9900KS lottery thread - Page 24 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

9900KS lottery thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #231 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-25-2019, 02:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 63
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by DrunknFoo View Post
Oh, no it was a great chip! One of the first bought from retail on day 1. I had the chance to sell it for profit cause someone offered a price i couldnt refuse.

But it was limited to 5.2, 5.3 couldnt hold no matter what voltage i threw at it
You couldn't do 5.3 ghz with hyperthreading disabled?
Never attempted with it disabled. I prefer to leave it on with my sampling. Just how i run my tests
DrunknFoo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #232 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-25-2019, 03:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 63
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by DrunknFoo View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by DrunknFoo View Post
Oh, no it was a great chip! One of the first bought from retail on day 1. I had the chance to sell it for profit cause someone offered a price i couldnt refuse.

But it was limited to 5.2, 5.3 couldnt hold no matter what voltage i threw at it
You couldn't do 5.3 ghz with hyperthreading disabled?
Never attempted with it disabled. I prefer to leave it on with my sampling. Just how i run my tests
That said back then when i first got the chip asus llc5 vs 6 was a huge drop in minimums....so i just stuck with 6.. Only recently did i update the bios, but i dont think this would have helped much. I tabled llc4-6 earlier this yr.

Im curently playing around with llc5 for my 5.3 setup, with + .005v increment it seems to be holding up vs the lvl6 i originally used.

Just going back to some ram tweaking before i resume the sampling with the new llc value
DrunknFoo is offline  
post #233 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-26-2019, 03:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Melodist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 195
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by DrunknFoo View Post
have you tried running past 5h using 0 avx? utilizing avx instructions? (sorry not planning to look too far back in the thread). Just asking cause all my sampling *total of 6 now, never was able to use 1:1 avx. not that it wont be stable for daily use, just on synthetics i haven't come across any that can hold the test for 5+ hours with 0 offset when core is min maxed. (not mobo specific either). Then again might be because you are testing 5.0 rather than 5.1 or higher. (not really doubting ya, im just curious, cause it's a unicorn that i haven't come across in my eyes)
Why run such tests for 5 hours? oO
Melodist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #234 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-26-2019, 01:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 63
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Melodist View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by DrunknFoo View Post
have you tried running past 5h using 0 avx? utilizing avx instructions? (sorry not planning to look too far back in the thread). Just asking cause all my sampling *total of 6 now, never was able to use 1:1 avx. not that it wont be stable for daily use, just on synthetics i haven't come across any that can hold the test for 5+ hours with 0 offset when core is min maxed. (not mobo specific either). Then again might be because you are testing 5.0 rather than 5.1 or higher. (not really doubting ya, im just curious, cause it's a unicorn that i haven't come across in my eyes)
Why run such tests for 5 hours? oO
Old school mentality, but past the 4h mark on small, (although newer build may have changed it) i think it was said that the Ls caches out or cant 'keep up' and starts driving ic/mem controller for ram utilization... Now u got both cpu n ram being hit...

But just based on yrs of stability testing, when utilizing prime, ur either gonna crash, error or stop worker within 5mins, if u pass within ,5min, then itll likely run to within 1.5h, then 4h and then 6...

*Not concrete and probably circumstantial...

If the response is 'its not a real work load' just ignore me 🤪

Last edited by DrunknFoo; 11-26-2019 at 02:15 PM.
DrunknFoo is offline  
post #235 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 09:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 348
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Here we are, I retired my lovely brother 8700k (but still on my desk) for a young and fresh 9900ks just delidded... first test

delid with Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut + Kryonaut

4.3 core 4.3 cache 3.6 memory
manual 1.22V
core load line set to High
Vccsa and Vccio in auto

up 13 hours P95 blend stress test

IT8686E SENSOR (i don't know if gone crazy, checking info)
VCORE average 2.183V, maximum 2.496V
VCCSA average 2.219V, maximum 2.496V

IT8792E SENSOR
VCORE average 1.130V, maximum 1.210V
VCCIO average 1.230V, maximum 1.232V

CPU package average temp 64 degrees, maximum 80 degrees
VRM MOS average temp 60 degrees, maximum 72 degrees
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	43.43.36.1220.png
Views:	34
Size:	1.87 MB
ID:	308934  


Bride is offline  
post #236 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 09:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bass junkie xl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 32
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Bride View Post
Here we are, I retired my lovely brother 8700k (but still on my desk) for a young and fresh 9900ks just delidded... first test

delid with Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut + Kryonaut

4.3 core 4.3 cache 3.6 memory
manual 1.22V
core load line set to High
Vccsa and Vccio in auto

up 13 hours P95 blend stress test

IT8686E SENSOR (i don't know if gone crazy, checking info)
VCORE average 2.183V, maximum 2.496V
VCCSA average 2.219V, maximum 2.496V

