9900KS OC - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

9900KS OC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-07-2019, 09:06 AM
hazed is lazed
 
eminded1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rhode Island, US
Posts: 237
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
what is your LLC Value?

haze is lazed
eminded1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-12-2019, 11:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bp7178's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 119
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Talon2016 View Post
I think 5.3Ghz would be viable at an acceptable voltage, but I will likely leave it here and run low voltage. I just don't need higher clocks for really anything.
From a 9900KS owner, I think all of them will do 5.1ghz with no AVX offset needed. 5.2ghz, it starts to depend on your cooling. 5.3ghz is benchmark stable at best with no AVX offset. Anyone who says otherwise is a liar or on sub-ambient cooling. Past 5.1ghz no AVX you need a lot more voltage. I would even want direct die for 5.2ghz 24/7.
bp7178 is offline  
post #13 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 12:30 PM
hazed is lazed
 
eminded1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rhode Island, US
Posts: 237
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
MY i9 9900kf requires 1.14 to be stable at 4.8 ghz AVX 4.9 requires 1.19 I cant go past 4.9 because I have hit the limit of cooling!! just ran some stress tests prime 95 small fft newst verison hit 100C, VRM and VR were at 108C!!!!!! and the CPU was drawing a woping 328 WATTS over the 95w rated tdp!!!. and it didn't themal throttle amazing....

so I settled for a 5.1 GHZ oc (non AVX) with a -2 AVX offset of 4.9ghz on the AVX loads.

5.1GHZ NON AVX STABLE requires 1.26 vcore in CPUZ under Load to be stable at 5.1GHZ any lower system unstable. with a max temp of 92C after 10 mins p95 small FFT newest version...

4.9GHZ AVX Stable requires 1.19 v core in cpuz under load to be stable any lower system unstable.

Here are some pics I took of the last p95 run I did to a 4.9ghz clock all core (5.1 NON AVX)

Here are my current bios settings

5.1GHz ALL CORE SET
43 cache
-2 AVX OFFSET for 4.9 AVX load
All Limiters Maxed, .01 AC DC load Line and
Load Line Calibration Set to 5
140% Max CPU Current
Adaptive Voltage set at 1.37 OC Voltage and a .045 + Offset.

CPU works between .666 and 1.403 between workloads with adaptive voltage and offset set. im still learning what the offset does.

Im still learning Adaptive Voltage Settings. Idle watts are down below 5 its very efficient way of contoling the voltage with load. while computer on I get max vcore in cpu of 1.403

while doing some stuff not much but when idling it drops to .666 vcore and the clocks drop to 800mhz. adaptive voltage is not to bad and great for power bill also I assume with a titanium psu highly efficient

Iv def hit the chips cooling wall were going past 100c is not gonna happen.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191015_123003.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	2.53 MB
ID:	306154  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191113_135815.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	5.14 MB
ID:	306156  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191113_135848.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	4.58 MB
ID:	306158  


haze is lazed

Last edited by eminded1; 11-14-2019 at 10:58 AM.
eminded1 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 10:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,940
Rep: 426 (Unique: 297)
Quote: Originally Posted by eminded1 View Post
MY i9 9900kf requires 1.14 to be stable at 4.8 ghz AVX 4.9 requires 1.19 I cant go past 4.9 because I have hit the limit of cooling!! just ran some stress tests prime 95 small fft newst verison hit 100C, VRM and VR were at 108C!!!!!! and the CPU was drawing a woping 328 WATTS over the 95w rated tdp!!!. and it didn't themal throttle amazing....

so I settled for a 5.1 GHZ oc (non AVX) with a -2 AVX offset of 4.9ghz on the AVX loads.

5.1GHZ NON AVX STABLE requires 1.26 vcore in CPUZ under Load to be stable at 5.1GHZ any lower system unstable. with a max temp of 92C after 10 mins p95 small FFT newest version...

4.9GHZ AVX Stable requires 1.19 v core in cpuz under load to be stable any lower system unstable.

Here are some pics I took of the last p95 run I did to a 4.9ghz clock all core (5.1 NON AVX)

Here are my current bios settings

5.1GHz ALL CORE SET
43 cache
-2 AVX OFFSET for 4.9 AVX load
All Limiters Maxed, .01 AC DC load Line and
Load Line Calibration Set to 5
140% Max CPU Current
Adaptive Voltage set at 1.37 OC Voltage and a .045 + Offset.

