore and 2x8GB memory at 2133 MHz

None of these have solved the issue. Is it likely that the CPU is broken?

Attached is an image of LinX runs using 4 GHz turbo at 1.25 vcore with 2x8GB memory at optimized defaults settings (2133 MHz). LinX is set to stop on error, yet it continues to run even if the residuals don't match.
What vcore loadline calibration are you using? And you mentioned 'stock'. Stock is all auto settings with default loadlines, keep that in mind. Gigabyte's stock afaik sets a manual vcore of 1.20v with no loadline calibration at 4.7 ghz and that will crash some systems.

Check HWinfo64 extended CPU information for the AC loadline value. AC Loadline has a huge influence on load CPU voltage on stock speeds (this is assuming you are using auto voltage---using a MANUAL voltage at 4.7 ghz is not stock, actually, if the bios is setting a manual cpu voltage for you. And trying to use 1.20v manual without any LLC at all is asking for failure). Post your loadline calibration value used also. And post your load VR VOUT shown in HWinfo64 (sensors) please.

Using Gigabyte's 1.20v manual setting (rather than auto) is very common to fail LinX at 4.7 ghz while Prime95 may pass.

Please post the information I asked for.
Then try setting CPU Voltage on AUTO, Loadline Calibration at STANDARD and AC Loadline at 100 (1.0 mOhm) in CPU VR Settings, and see if you pass at that point. If you fail at that point, set AC Loadline to 130 (1.3 mOhms). That is a guaranteed pass.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 09-11-2019 at 12:04 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 09:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 173
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
Any ideas what could cause residuals in LinX to vary between runs, when the CPU is at stock settings? This is my system:
CPU: 9900K
MB: Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Elite
Memory: Corsair 4x8GB 3200 MHz CL16
CPU Cooler: Corsair H115i Pro
PSU: EVGA Supernova G2 750 W

Memory is tested to 16000 % coverage with no errors using Karhu RAM test in this system. Max core temp in LinX at stock is around 85 C.

Things I've tried:
1. Load optimized defaults, which sets memory to 2133 MHz CL15 at 1.20 V
2. Set Memory Enhancement setting to Enhanced stability
3. Tested with only two sticks of RAM (2x8GB)
4. Set turbo to 4 GHz using 1.25 vcore and 2x8GB memory at 2133 MHz

None of these have solved the issue. Is it likely that the CPU is broken?

Attached is an image of LinX runs using 4 GHz turbo at 1.25 vcore with 2x8GB memory at optimized defaults settings (2133 MHz). LinX is set to stop on error, yet it continues to run even if the residuals don't match.
Where can I download LinX? Try running your CPU with AC/DC Loadline at power saving and low LLC, it is a lot more stable and gets me prime 95 12k AVX FM3 stable.
Melodist is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 12:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Where can I download LinX? Try running your CPU with AC/DC Loadline at power saving and low LLC, it is a lot more stable and gets me prime 95 12k AVX FM3 stable.
Google Linx 0.9.5

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
What vcore loadline calibration are you using? And you mentioned 'stock'. Stock is all auto settings with default loadlines, keep that in mind. Gigabyte's stock afaik sets a manual vcore of 1.20v with no loadline calibration at 4.7 ghz and that will crash some systems.

Check HWinfo64 extended CPU information for the AC loadline value. AC Loadline has a huge influence on load CPU voltage on stock speeds (this is assuming you are using auto voltage---using a MANUAL voltage at 4.7 ghz is not stock, actually, if the bios is setting a manual cpu voltage for you. And trying to use 1.20v manual without any LLC at all is asking for failure). Post your loadline calibration value used also. And post your load VR VOUT shown in HWinfo64 (sensors) please.

Using Gigabyte's 1.20v manual setting (rather than auto) is very common to fail LinX at 4.7 ghz while Prime95 may pass.

Please post the information I asked for.
Then try setting CPU Voltage on AUTO, Loadline Calibration at STANDARD and AC Loadline at 100 (1.0 mOhm) in CPU VR Settings, and see if you pass at that point. If you fail at that point, set AC Loadline to 130 (1.3 mOhms). That is a guaranteed pass.
I used auto loadline calibration. In fact, all frequency and voltage settings were on auto. Auto on everything should work but isn't in this case unfortunately. As I understand it, the CPU should request the voltage it needs depending on load and the motherboard should provide the requested voltage.

Hwinfo showed that AC loadline was 1.3 mOhm and DC loadline was 1.0 mOhm. I tried a few values between 0.01 mOhm and 1.3 mOhm on those with no effect on stability.

