CPU and GPU Usage Percentage - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

CPU and GPU Usage Percentage

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
CPU and GPU Usage Percentage

Hey Guys,

Long time pc builder, but new to overclocking. I have an older system that i have recently been tinkering around with. It was a core i7-930 which i upgraded to a core i7-970. and it used to have a 660TI and now i have replaced that with a 780TI. So pretty decent upgrade and not really that expensive.

I have some questions about Clock Speed, CPU Usage and GPU Usage. Some games which is all this system is for, work great i get 45+ FPS or more depending on the game. Like Battlefront 2.

However some games like Battlefield 5 this behavior occurs:
  • The CPU will bounce between 55~65 Percent Usage @ 3.333GHZ
  • The GPU will sit at 60 ~ 65 Percent Usage, sometimes hitting 70%.

Neither the CPU or the GPU are maxed out in BF5, Am i right to assume that the CPU Clock speed just isnt fast enough to push the GPU to its limits? I am only getting 30-40 FPS in BF5.

DDR-3 1333 Memory Triple Channel 24GB. Benchmarks show about 16-20GB per sec.

Thanks,

Robert
robert5150 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:20 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 42 (Unique: 25)
Heavy CPU + memory bottleneck.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #3 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 143
Rep: 13 (Unique: 10)
What resolution are you running BF5 at and what settings??

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Hey Guys,

Sorry should have included that. I am running at 1080P and Ultra Settings. However if i change to Low ~ High settings i get maybe 10FPS more. How can i tell if i have a memory bottleneck? Just changing the memory settings in the BIOS? (set them higher or lower and check performance again).

Robert
robert5150 is offline  
post #5 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
Heavy CPU + memory bottleneck.

Ok if its a CPU Bottleneck shouldnt the CPU be maxed at 100% Thats the part i cant seem to figure out.

Robert
robert5150 is offline  
post #6 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:31 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 42 (Unique: 25)
It does not need to get pegged at 100% which a lot of people can't understand, which is even more confusing after tons of Ryzen benchmarks, where they were far off from 100% utilization and yet got destroyed by Intel CPUs, which ran at 100%. Your best course of action is to overclock your system, especially to overclock the snot out of your RAM.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by BroadPwns; 01-24-2020 at 11:35 AM.
BroadPwns is offline  
post #7 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
It does not need to get pegged at 100% which a lot of people can't understand. Your best course of action is to overclock your system, especially to overclock the snot out of your RAM.

Well count me in as one of those that dont (or didnt) understand that you can still have a CPU Bottleneck without the CPU Being maxed out. I will work on the RAM side of this tonight when i get home.

Also, i have seen about 37 different answers, or a dozen incomplete guides on overclocking this particular CPU. I currently have an MSI x58-Pro motherboard which does support over clocking. However, i cant set the CPU multiplier as this CPU is not unlocked.

How might i safely overclock the CPU without killing it, and should i just set the voltage to 1.25 and then the bus speed (currently at 133) to say 166?

Robert
robert5150 is offline  
post #8 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:39 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 42 (Unique: 25)
Sorry, I have no idea. It seems a bit different than old-school Intels, especially with that QPI link. For the rest of parameters - keep it cool and don't exceed 1.4V on vcore, RAM will surely not hate 1.75V or more, disable Spread Spectrum as well.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #9 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 12
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
Sorry, I have no idea. It seems a bit different than old-school Intels, especially with that QPI link. For the rest of parameters - keep it cool and don't exceed 1.4V on vcore, RAM will surely not hate 1.75V or more, disable Spread Spectrum as well.
OK thanks, for the input. I will start with the RAM.
robert5150 is offline  
post #10 of 40 (permalink) Old 01-24-2020, 11:47 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 2,196
Rep: 42 (Unique: 25)
Alright, found some more:


Seems like QPI should be of at most 0.5V below DRAM Voltage, but no real safe range, PLL Voltage 2.0V at most, IOH at most 1.3V. Vcore and DRAM as mentioned previously.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Iris Pro 6200
RAM
F3-2400C11D-16GAB Samsung Rev. Q
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Artcic Liquid Freezer II 360mm
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent + 1.6x6mm o-rings
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
Reply

Tags
core i7-970 , intelcpu , usage

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off