CPU works between .666 and 1.403 between workloads with adaptive voltage and offset set. im still learning what the offset does.

Im still learning Adaptive Voltage Settings. Idle watts are down below 5 its very efficient way of contoling the voltage with load. while computer on I get max vcore in cpu of 1.403

while doing some stuff not much but when idling it drops to .666 vcore and the clocks drop to 800mhz. adaptive voltage is not to bad and great for power bill also I assume with a titanium psu highly efficient

Iv def hit the chips cooling wall were going past 100c is not gonna happen.
Why are you using your phone to take a screenshot? Just press print screen and copy it into windows paint or something (or even use lightshot).

Also you are using 3600 mhz RAM. VCCIO at 0.950v and VCCSA at 1.050v will *often greatly* hurt L3 cache--hyperthreaded stability/IMC stability with those two voltages at intel defaults with the RAM at that speed!
VCCIO 0.950 and SA 1.05v is designed for 2400 mhz memory, not 3600 mhz.

Raise VCCIO to 1.15-1.20v and VCCSA to 1.20v-1.25v and you should do a bit better (you might be pleasantly surprised).
Yes it may not make sense, but the VCCIO (and SA to some extent) affects the L3 cache/IMC and the L3 cache is extremely important when dealing with hyperthreaded cores. A too low VCCIO will throw up CPU Cache L0 errors in some tests, and will almost always insta-fail "Prime95 29.8 build 6" 112K In-place Fixed FFT with AVX disabled in the stress options (yes you can disable AVX easily now in the newest prime95 and it's also a decent RAM/IMC tester too

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM

Last edited by Falkentyne; 11-13-2019 at 10:54 PM.
Falkentyne is offline  
post #15 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 10:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bhsmurfy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 107
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Why are you using your phone to take a screenshot? Just press print screen and copy it into windows paint or something (or even use lightshot).
This. The amount of cell phone pics here is disturbing. Overclocking is all about efficiency. Learn your keyboard shortcuts before you play with volts.

Didnt even have the respect to rotate them...
bhsmurfy is offline  
post #16 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-14-2019, 04:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
robertr1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 290
Rep: 13 (Unique: 9)
5.1ghz p95 avx is just a lot to deal with. I can handle the thermals but I'm still running into 190+ amps average and 200+amps peaks doing that. I shut the testing down after 40mins because I was worried about chip longevity.
robertr1 is offline  
post #17 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-14-2019, 11:07 AM
hazed is lazed
 
eminded1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rhode Island, US
Posts: 237
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
for some reason I upload pics but they come out sideways.. even from computer.. weird. but yea.. I ended up just going back to stock.. setting XMP then booting and resetting low volts in DIPS, then Saveing and loading low volts, if I don't VCCIO and VCCSA are at 1.4 Each.. But yea. I run 3600MHZ c19 Ram 32GB kit 2x16GB. AND the VCCIO and VCCSA set to intel stock voltage. but yea I havet gotten any instability running at those low volts.

I also save profiles in UEFI with low volts but I like using DIPS because I like to boot computer stock with just XMP enabled. then load profiles in DIPS and test for stability.

A lot say dips is bad and u should stick with BIOS (UEFI) but not me..YEa so

currently im at 5ghz Stable all Core 0 AVX OFFSET at stock auto voltage letting motherboard control voltage.

Temps check.. Voltages stay between .63 and 1.314

But I did have to enable LLC level 3 to remain stable at stock auto and stable at 5 and 5 (5ghz AVX Stable)

Temps at 5GHZ NON AVX - 83C - p95 version 26.6

Temps at 5GHZ AVX Load - 97C less then a minute p95 latest version

I don't want to push more.. and strain the longevity of the system~~! so im staying stock for now and ill just increase the LLC a step up if need more Vcore for higher clocks leave voltage on auto (adaptive stock) best way to go I think … the Motherboard Manufaures do a great job adjusting voltage for overclocks on auto.. NOT the same can be said for VCCIO and VCCSA, PCH Core, CPU PLL Core Voltages that are VERY high at STOCK and are 100% stable at lower settings.

Heres a pic of the settings set in bios and DIPS. its 100% stable at 3600MHZ ram cl19 32gb, ALL Prime 95, Aida, Realbench, XTU, MemTest, C15, C20, Gaming Stable

Tips for getting stock voltages!!!!