IT8792E SENSOR
VCORE average 1.130V, maximum 1.210V
VCCIO average 1.230V, maximum 1.232V

CPU package average temp 64 degrees, maximum 80 degrees
VRM MOS average temp 60 degrees, maximum 72 degrees

4.3 ghz ? should run about 0.7 v to 1.1 v

no 5 ghz ?

i9-9900 ks @ 5.0 Ghz @ 1.23v - Asus X-Hero Z-370 Wifi - 32 GB Team Group Xtreem @4200 CL-17 - MSi GTX 1080TI FE - 1440p 165 hz G-Sync
bass junkie xl is offline  
post #237 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-29-2019, 09:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 348
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by bass junkie xl View Post
4.3 ghz ? should run about 0.7 v to 1.1 v

no 5 ghz ?
I tried to decrease the voltage but not stable, we are sure about 0.7 ~ 1.1V around 4.3GHz?

I forced the frequency at 4.3GHz because i want to make a reference base for my overclock, but I'm waiting an answer from Gigabyte support about IT8686E sensor.

In the meanwhile I'm running another test setting in manual the VCCSA at 1.30V.
Maybe in auto created too much high spikes, making crazy the sensor.


Last edited by Bride; 11-29-2019 at 10:36 PM.
Bride is offline  
post #238 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-30-2019, 03:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
criskoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 205
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Bride View Post
Here we are, I retired my lovely brother 8700k (but still on my desk) for a young and fresh 9900ks just delidded... first test

delid with Thermal Grizzly Conductonaut + Kryonaut

4.3 core 4.3 cache 3.6 memory
manual 1.22V
core load line set to High
Vccsa and Vccio in auto

up 13 hours P95 blend stress test

IT8686E SENSOR (i don't know if gone crazy, checking info)
VCORE average 2.183V, maximum 2.496V
VCCSA average 2.219V, maximum 2.496V

IT8792E SENSOR
VCORE average 1.130V, maximum 1.210V
VCCIO average 1.230V, maximum 1.232V

CPU package average temp 64 degrees, maximum 80 degrees
VRM MOS average temp 60 degrees, maximum 72 degrees
If it were me Id rma ( return for replacement ) right away for crazy sensor reading like that. That doesnt make any sense. Only time ive ever seen my sensors go all wacky was when i juiced the cpu with 15.4V and tried to run prime AVX lol. All the sensors went nuts.

criskoe is offline  
post #239 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-30-2019, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 348
Rep: 13 (Unique: 11)
Quote: Originally Posted by criskoe View Post
If it were me Id rma ( return for replacement ) right away for crazy sensor reading like that. That doesn't make any sense. Only time ive ever seen my sensors go all wacky was when i juiced the cpu with 1.54V and tried to run prime AVX lol. All the sensors went nuts.
Setting up VCCSA at 1.30V everything looks ok. This mobo is a rock solid one (Aourus Gaming 7) and previously with a 8700k, no problems at all. In any case waiting an answer from Gigabyte support.
Now I will try also to decrease the voltage at 1.050
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	43.43.36.1300.1220.png
Views:	20
Size:	1.86 MB
ID:	309004  



Last edited by Bride; 11-30-2019 at 07:01 AM.
Bride is offline  
post #240 of 416 (permalink) Old 11-30-2019, 08:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,809
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Bride View Post
Setting up VCCSA at 1.30V everything looks ok. This mobo is a rock solid one (Aourus Gaming 7) and previously with a 8700k, no problems at all. In any case waiting an answer from Gigabyte support.
Now I will try also to decrease the voltage at 1.050
Wait you're using a 9900k on a Gaming 7?
Ugh. That board needs to be thrown in the heap. It's hopelessly bugged with a 9900k.
The loadline calibration settings are totally messed up on it, and the VRM shutoff limits are based on an 8700k's limits, even with them maxed out for a 9900k!
This was tested extensively in the 9900k results questions thread. Look for @Exilon 's posts to see just how messed up that board is with a 9900k.

You can contact Gigabyte for a BIOS update to fix the VRM overload trip issues and the loadline settings but don't hold your breath. Maybe if you are VERY lucky and the BIOS team actually responds to your support ticket somehow...

https://www.reddit.com/r/overclockin...gigabyte_z370/

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off