Overclocking i9-9900KS on Asus Maximus XI Extreme - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Overclocking i9-9900KS on Asus Maximus XI Extreme

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 02:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Overclocking i9-9900KS on Asus Maximus XI Extreme

Hello everyone. I am trying to OC my 9900KS to 5GHz all core, AVX offset 0 with the minimum offset voltage. I don't know if I am a winner @ Sillicon lotery, it is the second 9900KS (first was idling at 30 celsius on 7 cores and on 8th core 50 celsius, got this new one from intel RMA), upgraded from a i7-2600K OCed @4.5GHz.

Right now I am using Load Line Calibration 5, SVID Behaviour on Best Case Scenario and Offset of +45. 5GHz all cores, Multicore Enhancement ON
Latest BIOS version. Cooling with Asus RYUJIN 360. Ram for the moment Exceleram Black Kudos 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL16 1.35v Dual Channel Kit

Is there any way to keep the CPU cooler using RYUJIN 360? Also, how bad is my CPU based on @ Sillicon lotery luck?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Stats.JPG
Views:	37
Size:	487.6 KB
ID:	317782  

Shpongle03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-10-2020, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,818
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shpongle03 View Post
Hello everyone. I am trying to OC my 9900KS to 5GHz all core, AVX offset 0 with the minimum offset voltage. I don't know if I am a winner @ Sillicon lotery, it is the second 9900KS (first was idling at 30 celsius on 7 cores and on 8th core 50 celsius, got this new one from intel RMA), upgraded from a i7-2600K OCed @4.5GHz.

Right now I am using Load Line Calibration 5, SVID Behaviour on Best Case Scenario and Offset of +45. 5GHz all cores, Multicore Enhancement ON
Latest BIOS version. Cooling with Asus RYUJIN 360. Ram for the moment Exceleram Black Kudos 16GB DDR4 3000MHz CL16 1.35v Dual Channel Kit

Is there any way to keep the CPU cooler using RYUJIN 360? Also, how bad is my CPU based on @ Sillicon lotery luck?
Won't know about your quality until you disable that c-state and downclocking stuff and then post the CPU VID shown at idle, at about 30C or so, (in HWinfo) at 5 ghz.
An 800 mhz VID because of downclocking is worthless.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Won't know about your quality until you disable that c-state and downclocking stuff and then post the CPU VID shown at idle, at about 30C or so, (in HWinfo) at 5 ghz.
An 800 mhz VID because of downclocking is worthless.
Disabled all C-states, disabled SpeedStep and SpeedShift. LLC 5, SVID on Best Case Scenario, voltage offset +45. Thank you!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Idle.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	450.5 KB
ID:	318142  

Shpongle03 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 09:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,818
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shpongle03 View Post
Disabled all C-states, disabled SpeedStep and SpeedShift. LLC 5, SVID on Best Case Scenario, voltage offset +45. Thank you!
Hmm. That's a mediocre 9900KS from that VID. It's the same VID as my 9900k. How far can you overclock it and using no higher than LLC 5 ?

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 09:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,818
Rep: 418 (Unique: 293)
Quote: Originally Posted by Shpongle03 View Post
Disabled all C-states, disabled SpeedStep and SpeedShift. LLC 5, SVID on Best Case Scenario, voltage offset +45. Thank you!
Hmm. That's a mediocre 9900KS from that VID. It's the same VID as my 9900k. How far can you overclock it and using no higher than LLC 5 ?
See how far you can overclock it at 5.2 ghz. (you can use manual vcore if offset is too confusing). Just don't go higher than LLC5.

Can you do 5.2 ghz, 1.42v or lower (Bios set vcore), LLC 5, fully stable?
(LLC5 is close to 1.0 mOhms of VRM Loadline, so it should be fully safe).

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is online now  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 09:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Hmm. That's a mediocre 9900KS from that VID. It's the same VID as my 9900k. How far can you overclock it and using no higher than LLC 5 ?
See how far you can overclock it at 5.2 ghz. (you can use manual vcore if offset is too confusing). Just don't go higher than LLC5.

Can you do 5.2 ghz, 1.42v or lower (Bios set vcore), LLC 5, fully stable?
(LLC5 is close to 1.0 mOhms of VRM Loadline, so it should be fully safe).
It can do 5.2 GHz, avx offset -2 due to high temps, CPU VID under load Prime95 non-AVX 5.2GHz is 1.25v.

Tried LLC 5, SVID on Best Case Scenario and offset +100 (I just put a random high offset and it looks stable, did not have time to lower it, also I am working right now and I do not have accesss to BIOS, the settings were applied using AI Suite 3 remotely)

My target would be 5GHz with AVX offset 0 using the lowest voltage to keep it cool (on 5GHz AVX it goes up to 98 Celsius using Ryujin 360 AIO and Thermal Grizzly Cryonaut, 24 Celsius room temp). Do I need to lower the LLC? On LLC 4 I remember the temps were much lower but I had to increase the + offset using the Best Case scenario SVID
Shpongle03 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off