Start PC with all auto don't even enable XMP

Boot into Windows Check DIPS, or HWINFO or your motherboard manufacures program monitoring software. record or take a photo of the voltages and settings

go back into bios. and set all settings after you enable XMP and press YES. Change Everyhting to stock after XMP Set and set dram to 1.35 Vdimm.

Then Boot into windows with just ram at XMP and voltages set low and try stress tests at stock. then oc repeat

but yea.. dips is the beast


EDIT: When I decide to do some ram overclocking ill look into the VCCIO and VCCSA voltage they will prolly need some bumps up so I heard.

Intel Stock MAX Vcore for i9 9900k (ks,kf) - 1.50
Intel Stock MAX VCCIO ??? I don't know Stay under 1.3 I heard
Intel Stock MAX VCCSA ??? I dontr know stay under 1.3 what does intel spec sheet say about those 2 voltages. what about CPU PLL MAX or
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20191015_123003.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	2.53 MB
ID:	306162  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191114_131158.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	197.6 KB
ID:	306166  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191114_115020.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	532.8 KB
ID:	306168  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20191113_135848.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	4.58 MB
ID:	306170  


haze is lazed

Last edited by eminded1; 11-14-2019 at 11:18 AM.
eminded1 is online now  
post #18 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-14-2019, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,940
Rep: 426 (Unique: 297)
Quote: Originally Posted by eminded1 View Post
for some reason I upload pics but they come out sideways.. even from computer.. weird. but yea.. I ended up just going back to stock.. setting XMP then booting and resetting low volts in DIPS, then Saveing and loading low volts, if I don't VCCIO and VCCSA are at 1.4 Each.. But yea. I run 3600MHZ c19 Ram 32GB kit 2x16GB. AND the VCCIO and VCCSA set to intel stock voltage. but yea I havet gotten any instability running at those low volts.

I also save profiles in UEFI with low volts but I like using DIPS because I like to boot computer stock with just XMP enabled. then load profiles in DIPS and test for stability.

A lot say dips is bad and u should stick with BIOS (UEFI) but not me..YEa so

currently im at 5ghz Stable all Core 0 AVX OFFSET at stock auto voltage letting motherboard control voltage.

Temps check.. Voltages stay between .63 and 1.314

But I did have to enable LLC level 3 to remain stable at stock auto and stable at 5 and 5 (5ghz AVX Stable)

Temps at 5GHZ NON AVX - 83C - p95 version 26.6

Temps at 5GHZ AVX Load - 97C less then a minute p95 latest version

I don't want to push more.. and strain the longevity of the system~~! so im staying stock for now and ill just increase the LLC a step up if need more Vcore for higher clocks leave voltage on auto (adaptive stock) best way to go I think … the Motherboard Manufaures do a great job adjusting voltage for overclocks on auto.. NOT the same can be said for VCCIO and VCCSA, PCH Core, CPU PLL Core Voltages that are VERY high at STOCK and are 100% stable at lower settings.

Heres a pic of the settings set in bios and DIPS. its 100% stable at 3600MHZ ram cl19 32gb, ALL Prime 95, Aida, Realbench, XTU, MemTest, C15, C20, Gaming Stable

Tips for getting stock voltages!!!!

Start PC with all auto don't even enable XMP

Boot into Windows Check DIPS, or HWINFO or your motherboard manufacures program monitoring software. record or take a photo of the voltages and settings

go back into bios. and set all settings after you enable XMP and press YES. Change Everyhting to stock after XMP Set and set dram to 1.35 Vdimm.

Then Boot into windows with just ram at XMP and voltages set low and try stress tests at stock. then oc repeat

but yea.. dips is the beast


EDIT: When I decide to do some ram overclocking ill look into the VCCIO and VCCSA voltage they will prolly need some bumps up so I heard.

Intel Stock MAX Vcore for i9 9900k (ks,kf) - 1.50
Intel Stock MAX VCCIO ??? I don't know Stay under 1.3 I heard
Intel Stock MAX VCCSA ??? I dontr know stay under 1.3 what does intel spec sheet say about those 2 voltages. what about CPU PLL MAX or
That's not a 9900ks.

