9900KS - Maximus XI Extreme OC Help - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

9900KS - Maximus XI Extreme OC Help

post #1 of 274 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 10:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
9900KS - Maximus XI Extreme OC Help

I am new to overclocking in general, but I have done alot of reading on the subject and I'm working on overclocking my 2nd Gaming PC.

I have a 9900KS on an Asus Rog Maximus XI Extreme eATX board.
H115i 280mm AIO on it as well, and all the fans I could fit.

I followed Der8auer's youtube video on overclocking the 9900K, and he mentioned to adjust LLC from 6 up to 7 if need be, or increase the voltage higher if you see Vdroop kicking in when testing Cinebench R15 or Prime95.
I've tried LLC 6 at 1.30-1.33 and then i move to LLC 7 from 1.30 up to 1.35, and it's always dropping the voltage during stress testing.

It seems to stay stable through the tests, but it is having Vdroop Kicking in.

Will I have any issues later that I should try and fix now?

If it goes through Prime95 v26.6 for about 30 minutes at 1.30V and LLC7, but has Vdroop kicking in during the test, should I leave it as is? Or can I drop it further to LLC 6 and run again to try and pass it through for another 30 minutes?
If the voltage drop isn't going to cause crashes in my games, then I can push the voltage/LLC/AVX offset a little more, correct?

Last edited by MikeJeffries; 11-30-2019 at 04:20 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 274 (permalink) Old 11-28-2019, 10:46 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 580 (Unique: 324)
what happens @ 1.4?

i haven't tuned my 97k much, I dialed in an ez 5.0 oc, tuned via adaptive + offset, llc7, (which I assumed meant the least LLC, not completely off) flipped on xmp ran a few tests, and went on my way.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.

Last edited by skupples; 11-28-2019 at 10:49 AM.