Can i software overclock on HP z400 and xw8400 ? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Can i software overclock on HP z400 and xw8400 ?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Can i software overclock on HP z400 and xw8400 ?

Hello guys,


I just got a HP z400 with x5550 CPU ( soon to be upgraded to x5690 ) and a xw8400 with dual x5365 CPUs.

HP bios does not provide any settings for overclock so i was thinking of using XTU or any other similar program to overclock.

I guess i made a mistake and should have gotten the w5690 for the z400 right? :/

Any recommendations is it possible ?


Thank you
Biomecanoid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 11:53 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,709
Rep: 280 (Unique: 222)
The X5690 and the W3690 are basically the same cpu. The only difference is the X5690 supports dual socket boards.

You might be able to use ThrottleStop or other software to overclock a little. But i don't really recommend overclocking oems. So do so at your own risk.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by ozlay; 01-12-2020 at 12:02 PM.
ozlay is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
The X5690 and the W3690 are basically the same cpu. The only difference is the X5690 supports dual socket boards.
My understanding is that the w3690 is multiplier unlocked and can work with XTU and throttlestop to OC while the x5690 is locked and that's why XTU and throttlestop don't work for me. right ?

How can i overclock my x5690 on z400 ? also does the HP xw8400 with dual x5365 has any chance of overclocking ?

Thank you
Biomecanoid is offline  
Reply

Tags
x5365 , x5690 , xw8400 , z400

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off