And 228 amps at 1.19v...I have no idea how that's even possible to pull that much current at that vcore....and 107C VRM too...
By the way you don't need prime 26.6. Just use 29.8 build 6 and click the disable AVX checkboxes and you get a bugfixed, up to date 26.6.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
post #19 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 01:49 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
munternet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 422
Rep: 16 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Why are you using your phone to take a screenshot? Just press print screen and copy it into windows paint or something (or even use lightshot).
...and to print an image out the monitor goes in the copier
Edit: JK, I'm sure there are some technical issues. You can't beat good ol' Paint for the basics. Oh, and Lightshot is great for the printscreen

CPU
9900ks
Motherboard
Asus Maximus XI Gene
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
F4-4400C19D-16GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 1 x 360mm and 1 x 420mm Radiators and Vardar Furious Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus PG349Q 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 120 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000x500x3
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
32GB 1xF4-4400C19D-16GTZSW & 1xF4-4400C19D-16GTZKK
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO Plus
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 1 x 360mm and 1 x 420mm Radiators and Vardar Furious Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Asus PG349Q 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 120 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
CPU
i7-4770k
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Ranger
GPU
Gigabyte NVIDIA GeForce GTX980
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X 16GB 2 x 8GB 2400 Memory F3-2400C10D-16GTX
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 2TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD Rom
Power Supply
PSU Coolermaster V1000W
Cooling
Custom Loop
Case
Case Thermaltake V51 Full Window
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Shimian 2650x1440
Keyboard
Thermaltake Poseidon Z
Mouse
Logitech G602
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 11-16-2019 at 01:52 AM.
munternet is offline  
post #20 of 32 (permalink) Old 11-16-2019, 03:55 PM
hazed is lazed
 
eminded1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Rhode Island, US
Posts: 237
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
ended up settling at a 5GHZ NON AVX OC 4.8GHZ MAX AVX STABLE

5GHZ NON AVX at Load Vcore: 1.190 -Temp 83c max

4.8GHZ AVX at Load Vcore: 1.153 - temp 87c max

Bios Voltage is Set at 1.34 Adaptive OC Core Voltage and 0 Voltage Offset and LLC of 5, CPU Current set at 140% no mce, all limits maxed, XMP on with stock intel voltages set manually ( ROG HERO Z390 WIFI)

Idle Temps - 28C
Idle Vcore - 1.30
MAX Temp at 4.8GHZ AVX Load 89C
Max Temp at 5GHZ NON AVX Load 83c

Just set bios to 5ghz all core and a -2 AVX OFFSET, (-1 AVX OFFSET requires over 1.2 Vcore at load and temps are too high so I settle for 4.8ghz AVX Load

I can push to 5.2 and a -4 AVX offset but voltage and temps are getting around the top for my cooler (h100i Pro Hydro 2019 version) water cooler delid with Cool Laboratory Liquid Metal Pro and Themal Grizzly Kryonaut on the ihs to copper water block.

200mv for just 100mhz ant worth it.

I did boot at 5.4ghz but not stable. 5.3 same. too hot for anything I guess I could lapp and go direct die with one of those kits from amazon. and get a 360 mm custom loop with high performance fans big tubes and a nice water block would prolly take temps down another 10c I bet.


CHECK out this pic below its what my cooler is rated on delid with liquid metal (Cool Laboratory Liquid Pro...

These Settings were tested with Prime 95 Latest Version SmallFFT for 2 HR at a time. Both AVX loads and NON AVX loads at 5GHZ 100% STABLE

Also Passed 4 hr realbench, 2 hr aida64

im also tring a higher llc of 6 and lower vcore of 1.26 to see if I can get the same load values with a lower idle vcore
EDIT: I lowered voltage to 1.275 in bios and set LLC to lvl 6 and I get the same load voltages except idle voltages are now 1.27ish below 1.3 so im staying here.

good luck
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cooler pints.png
Views:	21
Size:	31.4 KB
ID:	306642  

Click image for larger version

Name:	i9 oc.png
Views:	37
Size:	573.0 KB
ID:	306644  

Click image for larger version

Name:	nonavxload.png
Views:	29
Size:	600.3 KB
ID:	306646  

Click image for larger version

Name:	sdsd.png
Views:	27
Size:	592.4 KB
ID:	306648  


haze is lazed

Last edited by eminded1; 11-17-2019 at 06:54 AM.
eminded1 is online now  
Reply

Tags
9900ks , aio , Alphacool , Overclock , ryujin

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off