Intel i9-9900KF, BSODs, voltage and fans working overtime - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Intel i9-9900KF, BSODs, voltage and fans working overtime

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2020, 02:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,933
Rep: 425 (Unique: 296)
Quote: Originally Posted by PeteJUK View Post
Quick update on this --

The CPU was replaced and the problem still exists.

The only remaining suspect component is the motherboard so will be contacting Asus.
Have you determined that defective RAM or PSU isn't the cause?
I checked your posts and I may have missed something but I didn't see if you tested the memory.

Also, the power supply could be at fault as well, since the PSU is what is supplying the 12v for the vcore.
If the replacement motherboard does not fix the issue, I would look at the PSU first, as well as making sure the the issue persists when testing different RAM or one stick at a time. Good luck.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2020, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Have you determined that defective RAM or PSU isn't the cause?
I checked your posts and I may have missed something but I didn't see if you tested the memory.

Also, the power supply could be at fault as well, since the PSU is what is supplying the 12v for the vcore.
If the replacement motherboard does not fix the issue, I would look at the PSU first, as well as making sure the the issue persists when testing different RAM or one stick at a time. Good luck.
Hi,

The PSU was the first thing I swapped out as I did wonder if 850W was enough with the 2080Ti. Even with a known working 1000W PSU and a lower spec graphics card I was still crashing. With regards to the RAM sticks I tried all 4 singularly and the still had the hangs and BSODs. I strongly do suspect it's something to do with the voltage regulator on the motherboard. I'll take some screenshots of the bios values in case there is something obvious I've missed.
PeteJUK is offline  
post #13 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2020, 02:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Falkentyne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Riverside
Posts: 6,933
Rep: 425 (Unique: 296)
Quote: Originally Posted by PeteJUK View Post
Hi,

The PSU was the first thing I swapped out as I did wonder if 850W was enough with the 2080Ti. Even with a known working 1000W PSU and a lower spec graphics card I was still crashing. With regards to the RAM sticks I tried all 4 singularly and the still had the hangs and BSODs. I strongly do suspect it's something to do with the voltage regulator on the motherboard. I'll take some screenshots of the bios values in case there is something obvious I've missed.
Sounds like you did your homework. Please let us know if the new board fixes the problem.

[email protected] ghz, RX Vega 64, 32GB DDR4, Gigabyte Aorus Master, Seasonic Platinum 1000W, Corsair 760T
Alt: MSI GT73VR Throttlebook with 7820HK @ 4.7 ghz, GTX 1070 MXM TDP mod to 230W, 32 GB RAM
Falkentyne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-26-2020, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Falkentyne View Post
Sounds like you did your homework. Please let us know if the new board fixes the problem.
I've also taken some screenshots of the bios settings. If I've missed any particular settings that may be of interest then please let me know.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_220900.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	3.44 MB
ID:	321942  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_220830.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	3.51 MB
ID:	321944  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_220947.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	321946  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_220920.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	3.47 MB
ID:	321948  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221024.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	3.57 MB
ID:	321950  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221006.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	3.54 MB
ID:	321952  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221349.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	3.32 MB
ID:	321954  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221338.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	3.25 MB
ID:	321956  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221238.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	3.21 MB
ID:	321958  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221230.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	3.41 MB
ID:	321960  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221222.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	3.38 MB
ID:	321962  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221157.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	3.54 MB
ID:	321964  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221139.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	3.34 MB
ID:	321966  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221121.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	3.53 MB
ID:	321968  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221100.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	3.45 MB
ID:	321970  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20200126_221047.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	3.38 MB
ID:	321972  

PeteJUK is offline  
post #15 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 10:33 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Rep: 51 (Unique: 47)
This may be a dumb question but I'm just doing guess work. Is your DRAM voltage at 1.2V ?? Have you enabled XMP at any point and made sure it was set to 1.35V which is what I find when googling that RAM.

batman900 is offline  
post #16 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 10:41 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,752
Rep: 1268 (Unique: 689)
he's not using XMP going by his screenshot, and 1.2v at 2133 is the JEDEC spec for DDR4. it should be fine.

wouldn't hurt to bump up voltage and try but I wouldn't expect it to actually help, and going by OP's post a few up from yours I'm pretty sure he already tried that.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #17 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 10:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 141
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
Sorry at work and quickly skimmed so apologies if already mentioned. But I would look at the RAM myself. Have done your troubleshooting steps with the RAM yet? like try single stick in slot A for a bit and then slowly start to add. If it comes back right away try another slot. If the problem still exists try a different chip. And so on. Divide and conquer!!

GOod luck

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
post #18 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-29-2020, 10:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 962
Rep: 51 (Unique: 47)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
he's not using XMP going by his screenshot, and 1.2v at 2133 is the JEDEC spec for DDR4. it should be fine.

wouldn't hurt to bump up voltage and try but I wouldn't expect it to actually help, and going by OP's post a few up from yours I'm pretty sure he already tried that.
Gotcha, my Asus board set my RAM to similar voltage and MHz when I first booted it up with a new 9900kf and I had a couple bsod until I changed it. Could have been some other timings it was changing until I enabled XMP also.

batman900 is offline  
post #19 of 19 (permalink) Old 01-31-2020, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Update --

I contacted Asus support who suggested doing a CMOS reset. I disconnected the power from the PSU, pulled out the CMOS battery for a good 15 minutes and held the power button for a minute to completely discharge the system. After placing the CMOS battery back in and plugging in the PSU I was then advised to change the following settings in the BIOS:

- BIOS > Advanced Menu > APM Configuration > ERP Ready: Enabled S4 + S5
- Restore AC Power Loss: Last State


After booting the system was stable. I ran the stress test from the Extreme Tuning Utility, Passmark BurnIn Test (with 100% load on CPU and RAM), and Prime 95's torture test. Albeit I let the tests run for about 15-20 minutes, but the system didn't crash; previously just being idle would just crash/BSOD. During the tests the ASUS AI Suite reported a CPU frequency of about 4.3GHz and the voltage fluctuated between 0.8 and 1.252 with an average CPU temperature of ~65c.

Feeling brave and confident (and perhaps a bit optimistic) I cranked up the CPU ratio to 50 (x100BC) on all cores. Again, I was stable running the same tests for about 15-20 minutes. The voltage was between 1.1225 and 1.341 and average CPU temperature was ~70c (Peak 80c). Again the system was stable.

I've also now enabled XMP for 3733MHz speeds from the memory to go with the 5GHz CPU speed and I'm stable. CPU temperatures are reasonable, ~70c, (peak 82c) during the same stress tests.


So it seems the reset of the CMOS seems to have done the trick. I can only presume the stock BIOS version screwed things up and a later fixed BIOS was unable to detect/rectify the problems in CMOS from a previous version.

The other settings (ERP and Restore AC Power Loss) feel innocuous.


Just wondering if anyone has any further thoughts?

Last edited by PeteJUK; 01-31-2020 at 02:40 PM.
PeteJUK is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off