If frequency and voltage settings are on optimized defaults, VROUT is 1.16-1.20 under LinX. Using low setting on loadline calibration gives 1.21-1.26. Low loadline calibration also sets load vcore to around 1.30-1.32 with a few spikes to 1.38. Auto loadline supplies 1.23-1.28 under load while VID varies between 1.24-1.28.

Quote: Originally Posted by Driller au View Post
might not be your problem but over in the gigabyte Z390 thread there was talk that the residual are different on a cold boot. Re-boot and try again, @KedarWolf is the man that is into linX he will help when he sees this
Thanks for the info. Cold boot doesn't seem to cause the issue, though, because restart doesn't help.

Last edited by Alepale; 09-11-2019 at 02:06 PM.
Alepale is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 02:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
I used auto loadline calibration. In fact, all frequency and voltage settings were on auto. Auto on everything should work but isn't in this case unfortunately. As I understand it, the CPU should request the voltage it needs depending on load and the motherboard should provide the requested voltage.

Hwinfo showed that AC loadline was 1.3 mOhm and DC loadline was 1.0 mOhm. I tried a few values between 0.01 mOhm and 1.3 mOhm on those with no effect on stability.

If frequency and voltage settings are on optimized defaults, VROUT is 1.16-1.20 under LinX. Using low setting on loadline calibration gives 1.21-1.26. Low loadline calibration also sets load vcore to around 1.30-1.32 with a few spikes to 1.38. Auto loadline supplies 1.23-1.28 under load while VID varies between 1.24-1.28.


Thanks for the info. Cold boot doesn't seem to cause the issue, though, because restart doesn't help.
Thank you for the reply.

Set AC Loadline to 160 (1.6 mOhms) while on Auto vcore and then test (keep Vcore Loadline calibration on Normal or Standard when on AUTO voltages).
This should pass.

(Note : when on AUTO VCORE, Vcore loadline calibration should be kept at Normal or Standard, unless AC Loadline is 0.4 mOhms or below (40)).

Then try manual voltage, set vcore to 1.30v manual with Vcore Loadline calibration=High and test again. This should also pass.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Thank you for the reply.

Set AC Loadline to 160 (1.6 mOhms) while on Auto vcore and then test (keep Vcore Loadline calibration on Normal or Standard when on AUTO voltages).
This should pass.

(Note : when on AUTO VCORE, Vcore loadline calibration should be kept at Normal or Standard, unless AC Loadline is 0.4 mOhms or below (40)).

Then try manual voltage, set vcore to 1.30v manual with Vcore Loadline calibration=High and test again. This should also pass.
Thanks. First, I set AC loadline to 160 and loadline calibration to standard. This resulted in 1.32-1.35 vcore during LinX load. I still got residual mismatch on 10th LinX run after 15 min.

Next, I tested manual vcore. Like you suggested, I set 1.30 manual vcore and High loadline calibration. Vcore is 1.26-1.27 under load. Failure on the 1st run. 1.36 V in BIOS and 1.30 V under load => failure on the 5th pass.

Another test using auto vcore: AC loadline at 160 and loadline calibration low. Load vcore is 1.380V-1.416 V and still got residual mismatch on the 5th LinX run.
Alepale is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 05:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 5,987
Rep: 383 (Unique: 274)
Quote: Originally Posted by Alepale View Post
Thanks. First, I set AC loadline to 160 and loadline calibration to standard. This resulted in 1.32-1.35 vcore during LinX load. I still got residual mismatch on 10th LinX run after 15 min.

Next, I tested manual vcore. Like you suggested, I set 1.30 manual vcore and High loadline calibration. Vcore is 1.26-1.27 under load. Failure on the 1st run. 1.36 V in BIOS and 1.30 V under load => failure on the 5th pass.

Another test using auto vcore: AC loadline at 160 and loadline calibration low. Load vcore is 1.380V-1.416 V and still got residual mismatch on the 5th LinX run.
Those aren't VR VOUT readings.
1.30v manual with LLC High should be less than 1.20v under load in LinX.
The other voltage sensors are not accurate.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Alepale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 164
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Those aren't VR VOUT readings.
1.30v manual with LLC High should be less than 1.20v under load in LinX.
The other voltage sensors are not accurate.
Yes, VR VOUT is definitely different from vcore reading:

Auto vcore, AC loadline=160 and llc=low:
VR VOUT = 1.29-1.32 V under load

Manual vcore 1.30 V and llc=high:
VR VOUT = 1.16-1.18 V under load
Alepale is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off