9900KS lottery thread - Page 10 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900KS lottery thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
SneakyBushNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 241
Rep: 22 (Unique: 18)
I finally got a couple of seconds last night to play around with my 9900ks on a Gigabyte Designare motherboard with the new 9900ks optimized bios and an h150i cooler. I usually overclock via offset and I was able to hit 5.2 with an offset of +0.05 vcore LLC of high and AC LLC of powersave all other settings auto , but it wasn't linpack stable (no screenshot of this clock, I'll dial it to stable on the weekend hopefully). Vcore topped out at 1.262 and temp at 76c on a single run of realbench benchmark.

I can do 5.0 with an offset of -.005 with all other settings the same which is linpack stable and 8 hour realbench stability test stable (screenshot attached). VCore maxed at 1.232 at temps maxed at 92c on this run.

I bought a 9900K a few weeks ago which I returned for this chip which was only able to do 4.8 all cores and was hitting around 1.3 to do so (and still throwing about 1 WHEA error per day) on the same board/cooler. Very glad I returned that and got this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	5.0 - down volt .005.PNG
Views:	48
Size:	586.1 KB
ID:	305158  



SneakyBushNinja is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-08-2019, 11:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
slash621's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
OK guys. I followed advice and disabled XMP and am using HIGH instead of TURBO..

What do you know! I can now pass 5.0ghz on R20 and Realbench (15min) on the KS at 1.19 VROUT (a massive .55 VROUT improvement!). Now i'm walking the voltage down to find the VROUT minimum and then I'll try for my lowest voltage for 5.0 and 47 Ring on the CPU. My RAM is 2133 default for now to focus on the CPU.

This is giving me some confidence that I might be able to pass 5.1 with this extra voltage and temperature headroom i've gained by disabling XMP. Somethings seriously wrong with Gigabyte's F10 BIOS in this regard. I'll try to see if manually entering my ram's XMP settings keeps me stable after I find the 2133 5.0 minimum CPU voltages.

9900KS @ 5.1 with 1.35VROUT
Z390 Aorus Master
32GB Corsair LPX @ 3600mhz
MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI at 2150 with +600 mem OC
slash621 is offline  
post #93 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dipsdots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
So far, 5.1Ghz on 1.32v in bios, LLC on High (Aorus Master). Voltages according to HWMonitor 1.272-1.332. 1 hour of Realbench later, 82* package temp. Noctua D15 cooler. Delidded & copper ihs, Conductonaut. Running XMP 4133.
dipsdots is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #94 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 01:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,233
Rep: 396 (Unique: 283)
Quote: Originally Posted by dipsdots View Post
So far, 5.1Ghz on 1.32v in bios, LLC on High (Aorus Master). Voltages according to HWMonitor 1.272-1.332. 1 hour of Realbench later, 82* package temp. Noctua D15 cooler. Delidded & copper ihs, Conductonaut. Running XMP 4133.
Use hWinfo, not hwmonitor and monitor VR VOUT for voltage and current iout for amps and power pout for watts.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #95 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dipsdots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
VR VOUT 1.213-1.266 (1.221avg). Package avg temp is 77 degrees.
POUT is avg 158w and max 173
dipsdots is offline  
post #96 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 10:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dipsdots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
5.2ghz - 1.335v in bios - llc on turbo - vrout 1.280 - 48 uncore - no avx offset - 183w power draw - package temp avg 79 degrees, 89 max
dipsdots is offline  
post #97 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 10:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,233
Rep: 396 (Unique: 283)
Quote: Originally Posted by dipsdots View Post
5.2ghz - 1.335v in bios - llc on turbo - vrout 1.280 - 48 uncore - no avx offset - 183w power draw - package temp avg 79 degrees, 89 max
Looks decent for realbench 2.56.
Can you go lower on the voltage?
Don't forget to check for logged Whea L0 errors in HWinfo64 also.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #98 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 11:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dipsdots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Looks decent for realbench 2.56.
Can you go lower on the voltage?
Don't forget to check for logged Whea L0 errors in HWinfo64 also.
1.325 crashes. I’m testing 1.330 now
dipsdots is offline  
post #99 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 01:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
dipsdots's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by dipsdots View Post
1.325 crashes. I’m testing 1.330 now
Bios 1.330 (vrout at 1.297) is stable at 5.2 with llc on turbo. Max temps at 87 degrees. Memory is stable at 4400-18 with optimized timings. Pretty happy with this given that it’s on just a D15
dipsdots is offline  
post #100 of 120 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 02:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,233
Rep: 396 (Unique: 283)
Quote: Originally Posted by dipsdots View Post
Bios 1.330 (vrout at 1.297) is stable at 5.2 with llc on turbo. Max temps at 87 degrees. Memory is stable at 4400-18 with optimized timings. Pretty happy with this given that it’s on just a D15
Did you check for WHEA L0 errors in HWinfo64 ?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off